We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star price but not 5 star service”
Review of Due Torri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Due Torri Hotel
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Due Torri for a week. We had stayed previously, my wife as far back as 40 years ago. Unfortunately the hotel has changed ownership several times and the sumptuous splendour has been largely stripped out. The front desk staff are particularly unfriendly. If you stay at a "Leading Hotel of the World" for a week, they should know your name when you pick up your key twice a day. Instead not a smile.
In contrast the staff at the bar are old school. Excellent. Indeed I would recommend non-residents to stray in to have a drink and bar snacks.
The room was clean and attractive. The sheets are linen. This is supposed to be a luxury but I found them scratchy. The marble bath was also clean and well-maintained.
Overall the Due Torri did not live up to its reputation. On my next trip I will search out a new boutique hotel that is trying harder to please the 5-star luxury customer. At this price level the service should be consistnently stellar.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a good view of the church but are smaller. If you ask for a big room you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 February 2014

Dear valued Guest,

many thanks for having shared your comments on the Trip Advisor and we have taken good note about all your comments that will support us in improving our level of service and quality of the product more and more.
Should you come to Verona again, we will be all more than pleased to give you our best support,

Cordially,

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were in Verona traveling with the superb Martin Randall to see the operas. our hotel was the Due Torri. It was the most delightful hotel. Our room was spacious, sympathetically furnished with good furniture, beautiful drapes and a most comfortable bed with pure linen sheets and contoured pillows. The bathroom was similarly well appointed with thick towels, bathrobes, toiletries and all spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was taken in a light airy room looking out onto the piazza of St Anastasia. Everything was as you would wish it, the staff were attentive but not overbearing, and reception could not be more helpful, and with a great sense of humour. The terrace on the top of the hotel is a must for a sundown drink.
This is a hotel that I would definitely return to. It has the ambiance, the style and a great location.

Room Tip: All are good, we had a back room with no view but it was very quiet , which is what you needed after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 330SandraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2013

Dear valued Guest,
we would like to thank you for your kind review regarding the Due Torri Hotel. We are happy to read that you have spent beautiful days in our pleasant Verona and that you have well appreciated the services of our Structure and the courtesy of our Staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Due Torri Hotel on a next occasion, Cordially,

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here last opera season with my wife, it's our anniversary. We've been coming back to Verona every year to watch the opera but never stayed in this hotel since now because theres no more availability in the other hotels. When we arrive it's all confusing everybody's running and busy noisy, i think theres a large group that arrived before us. We were accompanied going to the room by someone hard to smile. then when we were in the room its all dark and furnitures are old and that small pieces of the furnitures are falling down. During our first day I saw details of the room are dirty it seems housekeeping need to work harder. The hotel have a nice view on the roof top. Thats it. next time no more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drake A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2013

Dear valued Guest,
the Due Torri Hotel is really sorry that your stay in our Property hasn't been up to your desires. In order to make the Hotel more comfortable and advanced, our Property has started a series of important actions. We hope to have you again as our welcome Guest on a next occasion and we'll be pleased to show you directly the improvements we are making.

Looking forward to welcoming you personally again,

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Due Torri (Two Towers) hotel is part of a "Due Torri Hotels" upscale 'chain' in Italy. This stay was part of a Tauck Tour - they usually book a best or better hotel in a city, such as the Gritti Palace in Venice, so expect it to be pricey. It was very comfortable, excellent service, elegant throughout, old-world on purpose. It's located in the old city, adjacent to the Sant Anastasia church, and within easy walking distance to many sights in Verona, including the Adige river. It may be somewhat distant to the Arena for some folks, but at age 75 I didn't find it too far, especially when you can stop, sit, have a snack and drink or gelato at so many places along the way. We only had breakfast there twice, which was very nice buffet style, but no other meals. The roof top area has excellent views.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2013

Dear valued Guest,
thank you for your kind review dedicated to the Due Torri Hotel. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful experience in Verona and in our Property. We hope to have you again as our welcome Guest, so you will be able to enjoy not only the exclusive Panoramic Terrace but also our Restaurant on top with a dedicated Grill Menu or a refreshing Italian cocktail while admiring the beautiful view.

Many greetings from Verona,

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I loved our stay at the Due Torri in Verona. It is very close to all major tourist attractions, (nothing is really far in that lovely city) and is both comfortable and cozy. Our room, located on the second floor and facing a side street, was not very large, but very well furnished and well decorated. For the first time in ages I did not have to ask for additional hangers. Our bed linen was truly outstanding; perhaps the best quality I ever had. We found the breakfast table well furnished and everything was of very good quality (hams and other cold cuts were excellent). There were only two minor things we did not like: (a) the inconvenience of having to renew our (free) wifi password every 24 hours and (b) the fact that the shower did not have a courtain but rather a glass screen. We had dinner at the hotel once and food was excellent. The front desk personnel was cooperative, courteous and helpful. An excellent choice.

Room Tip: The square facing the hotel may be a bit noisy sometimes. Get a room in the upper floor or facing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan Javier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2013

Daer valued Guest,
we are happy to know that you lived wonderful days in Verona and at Due Torri Hotel, that recently completed an extensive renovation and now has a beautiful balance of classic Italian styling with all of the modern technologies discerning travelers would expect in a luxury hotel. We hope to have you again as our welcome Guest! Greetings from Verona!

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We agree with most other reviewers that the accommodation; air-con and in particular the staff were all five star but the breakfast was disappointing as there was almost no variation from one day to the next. And despite there being plentiful and varied fresh fruit available in all the shops every day it was the same : unripe Melon, Kiwi and Pineapple . Also, for some inexplicable reason the hotel seems to think that its guests should mill their own muesli!
The roof-top restaurant was extremely expensive, as was the bar, and the menu too biased towards big meat dishes. Lifts wait times could be quite lengthy.
Location was fine as Verona is walk-able from everywhere but it is not close to the Arena.
The ambience of the whole place was classic Italian so could be too old fashioned for some.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are those overlooking the internal courtyard but they don't afford any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2013

Dear valued Guest,
the Due Torri Hotel is really sorry that your stay in our Property hasn't been up to your desires and we've taken good note about your comments, that will help us in improving more and more.. We hope to have you again as our welcome Guest on a next occasion and we'll be pleased to show you directly the improvements we are making.

Cordially,

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Magnificent lobby, very nice rooms, well appointed, spacious. excellent air conditioning, which is needed in summer and early fall, when we visited. Very nice hotel, said to be the best in Verona, but we didn't see other hotels. Good location, easy walk to several of the squares in town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2013

Daer valued Guest,
thank you for your kind review dedicated to the Due Torri Hotel. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful experience in Verona and in our Property. We hope to have you again as our welcome Guest, so you will be able to enjoy the exclusive Panoramic Terrace, with a breathtaking view of Verona’s many treasures, including the Lamberti Tower, the Duomo, the Church of Saint Anastasia, S. Peter’s Castle and the Torricelle Hills and the Roman part of the city. The Panoramic Terrace is a special location where welcomed guests will have the opportunity to taste an inviting buffet dinner during the summer season or just enjoy a refreshing Italian cocktail while taking in the amazing views. See you hopefully next in Verona, Cordially,

Giovanna Fongaro
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#19 of 77 in Verona
754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,185 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Due Torri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Torri Hotel

Address: Piazza Sant'Anastasia 4, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Verona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range: £134 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Due Torri Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Due Torri Hotel is situated in the historic centre of Verona near the church of Saint Anastasia, as stone’s throw from Juliet’s famous balcony, Piazza Bra and the Arena, known throughout the world.The superb quality of the furnishings and the professional service are highly valued by its illustrious Italian and international clientele, making it the most renowned five-star hotel in Verona.The Hotel - hosted in a XIV century palace, named “Dell’Aquila” - is numbered among the historical dwelling house of the city and it’s member of “The Leading Hotels of The World”.Among the services offered by the structure, Due Torri Hotel is authorized reseller for Fondazione Arena di Verona, with the possibility to buy the tickets for Opera Festival directly by the means of our concierge or booking office ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Due Torri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Torri Baglioni Verona
Due Torri Baglioni Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing