We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice and Restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice and Restful”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 children (12 & 14) and stayed in a suite for 4. We loved the fact that the kids were in their own room and in twin beds, it's amazing how often family rooms have 2 doubles. The rooms are a little dark but the aircon really is the quietest and best we've ever seen. The beds are comfy and the rooms very clean. The breakfast buffet is amazing, I can't believe anyone could call this basic as mentioned in a previous review. The staff are lovely and attentive but without being overbearing, like the best hotel staff they appear, do their thing and then are gone. The location is just a short walk from all the sights. The parking next door is a little pricey, but about average for a European city centre. Finally, at 3 Euros for 24 hours Internet access this hotel should be congratulated for no jumping on he Swisscom rip-off 20+ Euro a day bandwagon on most European hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    363
    71
    13
    9
See reviews for
186
504
42
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stroud
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was the final stop on a three centre holiday We arrived here and liked the reception area and as our room was not ready, we sat and had a drink in the comfortable bar. As we had been rather put off Verona by our first sight ( graffiti, a MacDonald's and an advert for a sex shop) we started to feel more comfortable. That is, until we were taken to our suite. Oh dear. Tired, dated, poor views, broken hangers. Not for us, especially as it was so expensive compared to what we had paid at our previous two Italian locations, both really good hotels. When I complained I was shown another room, also unsuitable as it smelt very strongly of smoke. We were then shown another suite, which we accepted as it had a very nice bathroom and looked over the courtyard. There were still drawbacks, including the smell of damp, but it was the best available. Breakfast was good, the bar service also, and although there is no restaurant reasonably decent food was available in the bar or as room service. And the location is good. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel, but would say that Verona doesn't seem to have much in the way of great hotels, and they are pricey. We won't be returning, either to this hotel or to Verona.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank serenagreentrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel is central and provides an excellent service. We go to the Opera, it is a short walk to the Arena. The hotel breakfast is very good, the staff are helpful and attentive. it is the quietest air conditioning in the world, I travel alot! There is a beautiful garden where guest can relax after a day sight seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn262305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

At Euro 250 per night, room only, this hotel was very poor value. How it ever got the alleged Four Stars is beyond speculation. It has no restaurant, the room was average and small and just a shower with no bath. Alright, it is the Opera Season but I thought the price should have been no more than Euro 150, including breakfast. The adjacent garage recommended by the hotel was also outrageously expensive at Euro 20 per day.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MascotBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for a week in July for opera festival. Close to the arena but all the sights are in walking distance. The art throughout the hotel helps make it atmospheric and the rooms are very well presented and spotlessly clean. Breakfast good and well served. A pool would be a nice addition for those warmer afternoons although the gardens are very pleasant. Only downside was a disagreement we had as we left re: Internet charges as we believed it to be free but it isn't and this isn't clear. All in all a very pleasant stay though, quite pricey but so is everything else in Verona!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely hotel nice garden area, a 15 min walk into the centre. Staff where wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynesviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We returned after 16 years for another Wedding Anniversary. It is now EVEN BETTER. Architecturally on a par with the famous Villa Maffei in Plaza de Erbe it contains fabulous bronzes - some even in the restful gardens - along with beautiful old works of art. Modern flower displays are simply beautiful. Our room with its lovely parquet polished floor, exceptionally comfortable bed and pillows even had its own large stone carved balcony which went the full length of our room and overlooked the Corso Porta Nuova. The bathroom, though small, provides all one needs including a very powerful shower (a necessity after a days sightseeing!).
Breakfasts were excellent, choice exceptional and even included lovely hot scrambled eggs if required and a wide choice of teas.
On the day of our Anniversary there was a knock at our door about 3.30p.m. just after we had returned to our room. There stood a waiter with a large tray containing an ice bucket with a bottle of chilled champagne and several plates of lovely canapes etc. with the compliments of the hotel. Wow. Made our day.
Being only a 5 minute walk from the Arena it is ideal if one is going to the opera - as we were. We saw "Nubucco" which we had waited a long time to see (they don't do it very often in Verona.) Last time we had seen "Aida" and "Rigoletto". Had fancied Traviata but felt it was "too small" an opera to do justice to the gigantic stage in the arena which is more suited to the "biggies" like Aida, Turandot and Nubucco.

Room Tip: Book early, we did in January for July and got the last room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetGirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.5 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.9 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Arts

Property: Grand Hotel Des Arts
Address: Corso Porta Nuova 105, 37122, Verona, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Verona)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In excellent central position only 5 minutes walk from the arena. The Grand Hotel has 62 rooms, 5 of which are suites, equipped with all modern comforts where the classics style of the private collection blends with a modern style of a business hotel. Private garden suitable for cocktail and summer brunch, conference center. Bikes available free of charge for guests. The Grand Hotel of Verona offers different ways for your stay, nothing is left to chance, each room has private services with baths or showers, heating during winter months and air conditioning for the summer months all autonomous and regulated by yourselves directly from your rooms. The technology for a good stay is in your flat screen TV, voice mails available for you and internet access so that you are connected to the world. Details are the expression of maximum comfort: hair dryers and bathrobes, slippers and an exclusive Occytane complimentary set in all bathrooms. The pillow menu will allow you to choose the pillow suitable for your sleep and, on request, an ozone treatment to purify your bedroom according to the new feng shui theories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing