We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb spot and friendly staff”
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel was in the perfect location right in the heart of Verona and with a direct bus route from the train staton. The room was comfortable, although the decor was a little dated. Breakfast was great and staff were very pleasant and helpful. My only gripe was that the free wifi was a bit patchy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fooooody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay of 4 days in April 2013 at Hotel San Luca. The hotel is very close to Plaza Bra and the Stadium for events, and literally around the corner from the Teatro Filarmonico where we attended a magnificent opera while there.

By the way, this hotel is not only an excellent place to stay, but THE place if you're attending an opera at the Teatro. I even was able to walk back to the hotel room for something at the start of intermission and return less than half way through the intermission. Convenient!

We loved the staff and their great service, especially the lady who ran the breakfast buffet. She remembered us from the first day and thereafter always brought us the types of coffee we preferred, etc.. Wow!

Our room was on the first floor (actually level 3 above the lobby), but was an easy walk up the stairs or a quick elevator ride which was great for moving all our luggage. Views from the room weren't spectacular (alleyway) but the windows brought in nice fresh air and had security shades that came down and made it really nice and dark in the room.

A reasonable price, convenience, comfortable room (with free Wifi), helpful and resourceful staff--what more could you want? We highly recommend this hotel for personal or business travel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed two days in this hotel. the location is great, down a quiet side street but very close to Piazza Bra and the Arena. Rooms a little small but that's normal in Italy/Spain/France. Everything was clean and the service was good. The wifi in the room didn't work but that wasn't a huge deal. Overall I expected a little more from a four star hotel, considering the price, but I would probably stay here again as it seemed good value compared to other places in Verona.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed in January 2013 and searched for a hotel online offering a triple room (for three adults) for two nights which was central and also offered off-street car parking (at reasonable extra cost) and free Wi-Fi. Not such a tall order considering all that was on offer in our price range and Hotel San Luca seems to tick all these boxes. The location is great, close to the old town and the Arena is only 5 minutes walk. The staff were helpful, particularly with the car parking and offer of porter service but the room was not a triple and the 3rd bed was only a roll-away one; which is not suitable for an adult. We enquired and were told they don't have triple rooms, the extra bed added is what happens when the room is booked for three adults. This was disappointing as www.bookings.com did advertise a triple room option, not double room plus extra. Free wi-Fi is not available in the rooms but instead in the hallway so we each spent some time loitering picking up messages and emails.
There is however a restaurant quite close that we searched out that was exceptional called La Cantina del 15 and if you are in Verona, make the effort to go there. Hotel San Luca was fine (don't get me wrong) but the room was not what we booked and as often happens, one of the party of three are disadvantaged when this happens.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank sueO_RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

great hotel located right in the heart of Verona, perfect for a weekend break
Rooms fine, although we booked a triple and on arrival there was a double bed for 3 ladies, however the hotel staff bought a roll away and set up the 3rd bed in no time, room was large enough to accommodate 3 single beds and our bags
Lovely big bathroom and good breakfast
supermarket close by for water and snack
Verona is a great city for a weekend break, the buildings and architecture was amazing and some parts of Verona are incredibly old, walking around town you walk from one ancient piazza to another and each is unique and just as beautifil as the previous one
we visted a great church with amazing Frescoes

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cath1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed here 28th to 31st October with my partner and her daughter, was my 1st ever visit to Italy, the hotel was very nice and the staff were very friendly. The bedroom was clean, tidy and well appointed and had everything you needed, bathroom was very spacious and clean, The breakfast was pretty good, was plenty of choice and lots of it, some people have commented the breakfast and especially the coffee was not up to scratch, but we all thought everything was very good, The only downside about the hotel is the location of where is situated, down an alleyway and they were a few drunks hanging,(but don't most towns and cities have them!) but they don't bother you. If they could make the hotel better I would suggest they put a coffee/tea making facility in the rooms as we would have loved a cuppa after our days and nights around Verona! I would definately stay here again,

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A lovely hotel with a fair selection at breakfast.
Quiet spot down a little back street,surroundings a little dog eared and quite a lot of wineos hanging around the area.My Partner said she would NOT have been too happy to walk around alone,otherwise a nice hotel. Very clean and "traditional" with friendly staff,good sized rooms and well kept public areas,very handy to walk around beautiful old Verona.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yammidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,373 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#35 of 77 in Verona
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#11 of 77 in Verona
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: Vicolo Volto San Luca 8, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £57 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Luca 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Luca is easy to reach with its reserved private carpark and its central, quiet position just 200 metres from Piazza Bra and outside the limited traffic zone. Its privileged position will allow you to discover the main attractions of the city. Monuments, museums, shops and restaurants can all be easily reached on foot. This completely renovated hotel with its warm and refined atmosphere is a synthesis of elegance and functionality and is the reference point also for the most demanding clientele and therefore ideal for businessmen and tourists alike. Hotel San Luca has an Internet Point in the hall and there are 20 Mbit broadband Wi-Fi connections in all rooms. To make your stay as pleasant as possible you will always find multilingual personnel available at the reception desk which is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing