We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, helpful staff”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The location is great as has been said before. The front desk staff was helpful. We found Marco to be a gentleman. We loved the restaurant he recommended. The breakfast was as good or better than many, and the woman who staffed it worked very hard. She made good cappuccinos for us.

I thought the beds were hard. Some people might like that, but I have arthritis and I am sensitive. It was the same at the hotel we stayed in Vicenza. We could hear street noise, mostly people talking. There is no traffic on this side street so it was not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maddoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    209
    55
    9
    8
See reviews for
69
184
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had read the reviews on here, and most were good, with as usual the odd one or two that had a grumble. However, we could not believe how much we enjoyed our stay in Verona, which in no small part was due to the hotel.

From the appearance on entering thru the automatic doors, to speaking with the lady on reception, all the photos were a good accurate description of the rooms and facilities, which isnt always the case is it.

The breakfast in our opinion was good. Yes of course you can get better but then you pay for it. the service at breakfast was excellent, and the attentive Francessca could not be more helpful. She is a credit to the hotel and a lovely lady, thank you Francessca we did find the birthday card shop.. All the staff are lovely, helpful, and speak English should your Italian let you down.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, and well decorated, beds were comfy. Clean towels, toiletries etc etc.

We had a three night stay, arriving before our room was ready as the check in is at 2.00pm. No problem, we left the bags with reception and went for an explore for a couple of hours.

Our flight home was well after the check out time, but again, no problem. Cases left at reception, and a taxi ordered for our return to the airport. The hotel use an executive taxi company, and our taxi, a Mercedes exec people carrier, with driver in suit arrived on time, and was 8 euros less than our taxi on arrival.

Would we return, yes without hesitation. Many thanks Hotel San Luca.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

U can't imagine how much lies in this hotel !!!

the policy is LIE, LIE & CHEAT. Finally the guest will pay !!!!

Interesting REAL, TRUE story, don't miss it if you want to save your trip.

MARCO the reception guy told me & my brother that the cost of the double room will be 255 € per night. and we agreed with this high price because of the marble fair in Verona.
The SURPRISE is when we make the check out, he wasn't there and his manager wanted to charge us 350 € per night !!!!!!!!!!

MARCO told us that our double room is ONE KING bed and there's no other room available with twin beds, and the bed in our room cannot be separated.

He told us that to push us to take another single room, and he told us although u take the single room or not, the company who made the reservation for you will be charged for this night, so it's crazy if u stay in one room on one bed and the company pays for a free empty room.
THE SURPRISE WAS that, our double room has 2 twin beds not a king bed and can be separated easily. and MARCO LIED to us to push us to take another room.

At our check out MARCO denied that he told us that if we stay or not, the company will pay and his manager asked us to pay 165 for this night !!!!!
AND WE PAID.

after we discovered that our double room has 2 beds, we stayed in one room and I told MARCO that, instead of charging the company for the single room, we let the room free and u can sell it. He agreed and told me that if he sells it, he will not charge the company, but if he couldn't sell it, he will charge the company. I said OK.

THE SURPRISE IS that the room stayed free one night and has been sold for the rest of my stay who were only 4 nights.

MARCO LIED to me and did not tell me that he sold the room !!!! and this aweful hotel wanted to charge the company and the new guest who took the single room for the SAME ROOM AT THE SAME NIGHTS !!!!!!

I couldn't believe how they are hungry for money !!!! HE wanted to charge the company too although he already sold it !!!!!!!
and when you face him, he only deny and LIE.


Another LIE was thet when we are at checkout they told me that MARCO left a note for me last night to tell me that the company does not agree to pay and his colleague lied to his manager telling her that he gave me the note although I DID NOT received anything.

I discovered that It's not only MARCO who lies, but his colleagues are liars too !!!!

I believe that this hotel has this policy: LIE, LIE & CHEAT. Tell the guest that the room is one king bed although it has two. TELL the guest that if you stayed in another single room or not, a the company will pay, but and at checkout, ask the guest to pay.

tell then that the rate is 255 € and at checkout tell then "No, the rate is 350"

Please for your enjoy and peace of mind, STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL.

NOBODY WILL BELEIEVE YOU, THEY ONLY BELEIEVE MARCO THE LIAR AND HIS COLLEAGUES !!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karamsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel is 3 minutes walk from the Arena and since you can explore Verona in a day, a great starting point.
The room was comfy although small in measures (especially the bathroom). 
The staff was kind and helpful - They recommended us about 2 restaurants: Casa Vino (3 minutes walk) and Maria Callas (about 10 minutes walk). 
We chose Casa Vino and enjoyed excellent local food and warm atmosphere).
The only downside was breakfast which was located in a mid-level, no windowed, gloomy  room.
Not much to eat - A boiled egg, no veggies and there was no toaster so I had to break my teeth on chewing the bread.
Maybe someone can answer why is the Italian bread so bad in general where the pizzas and pasta so great? :(
Anyway, besides that, we really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in Verona for three days. Really liked this hotel - great location around the corner from all the action near the arena. We walked to the train station and all around the city and the hotel location, down a little alley which made it feel quiet and peaceful. Our room was a triple - a double room w a single bed rolled in - just ok. The view was bad - overlooking the alley - we kept the curtains closed. Breakfast was good with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank 617AES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

my boyfriend and I stayed there last week in occasion of the Opera. its location is pretty good: 10 minutes' walk from the Porta Nuova train station and less than 5 from the Arena.
the staff kind (especially Marco, the porter).
breakfast offering some food for people on diets with no yeast, and a few other products which are unusual to find in hotels.
a few pieces of long, black hair in the bathroom, which for us was a quite bad point, and check out too early considering that people attending the opera go to sleep very very late (but this seems common in Verona).
plus, my credit card was charged for the total amount a couple of weeks before our arrival: it was written on the confirmation sheet, but in smaller letters, so I did not even notice it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marikendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milnathort
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The hotel is only about 100m from the arena and provides an excellent location from which to explore Verona. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our recent trip to Italy and was also the least enjoyable. Service was efficient but cold and unwelcoming. The hotel was covered in signs about the timings of breakfast and check out in bold red letters !!! Breakfast was terrible with little food left by 9.30am and was served in a spartan room with no views although the one waitress on hand was doing her eager best in difficult circumstances. This hotel is not good value for money compared to other hotels we stayed in and was therefore very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#36 of 79 in Verona
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 79 in Verona
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
1,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Property: Hotel San Luca
Address: Vicolo Volto San Luca 8, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Luca 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Luca is easy to reach with its reserved private carpark and its central, quiet position just 200 metres from Piazza Bra and outside the limited traffic zone. Its privileged position will allow you to discover the main attractions of the city. Monuments, museums, shops and restaurants can all be easily reached on foot. This completely renovated hotel with its warm and refined atmosphere is a synthesis of elegance and functionality and is the reference point also for the most demanding clientele and therefore ideal for businessmen and tourists alike. Hotel San Luca has an Internet Point in the hall and there are 20 Mbit broadband Wi-Fi connections in all rooms. To make your stay as pleasant as possible you will always find multilingual personnel available at the reception desk which is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing