We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Giberti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giberti
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Giberti for 3 nights at the end of August, going to 2 spectacular operas at the Arena and were very impressed with them and the beautiful city of Verona. We availed of the excellent public swimming pool not too far from the hotel and took a day trip to the nearby Caneva aqua park which our 2 boys loved. While accepting that it was opera season and the hotel Giberti is fairly well-located in the city and staff were very nice and the lobby is pleasant, the hotel is overpriced. We stayed in Venice a few days earlier for approx the same price (peak summer season there) in a beautiful hotel with deluxe rooms overlooking a canal (a large balcony with our room) and only minutes from St Mark's Square. Wifi was free at our Venice hotel and staff were excellent. Both hotels were booked 4 months in advance and at the same time so it wasn't a question of a late booking. As well as charging high rates for their rooms (ours was labelled 'superior' but was really only a standard room overlooking a car park and some not so well painted apartment blocks), Hotel Giberti also charges for wifi. It means you have to think about it each time you wish to browse or check something online - most annoying. While there is access to a free internet service on one computer in a cupboard in the Giberti lobby, I believe it is a false economy on the part of the hotel to charge for wifi as it creates a negative impression for so little gain. Also, walls are thin - we could hear noise from showers from the adjacent room. Breakfast was ok, but there was only white (no brown) bread and there was a very noisy self-service tea/coffee machine in the breakfast room which is used non-stop. We didn't eat breakfast outside in the courtyard as we didn't wish to be annoyed by wasps (no fault of the hotel). Given all of the above, Giberti is certainly overpriced.

Room Tip: Find out if you were to book 9 months in advance would it be any cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelgeoir67_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    216
    57
    24
    5
See reviews for
83
177
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
133 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This hotel has a very good location, in the city center of Verona. The old town can be reached in about 10 minutes walking. The hotel itself is unspectacular, breakfast low average. The most negative point are the overpiced rates during the Opera season.
Rooms are clean, midsized, a bit dark.
Staff very friendly, but not very helpful. Would I go back there ? I dont think so.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

we had tickets to see the outdoor Operas in the Arena - 100th Anniversary and opening night - so rooms inside the old city walls were tight and way, way overpriced. This hotel was by an Italian friend with connections in Verona. He rightly recommended it because of its location (5 minutes from the old city main gate by the Arena), its overall comfort, and their ability to purchase the hard-to-get first night tix.
Great choice - after traipsing around Italy in various B&Bs, over-the-top Italian hotels, and a stay in at a beautiful Inn surrounded by coutryside, this business hotel was perfect (no tourist buses that I could see).
Large rooms, large bathroom with bath, excellent AC, very good bed and pillows. onsite parking.
Concierge were extremely courteous and very helpful advising on restaurants and making reservations.
Breakfast buffet was varied, several juices and cereals plus the typical meats and cheeses - excellent coffee, but nothing cooked to order

Room Tip: make sure you reserve the bed you want. I thought I asked for a queen but at first we had twins in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Nice end clean hotel, the bar end breakfast staff are very nice. Room not bad. Not a 4 star hotel if you asked me though. Booked it during vinitaly wen verona is at it busiest. A bid overpriced but overall a decent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Passion4wines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Whilst a clean hotel not the most modern 4 star we have stayed in during our trip. Close to train & centre of Verona, however noisy from street as well as other rooms. Can hear other guests showering ect. Breakfast average, nothing hot except scrambled or boiled eggs, so they may as well not bother & stick to cold selection. Staff helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: Street rooms noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#27 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#8 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.1 mi away
Hotel Scalzi
Hotel Scalzi
#13 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giberti

Property: Hotel Giberti
Address: Via Gian Matteo Giberti 7, 37122, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giberti 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giberti existing since 1980 and is definitely a hotel of great prestige for the elegance of the settings and refined details , represents a valid solution for both the businessman and the tourist. Located in a strategic central location ,easily accessible by car and with direct access to owned garages. Hotel is situated only 500 meters from Arena and from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giberti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giberti Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing