We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Ristorante Tre Marchetti
Ranked #138 of 1,214 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: US$62 - US$94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Calver, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

It couldn't be better located for the arena, and therefore booking is essential- especially to eat outside. The service and welcome are exceptional and the food is very good. We had fish, which was exceptionally fine. The food is not gastronomically exceptional, but it is class. And the wine recommendations were excellent, and not used as an opportunity to rip us off. Prices are high, with a 15% service charge to be added! But if you are making an event of visiting the opera, there can be few places to match this. The welcome and service alone will get you in the mood for a special evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    251
    89
    42
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were looking for a special restaurant for a birthday meal but were told that most restaurants in Verona would be closed on Mondays. Fortunately Tre Marchetti was open, and completely outshone our expectations. Everything was perfect - the restaurant itself is beautiful with murano glass wine glasses and artistic blue plates. The menu is extensive and features a lot of traditional local dishes along with a 1200+ bottle wine list! The waiters were very smart (wearing bow ties), extremely polite and friendly, spoke perfect English and were very happy to guide us through the menu. We were never rushed but the service wasn't slow either - our glasses were topped up without us having to ask and we didn't wait for long between courses.

I took a gamble and ordered pasta stuffed with pork as it was a local dish, even though I'm not usually very keen on either. The dish was one of the best I have ever tasted - perfectly cooked pasta and very soft pork. The only comparable pork I've had was at a 2 Michelin star restaurant, which will hopefully give you an idea of just how good the food was at Tre Marchetti!

The pudding menu changes daily (a good sign of fresh food!) and we ordered mille-feuille and an apple tart. Once again, exquisite presentation and both dishes were so delicious that I really did savour every mouthful. We were also given a large plate of (free) petit fours before and after dessert which was a lovely surprise and great fun to taste and compare all the different pastries.

Yes, the price was considerably more than the very touristy restaurants with overly zealous salespeople trying to drag customers in, but the food and atmosphere aren't comparable to those types of restaurants! The food, service and wine (house Prosecco) were all perfect and the total cost was significantly less than an equivalent meal would cost in London or many places in the UK, especially when the petit fours are added in. There was also no service charge added which was a welcome change from other restaurants we visited in Italy, and the service was easily the best we experienced on our holiday - the waiter looked genuinely delighted when we told him how much we were enjoying the food and experience.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Tre Marchetti!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank London201314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coconut Grove, Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hustlers on the move”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Young lads filled with testosterone hustled us from the get-go. Overcharged us for a bottle of wine by 12 euros, AND also placed unordered item (water) on the bill. Come on now, we Americans can't be that dumb not to read our bill. Give me a break. Food was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank larryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent choice when visiting Verona”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is very unique with long history spread all over the walls with old photos of owners and founder, the restaurant offered many kinds of local dishes, I went for the lamb, the plates are very nicely styled in a bit more contemporary way.. its a pricy one but worth it for romantic dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liorsusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent traditional food and service”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This restaurant presents itself exactly as it is: a setting for traditional food served in a traditional local manner. The attention to detail is evident throughout, with operatic music as the aural backdrop, exquisite bespoke tableware, furniture designed specifically to enable service of some of the sprawling typical local meals and somewhat rustic decorations. The effect is charming.

The service was extremely attentive, prompt and friendly even though their English was limited. Don't come here expecting stiffly formal fine dining, come because you want to eat Verona's food, Verona's way. One of the star dishes was the boiled meats platter, which was served with some banter and fanfare by the manager, and enjoyed thoroughly. The wines were capable, including the popular local Amarones. The prices were very reasonable. We had an outstandingly fun night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexbrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Tre Marchetti also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Tre Marchetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing