We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greate place for a glass of wine”
Review of Enoteca Segreta

Enoteca Segreta
Ranked #14 of 1,184 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Espoo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Greate place for a glass of wine”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We just had a glass of excellent wine together with a plate of cheese selected for the wine. Very good wine, greate cheese and superior service. Would do it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    335
    69
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Una ristoratrice maleducata”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our first visit was unscheduled, but although we had no reservation, we were shown to a table immediately as only one other was occupied The menu was explained in detail and at length by the ristoratrice who was obviously very enthusiastic about good food and wished to share her enthusiasm with us whether we wanted to share or not. The camariere serving the customer on the next table was equally enthusiastic about his glass of wine although the customer gave plenty of signals that he did not want a lecture, just the glass of wine that he had chosen.
The food when it ultimately came was of a very high quality and not excessively expensive for such quality. Accordingly, 2 days later when we were going to the opera and knowing the pressure that brings to bear on bookings, we reserved a table for 1900, when the ristorante opened. We were contacted just 45 minutes before that to be told that the table was no longer available leaving us very little time to find an alternative.
I would suggest that this hotel needs to discover one of the fundamentals of a service industry. No matter how knowledgeable and enthusiastic you may be, no matter how good your product, if you let down your prospective customers by such basic discourtesy as cancelling a reservation at short notice, you will lose the opportunity of providing your service or selling your product.
I would caution anyone thinking of going to this place of assuming that because they have made a prenotazione that their table will be available when they want it; as we discovered, you cannot rely on it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Gi0vanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing food, but...”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Ok, the amazing food is what keeps me from going to 3. All we had was amazing, including the wines. But otherwise it was unpleasant. First of all, the place isnt where it appears on the map. If you want to find it, turn right behind the carpisa. When you tell them, they just shrug it away. And the service we experienced was abysmal. The guy sure loves his job and loves to talk about it, but he is very unorganised and keeps running around doing unnecessary chores, while we were kept waiting for fifteen minutes with dirty plates after both main course and dessert, and the same went for the check. Hopefully you will have better luck...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A restaurant should have 400€ in change”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We (a party of 4 of us) wandered there by accident and none of us was really hungry, but wanted a bite to eat. First we were explained that we cannot sit outside as the places are reserved (although no sign indicated so) but we were fine with sitting inside as well.
The service is somewhat slow, but not due to the fault of the waiter, who works and can be seen running around all the time, but because they seem understaffed (ours was the only waiter speaking English, and the sole other waitress seemed rather uninterested in the guests, their experience etc.).

The prices are reasonable, although not cheap. As said none of us were really hungry and we had 4 primi piati (pastas) which were not a huge portions and shared one plate of cold cuts (cheeses and hams), which came to about 90€ (of which 20€ was the cost of a bottle of wine – which was OK, but not spectacular).

The big disappointment (and the title) was the fact that we wanted to pay with a 500€ bill, to which we were explained that they cannot change it (ok, it’s a big bill, but a restaurant not having 410€ in change seems odd at best). Now, instead of telling us that they will go and change the bill, apologizing, suggesting ordering another bottle of wine, or suggesting any other possible solution, they only requested for a card (which we did not want to use – due to our reasons) and became very annoyed because we wanted to pay with a 500€ bill. In the end we had to go to the store nearby, buy a set of 5 socks (5,49€) and come back with the change (this could have been done easily by the abovementioned uninterested waitress, if our waiter was busy).

All the pleasantries, and good manners eventually turned out to be fake when faced with a tiny challenge, and so we were left with a slightly bitter taste after what was otherwise an enjoyable dinner.

Thus, an advice to the restaurant is to keep 400 to 500 € in their register, just in case a guest with a large bill comes by. It’s not such a big amount for a restaurant, and certainly not for a restaurant that wants to be a bit more upscale than a round-the-corner trattoria.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IvaN_0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting local menu”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We needed reservations. The menu had mostly local specialties, prepared very well. The owners were attentive although they had a large party to serve indoors (we ate on the patio). They explained the origin and preparation of each dish-very informative and friendly. We chose light dishes because we've eaten too much on this trip, but there were more substantial choices also. A lovely experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enoteca Segreta also viewed

 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Enoteca Segreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing