We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, met all of my high expectations”
Review of Accademia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Accademia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Rabat, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, met all of my high expectations”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Great location right in the middle of the city center. American style big breakfast, not a small, carb-heavy Continental breakfast. Rooms were bigger than most that I've seen in Italy, and it was a real bathroom/toilet, not the Eastern style. Service was great, and we were very satisfied with our experience there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    534
    78
    9
    4
See reviews for
268
919
106
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We were delighted with the comfort, service and accommodation at this hotel. It is very well located in the centre of the old city and is easy walking to all attractions. The restaurant associated with the hotel was really fantastic, with excellent food [including vegetarian option] and very helpful and well informed staff to advise on wine choice. There are plenty of other good restaurants within easy walking distance, and the main shopping street is close to the front door, linking the Liston to the P.delle Erbe.
Do not miss the opportunity to visit the Castelvecchio.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghStucam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

I rang a week in advance to a) request a non-smoking room, after reading reviews here and to b) ask if they knew any romantic places that might be a good choice for me to propose to my girlfriend.

The hotel staff rang straight back with a list of brilliant suggestions. So helpful.
And then, when we turned up, we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite. A-mazing.

The whole weekend was an incredible experience, made much, much better than anything I could have imagined by the lovely staff, and the surrounds of a fantasic hotel.

And, I can confirm, that she said yes...

I would recommend this hotel without question. Pricey, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malvinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

In a sentence: Just book this hotel, you wont regret!. It is an elegant 4 star hotel in the prefect location for sightseeing.

When the travel agent told me about Accademia, it sounded a bit like a student hostel! But ignore their name, this is an elegant 4 star hotel. Often in Europe 4 star hotels are more like 3 star, but this one is a *real* 4 star hotel. Also, the room layout was different, we had a HUUUUUGE Bed and ours had a luxury sofa in there. Plenty of space for opening suitcases. Our room was on the 1st floor and it had bars on windows, but I overlooked this as our room decor was simply amazing!. Certainly, after staying in Thailand resort hotels, it is not easy to get impressed by a hotel room, but this one managed it.

There was moden flat screen TV, but you could not get many English channel aside from the News. All the Italian hotels, I stayed in don't put kettles for tea or coffee making facilities. There is CCTV everywhere.

BREAKFAST: This was a good standard breakfast as you will expect in any 4 star hotel.

STAFF: The staff are very good and they answered my emails quickly. Also the tourist office are helpful via email.

INTERNET: The hotel provides free Wi-fi. However, I experienced problems. The Hotel has a couple of PCs for internet access in the lobby (horray!). However, they have Italian keyboards with Italian version of Windows. So all the Windows commands e.g. 'file' 'open' are all in Italian. So I wish the hotel would have PC with British keyboard with an English version of Windows. Also, these PCs could do with re-installation as guests have installed rubbish. These PC are connected via wireless, which made then crawl. I gave up. They do provide free Wi-fi for devices and you go to reception to get receipt with username / password / token. However, I was unable to connect the Blackberry using Wi-fi. Perhaps the hotel should contact their IT people and ask them for instruction (with screenshots).

HOW LONG TO STAY: We stayed in Verona for a day, As the hotel is in perfect location, we managed to see everything of Verona in a day. You can get a map from the tourist office or the hotel reception.

SIGHTSEEING: Plaza Ebbe is just 2mins away, Juliets house is 3 mins away and the Roman Arena is 10--15mins walk. Also, at night time, you will see Italians promanading, they will walk from Plaza Ebbe to the roman Arena and the ice cream shops are full!. However, do check for concerts at the Arena, as when I was there Alexa Dickson was in concert. If I had known I would have bought tickets!. The Arena is a perfect open-air venue! They do an open air Opera in August, don't miss it (I am not a fan of Opera,but it is a must see - check the Vids on YouTube!).

SHOPS: We were there on May 1st, which is Labour day (holiday in Italy), we were worried shops and museums would be shut, but everything was open even on the Sunday. Even the Museums only charged a bargin 1 euro due to this holiday.

DRIVING: I picked up the rental car from the airport when leaving Verona. You don't need a car to see Verona, in fact a car is a burden and a pain. You can explore Verona easily by foot. So you can save a days rental. On my return journey, I did try to drive in Verona but I found it hard, but there was traffic, finding a parking spot was a pain and you can accidently end up in bus lanes (and end up with fines!). Even though I had been driving for a week in Lake Garda, I did struggle a little in Verona.

DRINK: You will see lots of people trying out an orange colour drink. This a Spritz Aperol, do try it it is very good!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flashback1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The Accademia is located right in the heart of Verona's centro storica. It is less than 5 minutes walk to either the Piazza dell'Erbe (market and Torre de Lamberti) or the Piazza Bra (Arena). Luxury brands, clothing shops you will only find in Italy and exciting discoveries like Luxury Vintage are on the doorstep.

Rooms: possibly the most scrupulously clean room I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was large. The beds were, as is the way of Italian beds, harder than the traditional British bed, but not uncomfortable. The window was not large, but we were not in the room during most of daylight hours, and the shutter effectively kept out any street/churchbell noice.

Breakfast: Contained most of the elements you would expect in a continental hotel breakfast offering, but most was out of packets, rather than fresh. It was acceptable but not great.

Staff: Were extremely helpful and friendly.

Facilities: Free wifi, tea and coffee in the lounge in the afternoon, a bar (although we never saw any staff there!), umbrellas when it rained,

To sum up, although nothing is missing from the Accademia's offering, it is too bland to be charming, too business like to be romantic, too large to be boutique. If you want a hotel that will tick all the boxes, go here. If you want somewhere really special, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

The Accademia is a mid-sized hotel (90+rooms) right off the Via Mazzini, between the Arena and the Piazza dell'Erbe. The hotel staff is efficient (if not particularly warm), the rooms are well laid out, the breakfast is ample and quite good. My single room was quite small, but of course this is typical in European hotels. However, it would have been nice if there were a real closet (armadio) OR a real set of dresser drawers.
The lobby is cozy for reading, and the "American Bar" is a pleasant place to have a drink and some snacks. Most of the guests were individual travelers, with one or two nights with groups, who may have been there for the opening of the symphony season.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalophileNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The hotel exceeded our expectations. We arrived from Munich via train which was a spectacular rip and easily found a taxi at Verona station. The Hotel was less than 5 minutes from the station and very centrally located in the heart of the old city amongst lovely restaurants and designer shops.
The Front office staff were efficient and friendly although I suppose a little formal.However our room ( a junior suite) was quiet, spacious and very clean and comfortable. The extra bed for our daughter was a little small but ok for a few nights
There was free internet using the Hotel's computers and the breakfast was fairly typical consisting of the usual cold meats, scrambled eggs, toast and cereals
Highly recommended
Chris --Perth Western Australia

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswalsh365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
2,229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#15 of 79 in Verona
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accademia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accademia Hotel

Property: Accademia Hotel
Address: Via Scala 12, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Accademia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Accademia si trova nel centro storico della citta di Verona, tra la Piazza Bra con l'Arena, che nel periodo estivo diventa capitale della lirica e la Piazza delle Erbe con la casa ed il balcone di Giulietta, famosa in tutto il mondo per l'opera di Shakespeare. Facilmente raggiungibili anche tutte le mete del divertimento posizionate nel vicino Lago di Garda.L'albergo e dotato di 94 camere, 6 sale riunioni, american bar e servizio di video sorveglianza interna. Il confort, l'atmosfera, l'efficienza del servizio accolgono nel modo migliore il cliente d'affari ed il turista piu esigente. Pur essendo l'albergo situato nel cuore della citta in zona a traffico limitato, l'accesso ai veicoli dei nostri ospiti ed a quelli degli accompagnatori e consentito senza alcuna limitazione di orario, attraverso semplice comunicazione del numero di targa della vettura al nostro personale di Ricevimento al momento dell'arrivo. Il nostro garage privato si trova a cento metri dall'hotel.The Accademia Hotel is in the center of Verona. Well placed on the via Mazzini, the hotel is in the heart of the exclusive shopping area of Verona, conveniently positioned between the Bra Square and the Arena. Nearby is the Erbe Square and Giulietta's House with its legendary balcony. The hotel has 94 bedrooms, 6 conference rooms, American bar, and internal video surveillance service. Our management takes pride in the comfort, atmosphere and efficiency of service offered to all guests, whether in Verona for business or pleasure. Although the hotel is situated in the heart of town inside the limited traffic area, access to vehicles of our guests and to those of accompanying persons is allowed without any limitation of time, through simple communication of the car plate number to our Reception staff on arrival. Our private garage is located a hundred meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Accademia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing