We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine”

Osteria al Boscarel
Ranked #47 of 1,184 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Genuine”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

In a city so full of tourists, like bees to a honey trap, it can be hard to find an eatery with an atmosphere that feels genuine. This is one such place. Service is informal and can even be a little abrupt, but the passion for the food and the proprietors intent to serve their customers is very evident, and they do their utmost to overcome the language barrier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    110
    27
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasons to love Boscarel”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

ENG:
While it is possible to find several good restaurants in Verona, not many of these offer a delightful cuisine, a tasteful atmosphere and amazing service they way "Al Boscarel" does. Not only does the menu undergo an addition of new recipes every month, the cheerful owners/chefs will take their time to explain why you should absolutely try that meal, and will suggest which wine goes best with it. A small, cozy location, high-level Italian cuisine and a friendly environment make "Al Boscarel" a more than suitable choice for any occasion, from the successful business meal to the romantic dinner, from the touristic stop to the private, friendly lunch. Seldom do the owners forget a face: regular stops will often be rewarded. "Al Boscarel" is a must, a traditional Italian restaurant of which I'll never have enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davide C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Hidden gem in Verona”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Unespectly high level cousine in a cosy hidden restaurant. I have recently paid a visit to Boscarel under suggestion of a friend. The friendly welcome and the friendly atmosphere were already expected (my friend advised me...) but the quality of the food, the delicious mix of local and innovative flavours have been far better than expected. Difficult to choose the best, apparently dishes change weekly, anyway my personal experience has been perfect (and my wallet did not suffer for my pleasure). Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummmm”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Just went on a trip to Verona and went to this restaurant as it was right next to the B&B I was staying at. The owner came over and started explaining the daily dishes, it seemed that everything was freshly prepared on the day. I had fresh pasta with artichokes, cheese and olive oil. Extremely simple but amazingly delicious. Second course was wild boar with polenta, accompanied by a wine the owner recommended. Another excellent dish. The owner and the chef both stopped by to see how I was enjoying my meal without being intrusive. I strongly recommend this restaurant for both the food and the great service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marinchetoblabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
“An amazing experience!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Thanks to the kindest owners, we spent the best moment ever on this lovely terrace in this tiny street, close to the river and steps away from the very center of Verona. The welcoming was very cheerful and the drinks very good! A wonderful taste of Italy thanks to Max and Daniel! We hope to come again some time!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria al Boscarel also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria al Boscarel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing