We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for sightseeing in Verona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My partner an I spent two nights at the Grand Hotel at the end of April 2013.
We found the staff professional and extremely helpful and the room we were allocated delightful.
The hotel is well positioned for sightseeing and the local tour bus stop is just across the road.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a view choose a room overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Des Arts
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had originally booked a room in the B&B Arte nel Centro across the street, but ended up here due to an overbooking situation. While our rooms were very clean and well-appointed, the staff very professional, and the building lovely, we had a few strange experiences. The worst was that my sister had to catch a very early flight from the Verona airport and arranged for a wake-up call and a cab the night before. I received her wake-up call at 3:30am even though I was staying in a different room. THEN I received a "where-the-heck-are-you" call half an hour later when she was apparently on her way down to the front desk and they were wondering where she was (even though I had grouchily explained to them that they had the wrong room when they called the first time!). Moments after they called the cab for her, my sister asked if the cab would be able to take a credit card and they said they didn't know and she should have asked sooner. She asked if they could call back and specifically request a cab that could take credit cards and they flatly refused. The cab DIDN'T take cards and she had to have him drive her to three different ATMs (in the rain) before she found one that worked with her American card so that she could pay him to take her to the airport--which made her nearly miss her flight. The worst, however, was that at some point after my sister left--around 6am, someone keyed into my mother's room (she was staying with my sister), waking her up. When she nervously called out "hello?" in the darkness, the door snapped shut with no explanation. They probably just thought the room was empty since my sister had left earlier that morning and were coming in to do cleaning (maybe?), but it was still a rather creepy, unnerving experience for my mother! I'm sure this is a fine establishment and that our experiences were fairly isolated, but it did put a sour note on our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Bethany,
I apologize for the bad experience you had at Grand Hotel.
Sorry if I answer you so late but there is a lot to do because of the Opera period.
I tried to understand what's happened that night bu I still have a little confusion not being there.
No excuses for the false wake-up call and for opening a still busy bedroom :-( .. I beg your pardon!
Regarding the taxi I inform you that it's sometimes hard to have one which accepts credit card even during the day ...

Please contact me directly if you wish to come back to Verona someday... it will be my great pleasure to organize a stay for you.

Best Regards
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Grand Hotel Verona for three nights in Mid december 2012. This was part of a birthday trip for my wife. The location of the Grand was just right for us as it was a fifteen minute walk from the station and about ten minutes into the old part of town. Being just before Christmas the old town was full of a variety of interesting Christmas markets. The room was of high standard and provided all the facilities that one might expect. The breakfast area provided a substantial choice of food and drinks and the food was of good quality. A really nice unexpected touch from the hotel was when we returned to the room late afternoon on my wifes birthday there was a card and smal gift for her from the hotel. This i think is a good example of the good care taken by this hotel of it's guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you Graham_Linda for your review.
It was a pleasure for us to make a surprise to you and your wife ... We like when clients appreciate our service.
Hope to see you soon
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Although we only stayed one night I enjoyed this hotel. There was an atmosphere with the hotel that was pleasant. From being shown our room by the receptionist who then offered tea and coffee making facilities (much appreciated) to the fast and cheap WiFi we felt comfortable here. The rooms are a little small (specifically the bathroom in our room) but this was not too bad. The breakfast was great and the staff overall very helpful. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Dear Mike,
New Zealand is far away but I hope to welcome you as soon as possible ... to offer you a nice room with a big bathroom!
Every room is different from the other at Grand Hotel but now that we know your preference, we will be glad to satisfy your taste next time you come to Verona.
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

A beautifully decorated hotel, that is conveniently located both close to the Porto Neuvo station and the old city.

The rooms are of a high standard and the hotel has beautiful art work (paintings and sculptures) scattered throughout.

The staff were most friendly and the free use of bicycles was fantastic to tour the city which is very cycle friendly.

Our children made use of the free wii.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of hot and cold foods.

Highly recommended and would stay again without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Dear Tony,
what a pleasure to read you review!
Hope to welcome you and your family soon
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We have just checked out from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We stayed in a Standard room which, whilst a little compact, was perfectly adequate for the price; agree previous comment on hanging rail, I could just reach it but I'm tall, a short person will need a stepladder! The entire hotel is spotlessly clean and all of the staff very courteous and helpful. Breakfast timings are good and the selection is of good quality. Highly recommended for a stay in central Verona

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Stayed here for one week.Reception very helpful and friendly.Room(109) was very clean and well furnished although the wardrobe rail was unusually high.The bathroom was also very good with decent towels. Large covered balcony good for watching the world go by. The hotel has a very nice garden which will be good in the summer as a place to relax. Breakfast both hot and cold was of a good standard. As we had hoped the hotel is well placed for both the sights of Verona and walking to the station and buses to reach other places. We will use this hotel again if we return to Verona

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireItalyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Dear DerbyshireItalyfan,
thank your for your useful review!
Useful because after reading it, we checked your room and we realized that the wardrobe was wrongly assembled.
Next time you come to Verona, you will find everything ok
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.6 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 77 in Verona
693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#4 of 77 in Verona
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Arts

Address: Corso Porta Nuova 105, 37122, Verona, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Verona)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £87 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In excellent central position only 5 minutes walk from the arena. The Grand Hotel has 62 rooms, 5 of which are suites, equipped with all modern comforts where the classics style of the private collection blends with a modern style of a business hotel. Private garden suitable for cocktail and summer brunch, conference center. Bikes available free of charge for guests. The Grand Hotel of Verona offers different ways for your stay, nothing is left to chance, each room has private services with baths or showers, heating during winter months and air conditioning for the summer months all autonomous and regulated by yourselves directly from your rooms. The technology for a good stay is in your flat screen TV, voice mails available for you and internet access so that you are connected to the world. Details are the expression of maximum comfort: hair dryers and bathrobes, slippers and an exclusive Occytane complimentary set in all bathrooms. The pillow menu will allow you to choose the pillow suitable for your sleep and, on request, an ozone treatment to purify your bedroom according to the new feng shui theories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing