We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Receptionists and Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colomba d'Oro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colomba d'Oro Hotel
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,521 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“Friendly Receptionists and Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel only for one night, but this stay was very comfortable. The room was clean and enough space for me. The receptionists were very supportive when I asked the recommendable restaurants or the way to the station by taxi or on foot etc. The hotel is located almost in front of Arena and there are a lot of restaurants within a walking distance. The room rate was just 100 Euro. I would stay at this hotel at the next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YacchanAmarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    159
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
57
213
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Excellent find right in the heart of historic Verona - one block from the arena. Historic hotel with alot of charm. Rooms are nicely decorated, bright - had a nice sitting area. Spacious bathroom with nice toiletries. Secure garage parking is available on request and for a price. Only complaint was the noise at night from the street. For the price and location you can't beat this deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilitaryDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have stayed here before and have returned for the second time.
My Impressions when I returned were the same as I had last time I stayed there.
Its quite tired and in desperate need of some attention. The room felt quite stuffy, even though they are a decent size room for European rooms. My Pet hate is showers in Baths, and for breakfast, The scrambled Eggs looked like they had been there since my last visit.

The staff though are friendly and remember you in no time. They couldn't do enough for us and always greet you in and out.
I might try somewhere else next time I return to Verona that feels a bit more modern.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Superior Double Room during this stay and just the standard room last stay and if I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevebmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel several times a year for many years while I was in Verona for work. Starting with the friendly staff at the front desk, the hotel delivers on a sophisticated but affordable stay and walking distance to everything in the center of town.

The breakfast in the morning is great. The servers remember you and what you order and are a nice and friendly way to start the day. The staff at the front desk does whatever they can to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

The location is a stone's throw to L'Arena and since there are restrictions on parking in the center of town, the location close to the city gate is convenient as well.

Room Tip: Small drawback on the location of some of the rooms that are on the street near where there is a pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelevine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Another great 4 day stay at our favorite hotel in Verona.(The location just at the arena, yet quiet - is unique) This time we were 6 persons and the staff were fantastic, yet again ! Hotel manager Andre arranged great rooms for all of us and the front-of-house staff were really helpful with our numerous requests and inquiries.
Also the room-maid service was very professional and even organized and folded our strewn about laundry in the rooms ! Great service !
Thank you Andre and Staff for making our extended weekend another memorable one !

Room Tip: Any rooms on the courtyard side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseeker1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were guests for two nights and found the location to be central in every way. One short block from La Arena and in the heart of the old city. The staff was very helpful and responsive to our every need. The hotel parking is secure in an underground structure. The price is right and an excellent breakfast is included. I have traveled throughout Italy for decades and this hotel is my new found hotel in Verona. The bakery located caddy corner is outstanding too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoop1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Dont get room 4, 5 or 6 unless you enjoy the sound of a door slamming every 90 seconds from 8am. The staff go in and out at the end of the corridor and there is no dampener on the door so it just slams noisily all the time. Maddeningly inconsiderate. Didnt even bother mentioining it to reception desk as it has probably been going on for years and they're not going to retrain the staff or fix the door overnight. They werent effusively friendly and helpful to start with either. Good location though.

Room Tip: Avoid 4,5,6 at least, and any other room near end of corridor firedoor used as staff entrance, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.5 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#8 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colomba d'Oro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colomba d'Oro Hotel

Property: Colomba d'Oro Hotel
Address: Via Carlo Cattaneo 10, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Verona
#18 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colomba d'Oro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A special place is waiting for you in the heart of ancient Verona, between the stone walls and frescoes of an elegant medieval building. Enjoy the rich heritage of a luxury hospitality, made even more accurate by the most advanced technologies. This, and has always been, the only Four Star hotel in the immediate vicinity of the world famous Arena di Verona, a few steps from Palazzo della Gran Guardia Congress Center and the famous cafe in Piazza Bra. The ideal retreat for a romantic weekend in the city of Romeo and Juliet, and the perfect location for an exclusive business stay, with all the pleasures of comfort and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Colomba d'Oro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colomba d Oro Hotel
Colomba d Oro Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing