We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Leopardi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Leopardi
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We spent just 1 day here to visit Verona but we liked this hotel very much!
The room was clean and comfortable....bed very nice and soft.
Staff was nice and the location is good and breakfast amazing!we would recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annagreta132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Leopardi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Honeymoon stay: August 2012.
A very modern exterior with some nice staff who were multilingual. free under roof parking. Easy enough to find (if you're not using a Tom Tom directing the wrong way down streets) the room was ok (refurbed in 2003) however we don't think the bathroom was; the green tiles made it look like something transported from the 70s. (Although my parents stayed at this hotel in July 2013 and said they had a lovely bathroom do maybe thus has changed).

Hotel operates a shuttle bus to and from arena on nights when opera is on. Bar does aperitifs free when buying a drink from the bar.
Think they start cleaning early as woken up at 6 but clanking and clattering. Continued to dose, but stirred every five minutes because of the not so quiet maids. We had read that this is a soundproofed hotel, but it doesn't seem that way. Hotel cleaned on first morning, toilet dirty - so cleaned it again myself. Soaps etc... All replaced.
Breakfast: same as usual, prosecco available and a waitress asked if we wanted tea or coffee. Second morning, breakfast not stocked as well.

Not really near any restaurants and menu for hotel is limited and pricy. Restricted to taxi's in evening to get to and from the centre.

Went to Opera first evening. Take something comfy to sit on, as bum goes numb very quickly as well a blanket/jumpers as its like a wind tunnel. We sat in area D and the view was clear enough to see. It was €21 for our seats (they were meant to be €25.50, but we're under 30 so get a discount) you can hire cushions for €3 each and the money goes to a local charity. People walking around selling bottle (500ml) of coke, sprite, fanta for €4 each. Hotel run shuttle back for one hour after performance. We got a taxi back as it was half 11 at the start of the third act. We were too tired to get all the way through.

Hotel has bikes to borrow free of charge as 30 min walk into town. Lady on recep showed us where to go as they have a cycle route in Verona, although a little confusing. So we just followed the buses and signs for "arena". They recommend to park at nearby hotel to the centre. Then it's a walk through an arch and you're in the main square.

There are clear signposts for Juliet's balcony (casse de Giulietta) but beware of pickpockets (they pretend to take photos whilst eyeing your bags. Also if going, take a lock to hang on the gates. They're €5 in the shop. Men must have a pic of them holding Juliets right breast too. Interesting market going back towards main square. Some selling murano jewellery (with certificates) and I'm guessing will be cheaper than Murano in Venice. Funny street artists too, be careful round the arena (Colleseum) as the gladiators charge for pictures.

Lady on recep also said about visiting vallipolacella region (just north of Verona) and told us how we can reach it. Lots of shops closed there during the day. Found some nice views of the wineries. But because of compounds everything looked inaccessible. No wine tour from hotel or any suggested. Fab views from some of the hills!

Hired bikes again on second day and went for tour round city, sat and drank some nice non-alcoholic cocktails near the p.pietro bridge looking up to the Romano theatre. Then cycled towards the Castel with a bridge and headed into the sq to people to watch. Got a granite, lemon juice with crushed ice. Then parked up bikes and found a restaurant oppipotamous, food was reasonable under €30 for mains and large drinks. Whizzing back to the hotel was fun on the bikes, just make sure that it's not too dark.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCopeland2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Leopardi in Verona. It is a nice hotel, with a nice staff and good service level. The guest room is big, well equiped, good bed and good bathroom. The shower is really good, water and pressure. The breakfast is complete and very good. I have only two considerations about this hotel: 1) At night I try to order a room service but it was not available at 9pm. 2) The location is not so good. This property is located a bit far from the main Verona attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexanderBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Can't speak highly enough of this hotel - we had a great experience. The service was very good; the staff spoke good English and couldn't have been more helpful. Assisted with booking tours, purchasing bus tickets, advising on local bus times, etc. Stayed in room 406; nicely furnished, very clean and comfortable. Air con most welcome as temperature in high 30's. Black-out blinds effective and v useful. The breakfast was excellent - great choice and items replenished frequently. One small criticism would be that there was no iron in the room or opportunity to borrow one. Used the in-house ironing service to spruce up our glad rags for the Opera which was fine. The Spa facilities are also excellent. A little expensive @ 20euro for 90mins but the facility was well managed, spotlessly clean, relaxing and comfortable. Had a lovely facial for 55euro for an hour's treatment; therapist didn't speak English but this wasn't a problem (possibly as I've had facials before). No 11 bus runs close to hotel. Supermarket v close - handy for buying water cheaply. Venice and Milan just over an hour away on the train; trains fast, clean and the service is efficient. Recommend purchasing Verona Card for multi-attractions - we bought ours at the hotel.

Room Tip: 406 was great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked Hotel Leopardi as an on-line special and thought it was great value for €130 for a family of 4 sharing a large room and including an excellent buffet breakfast. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with good air-conditioning which was much appreciated as the temperature was in the high 30's outside. The hotel is some distance from the Arena di Verona but during the opera season they run free shuttle buses that drop you off at the Arena and pick you up afterwards. A great service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights and took in the Opera at the arena, (15mins walk away) hotel very very good, we stayed in room 421 facing the side of the hotel, reading other reviews I think we had a refurbished room, bathroom very smart, bed very comfortable and towels etc changed every day.
Breakfast great and staff very polite and helpful, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiejohn_231112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel was booked by a friend. Good choice as our room was spacious & fresh. Bathroom was large and clean but I don't get the European showers. No curtain or screen of any sort so water is bound to get all over floor. Perhaps I need training. Breakfast was good and staff were very helpful. Positive experience overall.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#23 of 77 in Verona
801 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Hotel
#41 of 77 in Verona
746 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Verona - Fiera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novo Hotel Rossi
Novo Hotel Rossi
#13 of 77 in Verona
1,217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#21 of 77 in Verona
622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leopardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leopardi

Address: Via Leopardi 16, 37138, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Verona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range: £75 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Leopardi 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern four-story hotel located 1-1/2 miles from train station & 5 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Leopardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leopardi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing