We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will fall in love...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You will fall in love...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Well, simply an all round winner. You're close (walking distance) to the train station, you are within a short stroll of most central sites, great eating options at your doorstep, and a really good hotel to base your touring of the city and surrounds from. The hotel rooms are clean, the breakfast is great and the staff are really fantastic.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Micos78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 2 November 2014
Dear Micos 78,
what can I tell you? Simply thank you for all your comments!
We will wait for you for your next holiday in Verona!
Martina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    358
    71
    13
    9
See reviews for
179
495
39
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was the old-style of hotels where service is king and I was made to feel extremely welcomed during my short stay by everyone (without exception) at this hotel.

The room was perfect with lovely finishing touches and little gifts that I did not expect. Room service was very quick and my evening meal was beautifully presented. I eat only raw food so normally have to ask for off-menu and they made me a special salad with panache - it was delicious.

The hotel had a nice atmosphere - very calm and traditional - and overall my stay was almost perfect if it had not been for the very early wake up call when the staff moved the metal tables in the courtyard and dragged them across the ground in preparation for breakfast. I was woken up by metal screeching!!! I would recommend a room not looking onto the courtyard to avoid an early wake up call if you don't want to get up for breakfast!

The beds are exceptionally comfortable and my room was very quiet all night long until 30 minutes before breakfast was served!

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the courtyard unless you want to eat breakfast early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahdU4685FY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Sarah,
our aim is to treat our clients as kings and it's nice to know that we reached our aim with you!
We are also very happy to know that you had a good dinner: we don't have a restaurant and it's good that our bar was able to prepare exactly what you needed.
I'm really sorry for your morning experience. We usually prepare the outside patio very silently and I don't know how to apologise with you if that day we weren't sufficiently quiet.
We will wait for you next year and maybe you can try a room on the front side!

Martina
Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in Verona for 5 days so required somewhere comfortable and convenient. The Grand Hotel met all our needs perfectly, with service delivered with a smile.

My wife and I enjoy walking around cities and exploring their delights. Verona is rich with history and places to explore. From the Grand Hotel, a 5 minute walk to the Arena - easy for the Opera. We walked everywhere and none of the main sites was more than 20 minutes away.

The hotel had all you would expect, good size clean room and bathroom. A good spread for breakfast and a reception desk willing to book/guide you on restaurants. The only time we took a taxi was too and from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haewma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Haewma,
and it's with a smile that I would like to thank you for your nice review!
See you next time you will come back!

Martina
Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent 5 days at this hotel very small rooms and bathroom but wonderful people and atmosphere. the food and beverage is a bit more pricy but still reasonable given the location of the hotel.

The location us great and in walking distance of the arena, restaurants and extensive shopping and sight seeing. Short taxi ride from the airport.

We found there to be a lack of space to unpack and store our clothe but experienced this at Many properties across Europe.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KarlSCoquitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Mr. Karl,
the hotel was built as a family house at the beginning of 1900 and it was reconverted in the hotel in the middle of the last century. That's why every room is different from the other and maybe some rooms could be smaller then others (unlike modern hotels).
I'm really sorry that the one we gave you was too small for you. If you will come back to Grand Hotel in the future, please remember us your first stay and ask for a bigger room: we will do our best to make your stay more confortable.
I thank you for the other comments and we will wait to welcome you again in Verona!

Martina
Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Older hotel which we routinely use when attending operas at the Arena. An easy walk perhaps 15 minutes (depending on your speed) from the rail station and another 15 to the Arena itself.

Once again had one of the Junior Suites consisting of bedroom and sitting room with desk located around the corner form the front desk area. Very quiet at all times; excellent air conditioning; huge bathroom with tub and separate shower.

Staff, as always, extremely friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast buffet selection in the mornings.

Remains an "old reliable" for us. Other hotels are closer to the Arena and may be, for that reason, more suitable for some.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Intrepid1,
it's always nice to receive a good comment from an usual guest! We are very happy to be able to welcome our Guests each year and we hope to meet you next year too!

Martina
Grand Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had a lovely week here in June. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was very quiet, clean and comfortable. It overlooked the hotel courtyard and garden. Most important to me - the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Susan,
thanks for the 5-star feedback!
I am pleased you enjoyed staying with us and I am happy to read you slept very well since our beds are new and this means we made a good choice.
Hope to see you soon
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is no bad and it is well located.
However you can see many details that require attenention, modernisatin and repair.
Yet most dissapointing was ignorance off staff who thinks some guests are more valuable then others. We wanted to watch a game on TV in lobby, and even though they have 2 screens, they can broadcast only one channel?! Other couple wanted to watch another game and staff didn't care about us at all, but turned program as other couple required.
I guess not all guests are equal in this hotel... Dissapointing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JoCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grandhotelverona, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Des Arts, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear JoCu,
thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor so that I can reply to you.
The time you stayed by Grand Hotel it was the time of World Cup and I remembered that when you came back from the city centre another couple was already watching a game.
My collegue told both parties to decide what to watch and since the others where in the lobby before your arrival, they decided for you!
It's true, during the World Cup we had 2 screens (one very big screen and a flat Tv) but I woud like to clarify that they were not indipendent since they both were connected to ONE decoder.
At Grand Hotel all guests are welcomed and equal
I stay at your disposal
GRAND HOTEL
Gigliola Boldrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.5 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.9 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#5 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#8 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Des Arts

Property: Grand Hotel Des Arts
Address: Corso Porta Nuova 105, 37122, Verona, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Verona)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In excellent central position only 5 minutes walk from the arena. The Grand Hotel has 62 rooms, 5 of which are suites, equipped with all modern comforts where the classics style of the private collection blends with a modern style of a business hotel. Private garden suitable for cocktail and summer brunch, conference center. Bikes available free of charge for guests. The Grand Hotel of Verona offers different ways for your stay, nothing is left to chance, each room has private services with baths or showers, heating during winter months and air conditioning for the summer months all autonomous and regulated by yourselves directly from your rooms. The technology for a good stay is in your flat screen TV, voice mails available for you and internet access so that you are connected to the world. Details are the expression of maximum comfort: hair dryers and bathrobes, slippers and an exclusive Occytane complimentary set in all bathrooms. The pillow menu will allow you to choose the pillow suitable for your sleep and, on request, an ozone treatment to purify your bedroom according to the new feng shui theories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing