We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel for a first visit to Verona”
Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Accademia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably the best hotel for a first visit to Verona”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We paid 410 Euros a three night stay to celebrate our 41st anniversary. As we arrived by taxi from the station two or was it three staff greeted us and took our luggage. This copious availability of service continued throughout our stay. Care was taken not to disturb us when in the room, but we generally found things we'd asked for done whilst we were out. Decor, design, ambience is all there. There are reading lights for the bed - an increasingly rare detail of importance to us. Opening the window let in the hubbub associated with the main shopping thoroughfare in Verona - but on closing it vanished. Breakfast was copious - though the toasting machine needs more attention than it should, and the bread and pastries are not as oven fresh as one might hope for. Our one niggle was the quality of the biscuits provided with tea in room: clearly not home made and of plastic consistency. Getting Earl Grey tea proved hard, but this was in part due to the general difficulty people had in understanding english. Best to write down clearly what you want to avoid problems. The hotel is perfectly placed to explore the delights (new for us) of Verona. Wonderful even for twice the money.

Room Tip: Communicate your wishes clearly in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronansleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    522
    78
    9
    4
See reviews for
266
890
100
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2011

very clean Hotel staff at the reception are helpful,the breakfast is very good,location wow on the midle of the old city.I will be back sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmss2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I booked this due to it's number 1 status and was left somewhat disappointed.

The location is excellent, the room was very good, price was OK, the Sri Lankan staff were lovely but I found the reception staff really quite unfriendly and at breakfast was served the worst cup of coffee I've ever tasted, it was changed immediately but I was just left with the impression that everything was just a litlte bit too much trouble.

Due to the majority of the other reviews I can only assume that either something had upset the staff prior to our arrival or for some reason we had.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Our group stayed one night after skiing in Val Gardena, wonderful city, great hotel and they really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Booking restaurants, taxis, airport transfers. Perfect last night in italy!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bortonoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
130 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I recently stayed at the Accademia during a business trip. The location was very central, and convenient for restaurants/site seeing etc. The hotel itself was spottlessly clean. My room was of reasonable proportions, but with no view (the shutters were in the closed position when i arrived - for a reason!). The breakfast was OK - nothing more. I sampled the free internet service but it was so slow as to be virtually unuseable (took about half an hour to check-in for my flight). The hotel was pretty quiet at night with little noise permeating from the outside (I wonder whether it would be the same in the summer?). The biggest problem I had was with the uncomfortable bed/pillows, hard, scratchy bed linen and inability to get any cool air (the fan was stuck on hot whatever setting I tried) which meant that I had a near sleepless night. The 'hot' water for the shower was only lukewarm and had little in the way of flow. So only OK in my book.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The hotel Accademia is by far the most beautifully presented and professionally run of all the four star hotels we have had the pleasure of visiting in Europe. The only bad thing I can say is that it made all our subsequent accommodation pale in comparison. Our first complement must go to the staff, who are the most professional we have met after a month in Italy. It was a wonderful surprise to find that everyone at reception spoke fluent English and had a terrific customer-focus. I genuinely cannot speak enough about this aspect. From the gentleman who greeted us at the door and walked us to the garage to the lovely people at reception who attended to all our touristy demand, the maid who taught us how to use the TV and the waiters in the breakfast room; I have never seen a team work so effortlessly to make a guest feel so welcomed. A big "Thank You!" if any of you are reading.

We were a group of three and booked two separate rooms. The single room (#269) was beautifully decorated and very comfortable for any solo traveller, but even it paled drastically in comparison to our grand double room (#266) which contained a lounge and separate dining area, a large screen television, high-tiled bathroom with jacuzzi, multiple large wardrobes, a controllable thermostat and skylight. The exposed wood beams and high quality wallpaper greatly added to the room's elegance.

The hotel's common areas include a bar, library/reading room and free wireless internet is available throughout the hotel. The speed was sufficient for email but videos did take a while to download.

Location was absolutely central in terms of shopping and only a short walk to the Arena, Verona's centrepiece. Parking was unusual as it was in a separate building a few minutes walk down the road. The cost is an additional 23 Euro per day and you must request an attendant accompany you to access the car (this is not available from midnight to 7am). This was not really a problem as Central Verona is not at all car-friendly due to its narrow streets and intense pedestrian traffic. Walking is preferred.

We did have a peek into other rooms as they were left open for change-over and found most to be quite spacious (though none as large as ours), and all with the same tasteful and comfortable furniture. Perhaps the only reason why this is not a five star hotel is because of the average room size, but then again, we have stayed in many five star rooms which were much smaller.

We would recommend this hotel to both couples and business travellers. A very comfortable stay indeed.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We many times stopped in hotel Accademia Verona, and each time it was very pleasant. The fine, elegant numbers, convenient beds, a tasty breakfast, very precautionary personnel which helped to solve all our problems.
It is hotel which has an especial atmosphere!
There it would be desirable to come back again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnaYatsenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#5 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Property: Accademia Hotel
Address: Via Scala 12, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Accademia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia si trova nel centro storico della citta di Verona, tra la Piazza Bra con l'Arena, che nel periodo estivo diventa capitale della lirica e la Piazza delle Erbe con la casa ed il balcone di Giulietta, famosa in tutto il mondo per l'opera di Shakespeare. Facilmente raggiungibili anche tutte le mete del divertimento posizionate nel vicino Lago di Garda.L'albergo e dotato di 94 camere, 6 sale riunioni, american bar e servizio di video sorveglianza interna. Il confort, l'atmosfera, l'efficienza del servizio accolgono nel modo migliore il cliente d'affari ed il turista piu esigente. Pur essendo l'albergo situato nel cuore della citta in zona a traffico limitato, l'accesso ai veicoli dei nostri ospiti ed a quelli degli accompagnatori e consentito senza alcuna limitazione di orario, attraverso semplice comunicazione del numero di targa della vettura al nostro personale di Ricevimento al momento dell'arrivo. Il nostro garage privato si trova a cento metri dall'hotel.The Accademia Hotel is in the center of Verona. Well placed on the via Mazzini, the hotel is in the heart of the exclusive shopping area of Verona, conveniently positioned between the Bra Square and the Arena. Nearby is the Erbe Square and Giulietta's House with its legendary balcony. The hotel has 94 bedrooms, 6 conference rooms, American bar, and internal video surveillance service. Our management takes pride in the comfort, atmosphere and efficiency of service offered to all guests, whether in Verona for business or pleasure. Although the hotel is situated in the heart of town inside the limited traffic area, access to vehicles of our guests and to those of accompanying persons is allowed without any limitation of time, through simple communication of the car plate number to our Reception staff on arrival. Our private garage is located a hundred meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing