We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Fails!”

Villa InCanto Opera Lirica
Ranked #90 of 220 things to do in Verona
Attraction details
Hampshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Never Fails!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was our third visit during the last three years. This time, we saw Placido Domingo and The Masked Ball. Both fantastic! Well worth a visit if you are in Verona or surrounding areas. We paid around 30 Euros a ticket to sit on the steps ..... just perfect!

We will return next year for definate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoriBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect introduction to opera”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was the first time my husband and I had been to an opera and we weren't disappointed. This venue and the performance not being the full opera was a perfect introduction to Carmen. The only reason I have rated this as very good and not excellent was the introductions for each act were only in Italian and we would have loved to understand what was being said - however this is more a reflection on my husband and I than Villa Incanto!. We would definitely do this again and I believe there are performances in London so perhaps we will try one of these.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good stop if you want to explore Verona”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Went to this place before we explored on our own and glad we did! Lots of resources and pointers on the history of Verona. Just keep an open mind and nice attitude...some of the staff doesn't speak English fluently but really tries hard to help out as much as they can!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamCrowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Opera close-up!”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

An absolute 'must visit 'for every Opera enthusiast. Italian emotion and sense of Melodramatic fills the air as I sat there spell-bound by the vocal agility and acting skills of the singers. Magnificent costumes in the perfect environment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDocKleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not your average opera....”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect when we arrived as it is a small venue and therefore very intimate. I initially thought that the singers were all relatives and was pleasantly surprised to find out that they are all very good. The performance of Carmen was as it should be - funny at times (with some audience participation too!) but still heartbreaking... Instead of a full performance they have taken the central strand and put together an hour and half's performance with 4 singers (who were amazing!). The venue's acoustics were fabulous.

One word of warning though - this is completely in italian and if you didn't speak italian (or have someone with you who does), you could easily be a bit lost.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Antcav18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa InCanto Opera Lirica also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Villa InCanto Opera Lirica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing