We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two years later, still great!”

Osteria Il Bertoldo
Reserve with
Osteria Il Bertoldo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,214 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Italian and Mediterranean cuisine. Family and romantic ambience. Fish and meat dishes. Gluten free.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two years later, still great!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a small 20 or so seat restaurant. We almost lost our seat a couple of years ago to some other Americans who were trying to get to our reservation ahead of us as we were lost and enlisted their help. They had a working cell phone at the time and knew there was a table that had not shown up yet. We heard them talking and asked them if they could help us find it. They hurriedly said no and walked quickly away. We meandered through the streets and finally found the restaurant and found them at the doorway. The owner did not seat them and honored our reservation although we were quite late. This time we were staying only a half a block away so no getting lost and the meal was again memorable. Francesco explained he prides himself on making things simple but delicious. It was wonderful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babiesandfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    664
    339
    72
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is what my husband and I had been hoping for, small intimate , suberb service and absolutely wonderful food. I can still taste the clams on my tongue, never have I had such a perfect meal. Family owned, the chef/ owner came from the kitchen to see how people where enjoying their meals. his wife was the pastry chef and my husband relished his dessert. Our waitress was most helpful , wine was excellent. Thsi is what dining should be about!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great ravioli for 1st course. My husband and I both enjoyed the potato crusted sea bass for our second course which was also outstanding. Excellent service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local food and wonderful service”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A great team, very friendly and customer-centred. Our incoming flight was delayed. We e-mailed Francesco to let him know and got very rapid acknowledgement and a very warm reception when we arrived. They are obviously and rightly popular with local people. We will go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“What a find”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a true family restaurant just away from the main area .We had lunch with friends from Zurich and it was superb.The family could not be more helpful and the wines are great.yes this is a restaurant to go back to.book as its small.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markthekazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Il Bertoldo also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria Il Bertoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing