We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

Well, like i always say, you get what you pay for, beautiful hotel.
Only grumble, first morning came down for breakfast, coissants were burnt, asked if there were more coming, reply was that the first batch were ok and this is what we have!
This was not the reaction i expected in this standard of hotel, however i let it go, i didnt go hungry. However next morning coissants and danish were marginaly better, may be they need new chef or oven.
WiFi is ok but dont forget to get a password for every device !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globehoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Globehoppin,
I read your feedback and all I can think is : "such a silly thing to burn the croissant.. in a 4 star hotel this is unacceptable!" ... SORRY
I've already spoken to my collegue at the breakfast room and hope this won't happen again.
Hope to welcome you again in Verona in the future
Best Regards
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    348
    70
    13
    9
See reviews for
173
476
38
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Altea, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a very interesting time in Verona. There is so much to see and do. The hotel staff were very helpful and supplied us with a Card and a list of fine restaurants to try at a 10% discount. They were very helpful with instructions on how to get around the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonJoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Situated on wide boulevard equal distance between rail station and town centre so not crowded but easy to get to and from. Centre was 5 mins walk / 10 minutes amble from hotel.
Decoration was first class with nice bar area and outside courtyard together with pleasant and helpful staff. Room (double) was small but well equipped. Hotel sells tickets for open top bus tours (2 routes) which are well worth taking. Hotel had excellent breakfast but like many Italian hotels does not have restaurant for evening meals but with so much choice in Verona this is not a problem

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from the rail and bus station and from the Piazza Bra. Rooms are well appointed and very comfortable, a little small, but more than adequate for a short stay. Staff were courteous and helpful and were happy to give advice on visiting local places of interest. Breakfast was the standard mix of cold cuts , fruit , pastries and some hot dishes but plenty of choice and enough to keep you going till the evening. I would highly recommend the Grand for a short stay in what is a stunning city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lichtie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Equidistant between railway station and the Arena, 10 mins walk from either. Clean, smart hotel, offering good service and a great breakfast. Room had everything you required and wi fi at €3 per day was value.


  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank BillsyWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well positioned for a short and pleasant walk into the centre of Verona, also in walking distance from the rail station. The standard room we booked was smaller than expected, however clean, we'll maintained with a good sized bathroom. Breakfast was standard with a good variety on offer. Staff pleasant, helpful and professional. We would return to the hotel, but may request a larger room.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The price is way above what it should be based on the hotel.

Service is rather ok, but not at the level of a 4 stars hotel.
It has no charme and the rooms are small.
Room service is fast.
Rooms are clean.
House keepers probably forgot to set the room for the night and to clean the toilette in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OppioRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Mr. Renato,
thank you for writing a feedback in English on Tripadvisor too.
As I wrote you in private, I apologize first of all for the inconvenience.
Despite you asked the front office to have the couverture service in the evening, this service was not given since the maid heard the tv on in your room and she thought wrongly not to knock on your door.
I stay at your disposal
Grand Hotel
Gigliola Boldrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.5 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.9 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#8 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Arts

Property: Grand Hotel Des Arts
Address: Corso Porta Nuova 105, 37122, Verona, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Verona)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In excellent central position only 5 minutes walk from the arena. The Grand Hotel has 62 rooms, 5 of which are suites, equipped with all modern comforts where the classics style of the private collection blends with a modern style of a business hotel. Private garden suitable for cocktail and summer brunch, conference center. Bikes available free of charge for guests. The Grand Hotel of Verona offers different ways for your stay, nothing is left to chance, each room has private services with baths or showers, heating during winter months and air conditioning for the summer months all autonomous and regulated by yourselves directly from your rooms. The technology for a good stay is in your flat screen TV, voice mails available for you and internet access so that you are connected to the world. Details are the expression of maximum comfort: hair dryers and bathrobes, slippers and an exclusive Occytane complimentary set in all bathrooms. The pillow menu will allow you to choose the pillow suitable for your sleep and, on request, an ozone treatment to purify your bedroom according to the new feng shui theories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing