We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

A lovely bijou hotel, very friendly and helpful, English speaking, very clean, toiletries supplied, brilliant air conditioning so a good night's sleep, central Verona near the Arena, close to bars, restaurants restaurants and shopping area. Cannot rate highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    235
    73
    22
    25
See reviews for
43
325
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

we arrived at Hotel Marco Polo, to be told we were not staying but had been upgraded to the Hotel Mastino around the corner, of which was not an upgrade but of the same standard, our shower leaked leaving about an inch of water on the bathroom floor (extremely dangerous) every time we used it. It was in an ideal position and our friends had a small balcony that overlooked the main street, of which was lovely. The breakfast was very good, and the whole place was spotless.

Room Tip: make sure you do not get fobbed off by being sent to the wrong room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The room has an average size, we stayed at the 3rd floor. It had a nice big closet for the suitcases, a fantastic shower and it was spotless clean (one of the cleanest room I ever stayed).
The location was very good, since it was just a few blocks from the arena.
The service was ok, nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Have you ever been in a hotel room with no shelves? well, we deed, In our room in the Marco Polo hotel there was not even a single shelf, nor a drawer! We open the cupboard and found nothing, just emptiness and there were no other piece of furniture except a (very spacious) bed. Is it possible it was a special room for nudists? Other items in the room were also quite odd like the windows which were about 2 meters long so you need a ladder in order to open or close them. We left them closed all the time, otherwise the aircondition wouldn't work.
Beside that, the location is great, just 5 minutes of walking from the Arena and the the rest of the "Centro Storico" of this beautiful and romantic Verona.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in the basement level because you'll never be able to open a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidi1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

we stayed at Marco Polo in May 13, our rooms were located in another building across the street, so you did have to trundle up the road for brekkie, but the rooms were clean a fair size and plenty of hot water. 5-10 minutes on foot to the city centre so location a big plus. Overall a good stay, not the cheapest but you are right on top of the town so you have to expect it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawlawSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Hotel Marco Polo is conveniently located in walking distance to all sights in Verona. The staff is friendly, our stay was comfortable & rooms were nice. They also organized for an extra fee secure parking in a nearby garage to which your car had an assigned locked parking space. I found the hotel to be a bit expensive for what you get but overall I would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Location: Probably a 20 minute walk from theVerona rail station. A 5 – 10 minute walk to the Arena area of Verona. If you catch a taxi from the station (approx 14 EURO) you will find that the Italian taxi drivers have found another way of snipping the tourists by charging an extra 1 EURO per bag, get used to it this is Italy. We found Verona to be a safe area.
The hotel is located in a narrow back street
Staff: Friendly, helpful and informative and able to speak reasonable English.
Accommodation: The rooms are, comfortable and clean. The hotel provides a good buffet breakfast. If you have your windows open it can be noisy during the night.
Would I Recommend: I would have no problems returning but I probably would explore the options first.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#37 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#24 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scalzi
Hotel Scalzi
#12 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Via di Sant'Antonio 21, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing