We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Hotel”
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A very Nice small hotel, clean and with a classic yet updated interior decoration.
5 minutes walk from the Arena.
Nice rooms with aircondition very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank handske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

quite hard to find in a car on the one way system and theres no parking so we had to drop off the bags and go to a parking lot then walk back we checked in at the hotel not knowing we would be staying down the road in the spa side got our key cards and dragged our bags over the cobbled street to the spa where we tried to scan our keys to get in the man behind the desk watched for what seemed forever then buzzed us in we asked where to go and he could only be bothered to point reaching the rooms we found them very modern and clean with air con the next day we got up for breakfast which again was back in the hotel the man on the desk was just the same not even a good morning breakfast was not good it was in what must have been the cellar the tables were cluttered and there was just one man clearing them we had to ask for spoons,bread for toast cups glasses and water for the coffee machine the man tried his best but couldnt cope however this did not spoil our short stay in verona hotel was good staff need customer service training

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordKronka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_Marco_Polo, Direttore at Hotel Marco Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Customer,
Thank you for appreciating our hospitality despite a small mistake, not
dependent on our will but due to the large crowds in recent days.
Sometimes it may happen that, due to so much stress, we also make
mistakes: but as you rightly noted, we are always quick and willing to
solve every problem.
I hope to see you soon in Verona
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We spent just one night at Marco Polo - we had spent a week at lake Garda and wanted to stay in Verona before going home.

The hotel was a lovely surprise! We reserved the room in January and it was a real bargain - less than 100 euros per night. The room was big enough and the bathroom was among the best we have ever seen in a hotel! We would have loved to stay longer so that we could have been able to use the spa services.

The only minus is the breakfast. It's too modest compared with the rooms and the professional, attentive and friendly service at the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SariHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I paid €339 for a Double room on a B&B basis in June. I thought this price was quite good during Opera season.
If you want to sight see or attend the Verona Arena in Verona than this hotel is perfectly adequate.
The hotel is very easy to find off the main Corso Porta Nuova, and it is about 5 mins walk to the Arena, and about 15 minutes walk to the train station (if you have a very light and easy to manage suitcase). If you have a large suitcase, then you will be better off getting a taxi to the station - 5 minutes trip - €10 + tip.
This cannot really be described as a hotel. All it provides are bedrooms, a very small reception and a breakfast room. Nothing else. It could be described more as a B&B. There is no guest internet PC, but they did tell me that wi fi is available. I cannot confirm if this is the case or not and whether they charge for it, or not.

When we checked in (which was quite efficient and the receptionist was friendly and spoke english well), we were immediately relocated to another building down the street (not far). Alarm bells immediately started ringing in my head, having read previous reviews on TA, I recalled that they had relocated other guests to Hotel Mastino on Corso Porta Nuova. However, we were not relocted to Mastinoi but to another building and there on the second floor was our room which was very new, very clean and tastefully decorated. This is the only reason I did not complain about not being in the main hotel building. There is however some connection between this hotel and the Hotel Mastino, as the toiletries in our bathroom had the Mastino Logo !!

The room had a very comfortable bed, good Air Con, a very nice bathroom with small jacuzzi bath, but no shower (a small hand held shower head is located in the bath itself). There is good storage space, a small fridge, security safe and widescreen TV.

There is a lift in this building and also a stairwell. On the ground floor and just in side the door sits the grumpiest security guard I ever came across. During our two day/ two night stay we never determined what his role was exactly. Note to Hotel Marco Polo. This guy is supposed to be monitoring the building - for most of the time that we were there he was never at his desk. This is surely a security risk to the guests at the hotel. I saw a number of people 'tail gating' guests who had security cards to get in. I can see security issues here if they hotel does not address the situation there sooner rather than later.

The building that we were in has a Spa centre and my wife declared the prices to be very good for what was on offer. We nearly indulged, but time didn't allow.

Breakfast: Buffet breakfast is provided in the original hotel building. The breakfast room is very small, so a lot of squeezing has to be done between tables when it is busy. The breakfast choice is fine, standard buffet items, the only cooked item being scrambled eggs and ham. The breakfast room attendant, is very pleasant and he does his very best to keep everything topped up in what must be difficult circumstances for him.

Check out was a little slow, as there is only ever one receptionist on duty therefore if any chec king out guests have issues then other guests in the queue get delayed. Having said that, I found the receptionist to be very helpful at all times.

Note to hotel - please provide a corkscrew in the rooms. There is a bottle opener but no corkscrew.

Note to guests: I recommend the really lovely fish restaurant just a few metres from the hotel called '19 San Antonio' (i think that's the name, but you can't miss it). The meal there was the best we had in Verona and Ernesto the waiter was excellent. Be aware however that because it is a fish restaurant - well it only serves..........................!!

We also attended 'La Traviata' at the Arena on one of the nights and while each ticket was WELL north of €100 I would thoroughly recommend this outdoor opera extravaganza to everyone - at least once. It was a stunning night out.

Would I stay there again - yes, if it was for 1 or 2 nights, anything longer than that and I'd be searching out a full hotel with more facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new 'Gallery Rooms'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Upon arrivail i was pleasantly supprised by the quality of the decor it felt more like a 4 star than a 3 star. The reception area was styled like a roman villa complete with frescoes on the walls and i was not dissapointed when got to our room.
We were on the top floor and the room was lovely nice sized bathroom with a great shower and being located on a side street meant we had a quite room and therefore a good nights sleep. The room was well impressive with its style, beams to the ceiling quality bedding and general furniture gave impression was def more than a 3 star.

Breakfast was again very good with a good selection to cater for all, the amount of choice on offer to me again gave me the impression it was more 4 star than 3 i would def recommend this hotel which is about a 7-10 minute walk from Verona train station There is a spa across the road which guests can use, we didnt so cant comment on the facilities there in my review. I hope to return next summer for the opera season and will def put this hotel forward for my stay to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevejb4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

we had a boutique room in the annex which was a really large size compared to previous italian city hotels. the reception staff were fantastic and even said hello as we passed in the street in verona. breakfast is very good and can be brought to your room if desired. 5 mins walk from piazza bra and the arena di verona if watching the opera (not on while we were there) Verona is a beautiful city for shopping and cafe culture, we felt very at ease and was welcomed into even the most 'local type' bars and caffe's with a basic grasp of italian.

shopping is excellent for the famous italian brands

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steviec82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The room looks new and is clean. The bed is comfy. Hotel is located near the arena and less than 15 minutes walk from the railway/bus station (Porta Nuova), but Verona is a pretty small city anyway. Breakfast is pretty good. There is a restaurant right in front of the hotel, which i think offer good enough food with reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#35 of 77 in Verona
1,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#17 of 77 in Verona
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Armando
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 77 in Verona
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Via di Sant'Antonio 21, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £72 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing