We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great wines”

Ristorante Tre Marchetti
Ranked #145 of 1,212 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: US$62 - US$94
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great food great wines”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Open also after the opera so one can enjoy after midnight eating with class, creative menu, excellent choice of wines.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aleardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    251
    89
    42
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really convenient for the opera”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The food was very nice but I felt it was overpriced and the wine was outrageously expensive. A Michelin star restaurant in London is no dearer. I realise because of its position in relation to the opera it is going to be expensive but I feel it was just too over the top.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north london
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, superb atmosphere and attentive staff”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We sat down to dine after the opera, at about midnight. The restaurant is seconds away from Gate 1 so it is in a wonderful location. Service is spot on. The menu is extensive and the Parma ham and melon is " historic".....for the main course we chose the liver with onions, just melted in the mouth. Wine list is vast and caters for all tastes and pockets. The added bonus, if one were needed ,is that members of the opera cast drop by and the staff sing too. We left at 0200.....after a supper to remember. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harpendenscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hothfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what it seems?”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A group of us reserved a table for dinner in early July. This is an attractive restaurant in the heart of Verona. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Our first course was excellent, some of the finest Parma ham that I have ever tasted, served as thin as tissue paper with a beautifully ripe melon.

We were served our main course. As there were several of us, a wide choice from the menu was chosen amongst us. Then the food really took a turn for the worse?

Fish and meat was served smothered in a cornflour type pasty sauce resembling what could best be described as a "cheesy custard". In fact every meal had this type of thickened sauce poured over it.

The food was barely luke warm as if it had been sitting around or just warmed up in a microwave. (I cannot verify this as fact but this is how it seemed at the time).

None of us enjoyed their main course so we did not order any deserts. We were entertained by a male and female singer, pleasantly singing various operatic songs to recorder music.

This was nice and allowed for the sticky paste engulfing the food, to gradually be digested

Some of us left food entirely untouched on the plate as it was unpleasant but no member of staff even inquired if we were happy or unhappy at what was presented. Obviously they simply didn't care.

The establishment will add their 15% service charge to your bill, so allow for this when considering any form of tipping.

One of our guests suggested they give up singing and take up cooking lessons?

I would describe this restaurant as a typical "Tourist trap" thriving on those who enter.


I would suggest that before visiting this restaurant, consider the many others in this beautiful City.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calver, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

It couldn't be better located for the arena, and therefore booking is essential- especially to eat outside. The service and welcome are exceptional and the food is very good. We had fish, which was exceptionally fine. The food is not gastronomically exceptional, but it is class. And the wine recommendations were excellent, and not used as an opportunity to rip us off. Prices are high, with a 15% service charge to be added! But if you are making an event of visiting the opera, there can be few places to match this. The welcome and service alone will get you in the mood for a special evening.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Tre Marchetti also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Ristorante Tre Marchetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing