We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaubleep is right - so so”
Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Accademia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I must admit that just as I was about to write a review, I started reading the rest and then I realised that my experience completely mirrors beaubleep's below. Great location, walking distance to every major attraction (and there are a lot, Verona is a Must see in Italy for me now), all the staff that are from South Asia (Sri Lankan is my guess too) are absolutely service - oriented and friendly but always in that professional manner that one looks for in good quality hotels.
I wish I could say the same about reception staff: When we checked in, I thought I was quite unwelcome at the hotel - I mean if first impresisons especially count in Service-related industries, then on a scale of 1-5, this was a 1 at a stretch. In fairness, the experience did imporve the next few days but Gosh that was a dissapointment especially given our experience in Venice with the Ruzzini Palace.
Rooms are definitely dated, need renovation for sure. Having said that, I guess that a lot of the buildings in the historical centre must be listed so I would give the benefit of the doubt to the Hotel for not doing that as of yet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LT-Planetwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,850 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2011

Great central location.. very efficient but not overfamiliar staff ( I like that) .. great breakfast . Seems to attract a civilized and charming clientelle.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyvernWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stayed for 1 night. Free wifi is not available. Good location, just 5 mins walk to Juliet's House. Surrounded by High-street Shopping.

Room Tip: Best Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PkWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

TA reviews are a bt like a snowball, once people start raving about a place, more people choose it and you get loads of reviews where the bad ones are lost in the average, so guess what, we statyed there too!

One review had it as a place with little character and they are right - in a city of so much of it, this hotel has been renovated according to the typical 4-start handbook. It really is a tidy place and very clean - a credit to the staff who say good-morning whenever you bump into them on corridors and stairways that this place has a lot of.

The rooms are well sized and well appointed. We were on the 3rd floor that meant we had a lot of light that is actually a challenge in a city that has buildings quite close and all of a similar height; guests further down on the side streets would probably find it quite dard.

We didn't eat in the restaurant - there are plenty nearby, but breakfast was good and the staff attentive. Didn't use the bar either (and it's a bit of an odd layout in the lobby area and personally, I think they should make the bar/lounge area a lot larger and bring it forward to get some life in the place - it was always deserted).

Overall - a good 4-star hotel that, becuase of the size, doesn't reward you with personal sevice, but in a city like Verona, you're using it for the room, so be adventurous. Glad we picked it becuase in the area there are a few to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Avios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Hotel location was brilliant, you are a few moments walk to the main centre and attractions of Verona, lovely restaurants, cafe's and bars are close by. (ladies don't bother with the heels on the cobbled streets, bad idea!!)
We went to the Accademia Hotel for a special occasion and the hotel really did get us the best room possible, very grande and traditional, just what we wanted, it wasn't a cheap price we paid but well worth it for the location and standard.
Breakfast was a great start to the day and the hotel staff were very helpful with recommendations and directions etc.
Above average for a city centre hotel, I would love to return for a little longer next time as this was just a 1 night stay from Lake Garda and will definitely advise my travel customers to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We paid 410 Euros a three night stay to celebrate our 41st anniversary. As we arrived by taxi from the station two or was it three staff greeted us and took our luggage. This copious availability of service continued throughout our stay. Care was taken not to disturb us when in the room, but we generally found things we'd asked for done whilst we were out. Decor, design, ambience is all there. There are reading lights for the bed - an increasingly rare detail of importance to us. Opening the window let in the hubbub associated with the main shopping thoroughfare in Verona - but on closing it vanished. Breakfast was copious - though the toasting machine needs more attention than it should, and the bread and pastries are not as oven fresh as one might hope for. Our one niggle was the quality of the biscuits provided with tea in room: clearly not home made and of plastic consistency. Getting Earl Grey tea proved hard, but this was in part due to the general difficulty people had in understanding english. Best to write down clearly what you want to avoid problems. The hotel is perfectly placed to explore the delights (new for us) of Verona. Wonderful even for twice the money.

Room Tip: Communicate your wishes clearly in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronansleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

very clean Hotel staff at the reception are helpful,the breakfast is very good,location wow on the midle of the old city.I will be back sure.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmss2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#7 of 77 in Verona
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#25 of 77 in Verona
764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Address: Via Scala 12, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £104 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Accademia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia si trova nel centro storico della citta di Verona, tra la Piazza Bra con l'Arena, che nel periodo estivo diventa capitale della lirica e la Piazza delle Erbe con la casa ed il balcone di Giulietta, famosa in tutto il mondo per l'opera di Shakespeare. Facilmente raggiungibili anche tutte le mete del divertimento posizionate nel vicino Lago di Garda.L'albergo e dotato di 94 camere, 6 sale riunioni, american bar e servizio di video sorveglianza interna. Il confort, l'atmosfera, l'efficienza del servizio accolgono nel modo migliore il cliente d'affari ed il turista piu esigente. Pur essendo l'albergo situato nel cuore della citta in zona a traffico limitato, l'accesso ai veicoli dei nostri ospiti ed a quelli degli accompagnatori e consentito senza alcuna limitazione di orario, attraverso semplice comunicazione del numero di targa della vettura al nostro personale di Ricevimento al momento dell'arrivo. Il nostro garage privato si trova a cento metri dall'hotel.The Accademia Hotel is in the center of Verona. Well placed on the via Mazzini, the hotel is in the heart of the exclusive shopping area of Verona, conveniently positioned between the Bra Square and the Arena. Nearby is the Erbe Square and Giulietta's House with its legendary balcony. The hotel has 94 bedrooms, 6 conference rooms, American bar, and internal video surveillance service. Our management takes pride in the comfort, atmosphere and efficiency of service offered to all guests, whether in Verona for business or pleasure. Although the hotel is situated in the heart of town inside the limited traffic area, access to vehicles of our guests and to those of accompanying persons is allowed without any limitation of time, through simple communication of the car plate number to our Reception staff on arrival. Our private garage is located a hundred meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing