We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere to get some vegetarian dishes”
Review of Retro Bar - CLOSED

Retro Bar
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: An unusual bistrot just beside the main cathedral where to take a break at any hour, from a slow food lunch to a tipical Italian aperitif. Our food & wine selection is inspired by semplicity: thursday-friday-saturday open for dinner, booking requested.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Somewhere to get some vegetarian dishes”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The restaurant was listed in Happy Cow as a vegetarian restaurant. The restaurant definitely serves some vegetarian options, but the food was not all that interesting. I had the tofu foccacia (because the red lentil soup was only in the winter), but it turned out to be pretty bland. What I like about the place: 1. Organic 2. Eco-friendly 3. Very friendly staff 4. Recycled decor and repurposed furniture. What I wish were better: their vegetarian selections and the taste and innovativeness in their vegetarian selections. Bottom line -- if you have trouble digesting huge amounts of cheese and want some form of vegetarian protein, you could consider this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank K.P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    203
    42
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great variety of food”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We popped in for coffee after a visit to the Duomo and were so impressed returned later for dinner. The menu has a good choice for vegetarians which is unusual, and we enjoyed our meal. It was very quiet the evening we ate there which we thought was a shame as it is a great place, service was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Visited this restaurant after struggling to find anywhere else serving soya milk (dairy intolerant) and so glad we did! Menu had options for everyones taste including vegan dishes throughout all 3 courses. All food was amazing along with the service and helpfulnes of the waitress/owner. I cannot express enough how DIVINE the hot chocolate was - everyone must try it! After ordering it to be made with soya milk I was slightly hesitant but this was the cure for my deprived sweet tooth and boy was it good...thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy interesting restaurant with good veggie choices”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Good service, interesting menu with good veggie choices. Ambience is good and doesn't feel touristy at all. Easy to find but away from the crowds at the same time. Overall the food was good though I was expecting it maybe to be a bit better

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SparkSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly service, cool place”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had the meat & cheese tasting platter (large) washed down with local wine and fine local craft beer. Excellent food & drink in a prime location opposite the duomo.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouisianaGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Retro Bar also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing