We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Yet another questionable choice by our travel agent.
Hotel room was nice clean and a good size, but location wise it was quite a walk everyday, well maybe it wasn't, but my wife was pregnant so it felt like it was a long way away. They were undergoing renovation while stayed here (March 2013 - the review wouldn't let me post any earlier than July) an we were 1 of only 2 groups we saw staying here.
Hotel was nice, but the lifts were seriously questionable!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Rowan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Rowan,
I'm sorry you travel agent did not consider the fact your wife was pregnant but for sure they tried to make the best choice for you.
Grand Hotel is just 5 minutes walking from the Arena (city centre) and maybe they thought this distance would have been acceptable for you.
In the period you came (March 2013) we were renovating doors and corridors ... March is often a low season period in Verona and so we took the opportunity to refurbish part of the hotel. I remember we blocked one floor at a time so that the clients staying here would not be disturbed.
Regarding the lifts, I am surprised to read your comment "seriously questionable" since they are new.
I stay at your disposal ans send you my best regards
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights for business but end up exploring Verona due to the close proximity to all the greatest tourist attractions. The hotel room was clean and spacious with a modern bathroom. Free Wi-Fi was a bonus. The breakfast had a big selection of hot and cold food with excellent Italian coffee. The two elevators were somewhat slow but nothing to distract one from having a great time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank ChrisSw312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Chris,
thank you very much for the marvellous feedback.
I am pleased to read that you appreciated everything here at Grand Hotel.
Hope to see you soon
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a second floor room with large balcony with chairs and Coffee table which unfortunately doesn't make up for tiny modular shower in the bathroom I feel for the more amply built people as they would struggle to take a shower l. Otherwise a very acceptable hotel with a convenient location.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Mr. Greg,
thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.
I would like to inform you that every room is different from the other at Grand Hotel. I hope to welcome you in Verona again in the future and I would be pleased to assign you a room with a big shower.
Best Regards
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Grand Hotel far and beyond exceeded our expectations. A friend and I traveled throughout Italy for two weeks and only stayed in Verona for a short two days. However, out of all the other hotels we stayed at, we were most impressed with the Grand Hotel. The location, staff, room and breakfast were phenomenal. If you're going to Verona, I'd highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Britney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Britney,
thank you very very very much for your compliments shared on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind regards
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I just spent 2 nights at the Grand hotel Verona. The hotel is very well located, near the train station and a walking distance to the historical center. The rooms are very nice, conservative, clean and the bathroom is new and clean. The staff very friendly, and the breakfast buffet is great, lots of options to choose from. I really recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Johanna,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel.
Quality and service are our top priority and I am pleased that our staff were able to provide an excellente service to you.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Grand Hotel in the not distant future.
Kind regards
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Spent a weekend in Verona and at the Grand hotel. What a wonderful place. A lovely entrance. Traditional, period decor and furnishings done well. It was a wonderful warm, cosy and classic room. Really nice bathroom. I also had a lovely balcony set up for morning coffee or afternoon wine. It was a nice touch.

The staff were helpful, identifying the attractions in the old city.. most in walking distance of the hotel. Location was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Shirley,
thank you for your lovely review!
I hope you will plan to stay again with us very soon.
We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hotel
Kind regards
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Easy walk to train station and historic area. Modern bathroom, extensive Breakfast buffet, helpful staff. Limited but high quality food, wine and spirits offered all day and evening. Pretty patio and garden. Bed and linens comfortable.

Room Tip: First floor patio can be noisy but quieter than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine41298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Catherine,
thank you for posting your review.
I very much appreciate your compliments regarding brekfast, staff and room.
I look forward to welcoming you and your friends for many more enjoyable weekends to come.
Kind Regards
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.5 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.6 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.9 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#7 of 77 in Verona
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Arts

Address: Corso Porta Nuova 105, 37122, Verona, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Verona)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £85 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Verona, was built in the Liberty style in the 1920’s at the request of a noble Austrian family, the Reichenbach. It was their elegant city residence and was subsequently turned in to a hotel without changing the architectural quality. In the hall, the public areas and the indoor garden, you can admire valuable furniture and decorations. Paintings and sculptures of famous artists such as Ciardi, Cascella, Minguzzi, Manzù, Purificato, Murer, Arnoldi and many others. Together with these valuable pieces of art, you can also admire the beautiful “Verona” red marble floor, dating back to the original period. 62 rooms splitted in : Economy, Standard, Deluxe and Exclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing