We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and a fantastic room”
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We were only here for one night but it was very handy to the sights of Verona. Lovely room with a huge bed (they said it was extra long...which it was and extra wide)! Very nice bathroom. Great recommendation for dinner at one of the local restaurants. The staff were very helpful and we were able to leave our luggage until we left later that afternoon. Our room was on the street side so remember to close the windows...it was a lovely cobble stoned street which meant you could hear the traffic (only becasue we had left the windows open all night).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naples64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

My wife and I just returned from traveling around Italy and we rated this Hotel as one of our favorites, we were sorry that we only had one night booked. I agree with one of the previous reviews in staying in the newer area where the spa is located. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean and modern.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Located on a quiet street, a five minute walk from the Arena, the rooms were clean and simple. Our room had a huge shower as it was in the newly renovated half of the hotel where the spa is. Ask for this part of the hotel rather than the older half where reception and breakfast is. Value for money an dvery friendly reception staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly renovated part opposite reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaeD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel is in a good location, within easy walking distance to the centre of Verona. The room was clean and modern, the hotel staff were great.. We stayed for 3 nights at the Marco Polo good value for a hotel in Verona.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RJCSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

In May of this year, my husband and I travelled to Verona for 4 nights. It was my first trip to that region of Italy and I was immediately smitten with the city as soon as the taxi dropped us off in the midst of downtown Verona.

We loved our stay at the Marco Polo hotel - the room was clean, quaint and extremely comfortable. The proximity to all of the shops and the piazza was wonderful and we enjoyed several hours daily of leisurely strolls in Verona.

The hospitality was wonderful and the breakfast was absolutely delicious - the fresh pastries, beautiful fruit salad - yum! We look forward to returning to the Marco Polo!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Holzono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Lovely quiet and stylishly simple room with a fab extra long bed and great linen. Parking excellent (lock up garage in very secure block). Helpful front desk but we got the impression that room service had phone off the hook to ensure they didn't have to bother with sunda breakfast in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Having booked for the first night of the opera, my wife and I were so looking forward to our trip to Verona

The hotel was not what we expected from their website and was a major disappointment.

We had no working sink for 2 of the 4 nights, so obliged to clean our teeth in the Bidet! There was an elevator shaft right next to our room, which constantly disturbed our sleep.
Looking at previous reviews, this is clearly a problem, yet the staff feigned surprise and try to play it down.

Reception staff , not particularly helpful, one was positively rude.

The attitude,sadly was consistent with the 'general rip off the tourists' mentality that was apparent in restaurants and historical sites in Verona.

The quality of the Opera was absolutely superb. We sat in expensive seats and were amongst police and other commune officials who clearly had not paid for their seats and had no interest in the opera. They spent most of the time playing with their mobile phones and talking amongst themselves-clearly they were only attending because they had free tickets and wanted to be seen!! The exodus by Italians before the cast had a chance to take a final bow was shocking and rude.

Our overall Verona experience was shameful to say the least, apart from the Opera, without which Verona has little to offer. A day out to Venice only served to confirm the 'rip off culture' in this part of Italy. Southern Italy has so much more to offer, particularly the warmth of the people.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Keith186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_Marco_Polo, Direttore at Hotel Marco Polo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Dear Customer,
I'm sorry you don't liked Verona and I'm also sorry for the impression,
totally wrong, you had on our hotel.
As you can verify yourself by reading the other reviews, our customers
are always very satisfied with the service received.
This is because for us, in Hotel Marco Polo, your holidays are first
mission: I presume that such a bad opinion is primarily due to the idea
that you pick of this city, since your review dedicates only a small
part of the hotel.
But this idea is wrong: if you want to return to Verona, you will check
yourself.
Greetings from Italy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#34 of 78 in Verona
1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 78 in Verona
2,445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Armando
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 78 in Verona
1,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Address: Via di Sant'Antonio 21, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £70 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing