We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful find in Verona”
Review of Agli Abbaini B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agli Abbaini B&B
Ranked #55 of 417 Verona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A delightful find in Verona”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Agli Abbaini B&B is just plain delightful! Silvia and her husband are excellent hosts, and our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The views are stunning--better than the pictures online! The location across the river from old town Verona is quiet, but within easy access of most of the attractions in town. The bed was the most comfortable that we had on our trip. "External private bath" means that you have your own bathroom across the hall--just like at home. This B&B appears to be in what was once an apartment, and gives you a real feel for life in Italy. What a memorable experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank megable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    36
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
123
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at "Agli Abbaini" for one night and we only can say the best for the great hospitality. As soon as we arrived at the nice house situated in the heart of the old city of Verona, we were pleasantly surprised to see an outgoing and cheerful couple, Silvia and Sergio, waiting for us in front of the old, wooden door of the appartment. We felt like we were there to visit some old friends, in spite of the fact that we didn´t know each other. We were offered a cup of coffee and they were ready to give us all the "inside-information" of a local about Verona.
The room was absolutely perfect: tasteful furniture, flaulessly clean and what to say about the breathtaking view of the whole city out of the two windows...! Just perfect.
The next morning Silvia was waiting for us with a delicious breakfast and a big smile! She offered us many different tastes: home-made brownies, three types of jam, a big salami-cheese plate, different types of bakery, fruit joghurt and, not to forget...the necessary italian espresso! Nothing extravagant, but exactly how it should be!
Cause we would stay the whole day in Verona, we were offered to leave our luggage there, so we could carefree wander in the city. At the time of our departure, Sergio even offered to give us a lift to the train station. It was so kind of him!
All in all: a great place to stay, which we definitely would recommend to people who are tired of a conventional stay at hotels or guest houses. For them, who want to be treated as a guest and not only as a client. That´s how we felt!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Athina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Verona and this B&B was the perfect location and accommodation. it was very nice with old world Italian touches. It had a great view of the old city center which at night was all light up so beautifully. Had a great breakfast each morning with home made jams. It was a short walk into the city center to see the colosseum and juilette house. I recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a great experience in Verona.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1803Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights early July. The room we got was large with high ceilings. There was plenty of storage space, a fridge and air conditioning. There was a large private bathroom (not en-suite) across the hall which was accessed via a very squeaky door.
Breakfast was in a bright room with great views over Verona. The B&B itself is located on the fourth floor of an apartment building on a busy road. We were unlucky that there was a very loud football tournament across the road - this took place every evening!

All in all we thought the place was good value for Verona (93 Euros per night for a family of four). It's located a short walk from the old centre and very near the Roman Amphitheatre. However it's not so easy to get there from the train station, one usually needs to change bus at least once.

My main reason for not giving this B&B a better rating was related to the poor service we got at breakfast. The first morning everything was fine, orange juice was served and there were some heated rolls (not sure why there was no fresh bread as there is a bakery just a block away). The host Sylvia was quite chatty.
The next morning we asked if we could have breakfast at 07:30 as we had to catch an early train. When we arrived only two seats were laid, none of the food was ready and no drinks were offered. Sylvia hardly uttered a word. We just managed to catch our train!
The last morning we again had to catch a train so we had requested breakfast again at 07:30. This time Syvia was nowhere to be seen and we had to ring her mobile to find out where whe was and to make sure we could pay before leaving.

A shame as everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for the bedroom with en-suite facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eh_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed here whilst visiting Verona for the open-air Opera. This is B&B is in a great location, and has beautiful views across all of Verona - which you can enjoy from the main bedroom and over breakfast.
However, the facilities are not luxuriant. The beds are fairly uncomfortable, and only 1 bedroom has an en suite.
NB - they require payment by cash, no cards.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CantankerousDrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bagonghi, Proprietario at Agli Abbaini B&B, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Hi,
not true that in my B & B is only 1 bathroom, but there are 3 bathrooms!
We opened the facility about a year ago, after the restructuring of the entire flat retains some features that make it rich in personality .
The bed that you have used is the 40's and until now have not received complaints
In emails to customers with which I reply I always explain that the payment is to be done in cash but you arrived with your credit card after you had already called a taxi
Is not my fault if you had to turn half Verona to withdraw cash
Thanks to TripAdvisor that da'diritto replication!
Silvia Zennaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Loved this B&B. Sergio and Sylvia are the nicest hosts and the room was very nicely appointed. Great bed. Great breakfast. Clean as a pin.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Yes, it was really almost perfect. We stayed Friday till Sunday in one of the rooms with the window to the street side, and yes during the day it´s a bit noisy when the cars pass by. BUT please, during the day you`re in the city discovering the sights, the great food and the wine. And by the way, I loved the view we had on the city form our room (watch the picture).
The B&B is 5 min of walking from the "Ponte Pietra" (bridge) which offers you the possibility to cross the river and be immediately in the heart ov Verona. Here you already find the first cafés, osterias and small shops with aantiques, paintings and other arts hodgepodge (I recommend: Osteria Trattoria Al Duomo)
The B&B is a pretty big flat in an appartment building with (as I remember) 5 floors, it´s situated in the 4th floor. And as soon as you enter the building you some how feel a bit "at home". The flat a such must have been renovated few years ago, and is absolutely clean and with fine details. To keep a certain flair the owner decided to keep some/most of the old furniture and decorations to assure the Italian home atmosphere.
So, the things that make it almost perfect are:
- the Italian breakfast (some fresh fruits, ham and cheese would have been great ;-)
- no WiFi
Thanks to Silvia! See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingdude80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#21 of 79 in Verona
449 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Hotel
#42 of 79 in Verona
720 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#23 of 79 in Verona
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Piccolo
Hotel Piccolo
#32 of 79 in Verona
654 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
#22 of 417 in Verona
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ai Giardini B&B
Ai Giardini B&B
#12 of 417 in Verona
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agli Abbaini B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agli Abbaini B&B

Property: Agli Abbaini B&B
Address: Via Ippolito Nievo 15, 37128, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 417 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful contest up the center of the old/city Verona. You have panoramic-elevator. A children garden is in front of it. The building is 10 minutes walks up from Ponte Pietra or Teatro Romano. When you are on your right up the hill you'll find a free car-parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Agli Abbaini B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing