We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully Appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Relais della Locanda
Ranked #95 of 418 Verona B&B and Inns
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautifully Appointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

It took us awhile to actually find this wee gem even though we had the address and GPS. It does not directly face the main street but is set back a few steps. It is located at the intersection just prior to Castelvecchio. There is a fruit vendor located just outside the door of the Relais.

Behind the plain door you can either climb the stairs or take the elevator to the second floor where you will find four beautiful rooms - they are almost like an apartment. Our two large rooms ( #1 & #2 ) with sitting areas both faced the main street just as we had requested. The windows were great in that we did not hear the traffic at any time. There was plenty of wardrobe space, a safe and mini fridge. And the beds were so comfortable. The representative was very friendly, informative and helpful as she got us settled and explained that this was more of a B&B than a hotel.

On the upper floor resides the two ladies who own the building and had this B&B constructed in the old building to meet the guidelines set out by Relais. You will not be disappointed ! As the other two rooms were not occupied we were able to set our own times for breakfast - which I might add was wonderful. Homemade croissants, yogurts, jams, toast, fresh juice, cappuccino, coffee, tea etc.. She also made dinner recommendations for us in a restaurant located on the main floor of the Relais. It was a great choice and I would recommend it as well.

I would stay at this Relais anytime I return to Verona - it is so centrally located and close to Piazza Brar. The "hop on - hop off" bus stops just outside the door (both routes A & B) which makes it so easy to see the entire town. And if you have a car there is an additional cost for parking space which is located away from the Relais.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noseworthys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived a little frazzled in Verona to find a beautiful and comforting room at Il Relais, and a warm welcome from Federica. Great location and ambience. Room 3 has delightful enclosed verandah. Only negative is restaurant kitchen below slamming doors at late hours but thats a minor niggle in what is a little haven.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloudbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Il Relais, directly across from the imposing Castelvecchio and centrally located, is comprised of four stunning suites in Renaissance luxury on a single floor of a private apartment building. Each suite is unique and gorgeous. Number 3 has a glassed rear balcony extending 25 feet that looks into a verdant garden between two palazzos. Unbelievably tranquil.

A filling breakfast of fresh yogurt, seasonal fruits from a nearby market, homemade croissants with large selection of condiments, plus delicious morning coffee is served in a jewel box of a room.

The owner, Alice, is a lovely young woman of refinement. She speaks very good English and will see to every arrangement and is full of ideas to make your stay perfect.

I cannot imagine a more fitting accommodation in Verona.

Room Tip: You cannot make a mistake. See the web site. The photos are very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coxwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Delightful and intimate first floor B&B. Just 4 rooms but beautifully done and a great location opposite the Castle and just a short walk from Piazza Bra. It was like having our own apartment - through a discreet door, off a cobbled street. Cristina was very welcoming and provided a lovely breakfast. Though she doesn't live on site, that didn't bother us as we are fairly independent travellers and don't require a lot of on-site support. Will definitely return the next time we visit Verona

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Clair22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A truly unique guest house. Wonderful position. Very warm welcome, delicious breakfast, nothing too much trouble . One downside is that you are unable to leave your bags there after you have checked out if you have an evening flight. Easily rectified by leaving at the station, a short taxi drive away.

Room Tip: Room 4 is slightly tucked away by the breakfast room. Gorgeous view of the river and Castelvecchio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Came here after staying in the depths of the Lombardy countryside in an Agriturismo. Having been amazed by Mantova just down the road we parked outside and were met by Cristina. What a hazen of peace and comfort Il Relais is!! Amazingly comfortable room with wonderful bathroom and the decor delights and intrigues. Lovely breakfast and the delightful Cristina gave us excellent advice on where to eat and go in this lovely city. Everything is an easy stroll away. We ate in the Locanda below where her husband is the chef and had an amazing birthday meal. This is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in and would very highly recommend. Its like staying in the beautiful house of a friend!

Room Tip: We were in room 3 that has a lovely veranda along the side of the room that overlooks greenery and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Relais is a great bed and breakfast within walking distance of all the city sites in Verona. Francoise is great and makes you feel at home. The rooms are spacious with high end features like a large shower and bathroom and decent space on a normal room. The superior room is large and away from the other rooms so can be very private. The units we were in were air conditioned. As the hotel is off the main streets, it is pretty quiet. The hotel is not in a ZTL and there are places to park near or across from it if you have a car. This place was one of my parents favorites in all of our 3 week Italy trip. The breakfast is great if you can get it out in the courtyard and they supply free filtered water and beer. If this is in your price range, it truly is a great place to stay and you will feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Relais The Gentleman of Verona
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Verona House
Aparthotel Verona House
#51 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
#29 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#5 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Relais Arena
Relais Arena
#34 of 418 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Opera Relais de Charme
Opera Relais de Charme
#2 of 418 in Verona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Relais della Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Relais della Locanda

Property: Il Relais della Locanda
Address: Corso Castelvecchio 23, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 418 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Il Relais della Locanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing