We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A bit noisy from the main road in front, but when windows are closed is ok.
Delicious food.
Extra 2 euros (per person per night) Verona State Tax on check out.
Friendly stuff.
Very close to the central railway station, 15 min walk to the town center.

Room Tip: A bit noisy from the main road in front, but when windows are closed is ok. Delicious food. Extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hristaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you: next time we will reserve to you a room on the other side of the hotel!

See you soon!
Barbara Agos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned from 3 day trip to Verona through Groupon, staying at the Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro. Have to say we were a bit worried by some of the reviews but they could not be more wrong.
The foyer of the hotel is pristine, the receptionists wonderful and helpful. We had room 322 at the rear, whist it did not have a great view it was quiet, clean and comfortable. Cleaed every day with new towels if you wanted.
Breakfast was great, plenty of selection and eat all you like, although one day they did put a bit too much salt in scrambled eggs, Service here was excellent.
Dinner whilst a bit pricey (hotel rates) was delicious.
We did feel sorry for the barman as he also had to serve the restuarant therefore was a bit slow, but not his fault. I would assume in busier periods he would not have to double up. If not then there is a potential problem looming.
A 15 minute walk into Verona itself, it is a stunningly beautiful city, everything is within walking distance - we did not bother with hop on hop off bus, but if you do not like too much walking well worth your while. Remember to get a Verona card - this allows entry into all major tourist sites - well worth the 15 euros for 2 day pass(20 euro for 5 day).
Transfer from airport to main train station and back very effiecient (6 euros each, each way - but every 20 mins) - No more than 10 min walk to hotel.
Mamma Mia restuarant in Piazza Bra (Main square), very good food and very reasonable pricewise. Again exceptional service.

Room Tip: Ask for rear of hotel for quietness, Front of hotel facing busy road and canal so could be more nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nostrodamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you Thank you Thank you !
We appreciate so much your comment.

Many potential customers sometimes are afraid about some unpleasent opinion someone wrote about our hotel.

We say: please come and try by yourselves !

Best regards,
Barbara Agos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If arriving at the Leon d'Oro from the nearby railway station (Verona Porta Nuova) on foot, do NOT try to approach it from the right hand (W) side of the 6-lane Viale del Lavoro which runs past it. It's more than a kilometre to the next safe crossing point (I measured it on Google Earth). Turn right out of the station, walk past the 2 filling stations, make sure you cross the road BEFORE you go under the railway. Then go through the archway under the building with the blue "Fedrigoni" sign, and you're home and dry. Not that they get many visitors on foot, it's a large business hotel, but out of season we paid less for three nights in a double than we had for two nights in a very average Venice B&B. Excellent facilities, great breakfast, an ambitious if expensive restaurant, the centre of Verona is 20 minutes walk away. Only gripe: the room was much too hot (28 deg. C), because it was "winter" the air con had been switched off. But luckily we slept well with the window open as there was very little noise from the deserted factory behind the hotel.

Room Tip: If the rooms are too hot and the air-con's off, try to get a room at the back (E) so that you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBM056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you so much for your comment.

I hope to could have you once again as our guest,better if during winter, in view to could maybe appreciate our "warm" ambient.

Nice day

Barbara Agos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

good points:
-10 minutes walk from station, easy to find
-nice lobby, truly beautiful materials used, woodwork is a feast for the eyes
-everything seems new
-all staff 100 % ok
-great happy hour finger buffet, all for us and 2 other clients. yummy.

but:
-traffic noise in rooms facing street (don't know about other side)
-a/c switched off during our stay (central unit, and there were few guests, so economies put before our and others' comfort)
-the only place to sit outdoors is in front of the hotel, a 10 meter wide strip with 5 chairs or so, and bordered by a big canal flowing fearsomely fast (and noisily)
-bath temperature and filling-up control apparently require a PhD in hydraulics...attention has been given to looks rather than to practicality

conclusion: we stayed here for 2 nights mainly because other 4/5 star hotels in Verona quoted us fall-off-your-chair prices (and out of season at that). Next time we'll do some more research. (Our own TripAdvisor reading-up did not prevent a less than positively memorable experience this time).

note this is a perfectly ok hotel, but it is not a place we'll return too... in the very city of R&J something more romantic must exist at the price we paid

Room Tip: have a degree in bathroom hydraulics and need some practice? go for room 224...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovaniensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear customer, thanks for the comment always appreciated.

I wish, in any case, to clarify for those who could read your review some few things :

From the rooms facing the main street you do not hear the noise of the machines, but rather the sound of the atificial river that runs alongside the hotel. Despite the soundproofing, a slight rustling comes anyway. The "Canale Camuzzoni" has a very strong current and for this reason water creates noise. Someone likes it, as it seems the sound flowing water of the sea. However, I understand that someone can be annoying about it.

I have identified the cost of your stay and, in my opinion, for a structure like our where in addition to the rich breakfast buffet service in the room you have wi fi, sky programming access and a nice courtesy line complete of slippers for free, it's really convenient and unique (I don't write it for elegance and privacy).

If you can find an hotel at the same rate, which can provides comfort and superior services you will really be "great magician person " ! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here on our honeymoon. Only booked our 2 night stay the night before following our original hotel being cancelled last minute. We were impressed with the grand entrance and beautiful seating area on the river.
The breakfast was fantastic with enough choice for everyone.
The room was very clean but less grand than the reception area.
The staff were brilliant, even helping us to contact our car company to discuss an issue.
Would certainly recommend.
10 minutes max walk to train station with luggage and 15-20 mins walk to city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annajanehigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thak you a lot and - please - come soon back !

Best Regards,
Barbara Agos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

pros - the hotel is conveniently located near the station, has an excellent breakfast buffet, very good bathrooms with a tub, quient ambience and surrounding, gives u a good feel of four hotel, less expensive than other 4stars near the station like best western firenze, etc..

cons - its a good 15 min walk to verona arena, will not get the feel of being close to the centre, horrible hospitality from the staff, rooms are small compared to other 4 star category..we stayed with a 3yr old kid; one extra crib in the room and there was absolutely no room to walk from one side to other side of the bed.... we arrived at the hotel and we were not given any information about the city..despite we asking them the response was blighting....we got a 20% discount from venere other would have gone with hotel verona..

one should look at hotel verona, etc which might be a 3 star but would be at the centre..
the town is just beautiful and so different from dirty rome....

Room Tip: rooms facing the river is quite nice to have since you can have a nice to face the river first thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVARAVIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you Sir for your comment.

It's Always precious to read feed back of our guest.

About the dimensions of our rooms I suppose you're accustomed to staying in luxury hotel since our standards are as many as 24 square meters. In addition, we also offer de luxe and suites up to 50 square meters. Clearly, the price varies according to the desired width.

It is strange you had a bad impression of our staff ... if you read the next comment another guest wrote they are fantastic ... but of course everyone has their own parameti f evaluation and it is understandable the change of subjectivity of each individual.

We hope to can do better next time, if you ever need to return.

Best Regards,
Barbara Agos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Good points: Near the station; 20 mins walk from centre; big comfortable bed; english language movies on tv; great breakfast.
Not so good: ludicrous wi-fi system, hotel not easy to find despite spotting it from the train as we arrived.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseo L, Direttore at Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Many thank you for your comment.

We appreciate it and I inform you that we will soon improve the road signs to reach our hotel from the Station.

Best Regards,
Barbara Agos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novo Hotel Rossi
Novo Hotel Rossi
#13 of 77 in Verona
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#23 of 77 in Verona
638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#25 of 77 in Verona
816 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Hotel
#40 of 77 in Verona
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro

Address: Viale del Piave 5, 37135, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range: £62 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ròseo Hotel Leon d'Oro enjoys an excellent location in the heart of Verona . Located near the most important monuments of this wonderful city, rich in history, culture and art.The Ròseo Hotel Leon d'Oro of Verona is a bright hotel with large open spaces and high-quality furniture, where the light illuminates the pale marble columns and shines in Murano glass chandeliers. The Ròseo Hotel Leon d'Oro of Verona has 190 rooms decorated in a very elegant style and equipped with every modern comfort. The guests will find their bright colors, the intimate and refined details of their interiors, but also the convenience and functionality of available facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Leon d Oro Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing