We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Open door #3....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Relais della Locanda
Ranked #119 of 421 Verona B&B and Inns
NJ
Level Contributor
410 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
“Open door #3....”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

and you will be charmed by the style and details inside that makes this room so unique. The tapestry in the bathroom is tastefully decorated with cute monkeys picking berries off of leaves. The spacious shower and massive shower head are a nice touch along with the red marble vanity in the bathroom. Immediately exiting the bathroom, you will find a bench to relax your feet and a closet to stow away your luggage. The sitting area across from the bedroom has nice green wood paneling accented with sage green lined wall paper above. Two comfy chairs with a table and lamp are across from your closet, hidden behind green painted doors that match the walls.

The bed is a King with comfy sheets and nice Sky TV that doubles as a mirror. Wow, the windows are beautifully decorated with fabrics that drape to the floor. Come in and see the veranda....what a beautiful garden! The view can be enjoyed either standing or sitting in the white chairs with table. How cozy!

Breakfast was simply amazing. Vittoria was such a doll serving us croissants, yogurt, fruit, and freshly brewed cofffee/ espresso. We truly felt like royalty staying here. She also provided us with a US adaptor. Thank you for the exceptional service!!!!

If you're looking for a local supermarket/wine shop, make a quick left out the door, and first left on 7 Via Manin. Eurospar has everything you need. This was our pit stop for wine and water.

This is the only place you should want to stay in Verona!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EscapeChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

There are already so many superlatives on this wonderful bijoux place to stay that it almost seems pointless to add to it. But Il Relais deserves the praise, as it is like nowhere we have stayed before.
Imagine a single floor of a beautiful, well-situated old building that has been renovated in a stylish , slightly sumptuous way. On that floor are 4 gorgeous rooms off a long corridor, a small curtained breakfast area and a small meet and great reception area. And that is it.
You are checked in and then by late afternoon, the staff member retreats and you and fellow guests are left to your own private haven. On the nights we stayed, it was so quiet that we thought we must be alone in Il Relais and were shocked to see other guests at breakfast. You don't even hear a door close or a voice.
Breakfast is served on cute china and set out in a charmingly whimsical way with local produce. It is a continental breakfast but all the better for that, given the abundance of lunch and dinner venues outside the door.
Finally, the staff. We were cared for and I mean, cared for, by the wonderful Valentina, for whom nothing is too much trouble. She greets you, gives you all the information you could ask for and even serves breakfast as though you are a favourite friend in her own home.
It is impossible to think of anything negative to say. Staying here makes you long to come back to Verona.. in fact, we would be prepared to go to ANY city if Il Relais was there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fresiandaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

It is very rare that one can say they had a perfect stay, but we did here. From start to finish, our expectations were exceeded. Vittoria was so genuine and very helpful. She couldn't have been nicer and really went out of her way to assist us. She even went so far as to visit a lavandaria (laundry mat) before recommending it to us to ensure they had self service available. She made us a scrumptious breakfast in the morning and on our last day, she packed us up a nice "to go" breakfast, since we had an early departure for Venice. Speaking of the breakfast, they served market fresh fruit, quality mountain fresh yogurt in a jar, toast points with jam, croissants filled with a touch of marmalade, and more. It was definitely a more elegant experience than most hotels offered in Italy. I wouldn't say the selection of breakfast foods was any better, but it was of higher quality.

We stayed in suite # 3 with the large verrandah. It was the biggest room and shower we had of the five hotels we stayed at on this trip to Italy. Don't think because the rooms are a good size this is a family oriented place, however. It definitely seems better suited for those seeking romance. The suite we stayed in is beautifully furnished with modern touches, like a big TV with Sky that doubled as a mirror. Plenty of closets and shelves, and high quality toiletries from Milan. The location could not be better. You are across from the castle and the arena is just a five minute walk. There is also a supermarket with a nice wine selection just around the corner.

If ever back in Verona, this is my place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I couldn't be happier with my choice of hotel in Verona. Il Relais lived up to my expectations and then some.
The rooms are gorgeous - beautifully furnished and decorated and spotlessly clean.
The breakfast is superb and the attention of the staff was excellent - special mention to Valentina standing in for Alice, who was wonderful.
The location is superb, and as you're staying in one of only four rooms, it really does feel like you're staying in a private villa, not a small hotel.
Treat yourself - you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: Worth the extra few euros for a superior room (rooms 2 & 3) room 3 is quieter and faces the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have all stayed at large hotels before - this was different. With only 4 beautifully decorated rooms situated some 200 metres from the centre of Verona and opposite the Castelvecchio, you are effectively staying in someone's home. Alice Bordin could not be more charming and helpful in accommodating your stay in this delightfully decorated, very italian bed and breakfast. The rooms are totally up to date in their appointments, yet she has contrived to allow her guests to immerse themselves in all the charisma Italy has to offer. After waking to a lovely mid morning breakfast, served by your hostess, you are left to your own devices, which is unusual for staying in an 'hotel', but somehow it bothered my wife and I not at all; we simply relaxed into the informal atmosphere that is proffered. For a couple staying several days in and or around Verona, I could not recommend this more highly. Try also Alice father's restaurant, just adjacent to Il Relais. Superb.

Room Tip: Room number 3 overlooks the gardens and has a lovey veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The location of this wonderful place is a short walk to the historic town of Verona. At first I seemed the place was not in a good condition but immediately changed my mind on entry. Francois welcomed us and gave us a tour of the place. We had a spacious double room and the use of a communal room for coffee and international TV. The whole place was clean and well presented, breakfast was continental but lots of fresh fruits and breads with cold meats, a full selection of cereals were also available. With the weather being good, we ate in a well presented garden and the Italian way of life was understood. The view of the church was stunning and the garden very nice to sit in sipping coffee or wine. Rated as a B&B but would compare this to a **** star place. Staying again next year!

Room Tip: Car parking is 100 mtrs away in underground secure parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwk10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We arrived late the first day due to the traffic from Milan, but Alice welcomed us with a smile and showed us everything we need to know about our room. The room was very beautifully decorated and functional, there is even an iphone speaker/charger.
Next morning breakfast was served with fruit, juice, yogurt and brioche in a gorgeous breakfast room.
Thanks Alice for making our stay comfortable, my two kids love this place too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Relais The Gentleman of Verona
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Verona House
Aparthotel Verona House
#48 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
#27 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Arena
Relais Arena
#38 of 421 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera Relais de Charme
Opera Relais de Charme
#2 of 421 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Relais della Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Relais della Locanda

Property: Il Relais della Locanda
Address: Corso Castelvecchio 23, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 421 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Relais della Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing