We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Comfortable, Quiet and Gracious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Grand Hotel was a nice very surprise! We didn't know what to expect when we booked -- our criteria was a good location and close to the train. It is a short walk to the train and to the Arena and everything you want to see in Verona. The hotel experience was like stepping back in time for atmosphere but did not lack modern conveniences. The rooms are small but quiet and comfortable and the staff is very helpful. They provide an excellent breakfast buffet and the service is what you would expect from any first class hotel. We highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for something different from the big chains but don't want to give up the expected level of service big chains provide.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SU1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

My family and I stayed two nights at the Grand Hotel. I wouldn't recommend spending more than a couple of nights here. The rooms are small though the bathrooms have been renovated. Not too many plugs in the room which if you are a woman you would understand can be an issue. The breakfast selection was pretty poor. The hotel is conveniently located, right down the street from the Arena and its piazza. If you want something economical and not too fancy than the Grand Hotel is perfect for you. If you are looking for something nicer and staying longer in Verona, opt for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMSNJ08887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Spent 2 nights here after a 6 night stay in lake garda.
Got it at €120 night and the hotel was in a good location, with only a 5minute walk to the train station which we used for a day trip to Venice, and only 5-10min walk in the other direction to the Arena and all the other sites such as Churches and Castles.
The room was bright and was very clean. The breakfast was very nice and was a nice chilled atmosphere. The only negative thing i had was that we were facing the front of the hotel so got quite a bit of road noice during the night, however this is a city hotel so was expected. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzcat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I Flew from NY JFK To Venice Italy and took the train to Verona (a 3hour trip). I stayed at the Grand Hotel Verona which is centrally located to the major attactions in the City of Romero & Julliett. The hotel is an old world classic undergoing extensive rennovations. They offer a complete breakfast, the rooms are small but comfortable. The staff is very accomodating. All in all I would recommend this 3 star hotel. WI FI is available for a fee

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewY0rker38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Firstly Verona surprised us with its beauty and we wished we had stayed here longer. The hotel was well positioned only a short stroll from the centre of the old town. The rooms are small but have high ceilings so you dont feel as crammed as many other European hotels. The bed was so incredibly comfortable with soft sheets and fluffy pillows we had the best sleep of our entire month trip. Great staff and a lovely breakfast spread included in our rate. Given the rate this hotel really over delivered, we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Had a good stay at the Hotel. Its very basic. The hotel didn't have a restaurant, only a bar. Also it's quite walk (about 15 mins.) from central Verona, where all the action is. Its very close to the train station. On the whole had a good stay. Breakfast was brilliant. Staff also was very good. The rooms are tiny, with small TV. Wifi was free.

On the whole good hotel. but not well located.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaileshmendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We have just returned from a week in Verona staying at the Grand Hotel. Highly recommended for a central location lying between the railway station and the centre of Verona both within 10 minutes of the hotel. Staff wonderful, especially Marco in the bar and the breakfast staff. Can't fault this hotel. Would stay again and recommend to friends. There is no restaurant so your visit would be on a bed and breakfast basis but plenty of local restaurants. Especially recommend the walking tour and the city bus tour to familiarise yourself with the city..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.5 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.6 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#5 of 77 in Verona
713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#6 of 77 in Verona
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Arts

Address: Corso Porta Nuova 105, 37122, Verona, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Verona)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £88 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Verona, was built in the Liberty style in the 1920’s at the request of a noble Austrian family, the Reichenbach. It was their elegant city residence and was subsequently turned in to a hotel without changing the architectural quality. In the hall, the public areas and the indoor garden, you can admire valuable furniture and decorations. Paintings and sculptures of famous artists such as Ciardi, Cascella, Minguzzi, Manzù, Purificato, Murer, Arnoldi and many others. Together with these valuable pieces of art, you can also admire the beautiful “Verona” red marble floor, dating back to the original period. 62 rooms splitted in : Economy, Standard, Deluxe and Exclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing