We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you ask for.....”
Review of Novo Hotel Rossi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novo Hotel Rossi
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a clean, well run and friendly hotel that is located 5 minutes from the main railway station Porta Nuova Verona. Although the hotel is located near the station you do not need to take a taxi there as it is easy to locate and definitely not a difficult walk, even with a suitcase. If you don't like night walking then this bit may not work - a taxi might be the answer. Either way this is a diamond of a hotel and well worth considering.

We took an airport bus 6 Euros pp from the main airport to the Porta Nuova Verona train station. You purchase the ticket from the machine by the bus stop, it is a bit confusing at first but don't panic as it is all written in English. Twenty minutes later you are at the train station and then a 5 mins walk. No need to take a taxi.

The friendliness and knowledge of the staff on the reception desk made our stay there all the more enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and well cared for. The Shower panel (in the bath) was a bit of a challenge but no problem once you got used to it!

The breakfast they served was excellent. With very fresh fruit, cheeses, ham and breads plus some croissants, cake and real coffee! All included in the room tariff.

Good to note: Walk back to the Train station and the Buses into town are located at stand A. The day buses numbers change their at night after I believe 9.00 o clock. The trip into town takes around 5-8 mins. You can walk it but no need as the buses are fairly regular. Also you can purchase a day ticket or a one trip ticket(s) from the reception desk.

We also took trains to Venice (wonderful, but very busy in the main areas) and Vicenza (fabulous and a great place to visit) all very dooable....and actually that was also the nicest thing about being based at the hotel - we would not have made these trips out of town if we had been based in the centre (well at least we think we would not have done so). We purchased our train tickets from the automatic machine (also in English) - although I expect we did not get the best price. However, the queue was long to purchase tickets from the ticket office. If you can and have time then buy them the night before. Don't forget to validate them before boarding the train (there are machines on every platform).

The Hotel also offered a shuttle service for those attending the Opera which was a nice touch and they again were very helpful in pointing this out 5 Euros pp each way - well worth it as it ends late. (The Opera season is now over, so not sure if that continues for other events ending late?)

The downside is that you are not in town to wander out to eat. There really is nowhere to eat in the area. (or at least that we found). We got buses all the time but you can arrange for the hotel to call a taxi.

Thanks to the staff and we will return!

Room Tip: at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

A level 5 min walk from the station, this hotel is a travelers gem. Arriving about midday from Venice we were greeted with smiles as if we were the only guests arriving today (we were not!),offered a cappuccino while our rooms were finalised and given 5* treatment throughout our stay.
Any query of ours as to 'how to...', 'where should we,,,', 'can we....' was treated with expertise and professionalism. we even managed last minute tickets to a concert at the Arena thanks to the staff organising everything for us including a shuttle bus to take and bring us home at 1am (Concerts have a late start!!)
Room was very comfortable and clean with a plate of fresh fruit and also turn down service at night :)
we were at the front but there was no street noise at all.
Breakfast was substantial too.
A wonderful city to walk around easily, there is a lot of history and beautiful buildings in tact. A huge choice of restaurants and cafes and unlike Venice, it not clogged with tourists.
I would recommend a day trip to Lake Garda (or longer if you have time). the train takes about 20 mins and then it's a 15 min walk to the ferry for a choice of trips around the lake...well worth it :)

Room Tip: Our room at the front on the 1st floor was perfect...shutters can be used to block out light/sound i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel has 3 stars however the service is 5 stars. Rooms are clean and comfort. Hotel is located within 5 minutes walking distance from railway station.
Free wifi is available only for 1 hour a day. Perfect to stay for 1or 2 nights. The breakfast is exeptional with real espresso and everything is fresh and constantly replenished. Unfortunatelly no storage box is available in the room. Good connection to the city center - Bus station in 5 minutes walking distance. it takes 10 minutes to reach Arena di Verona - nice choice for those, who came to listen to the Opera festival (like I did).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mashunja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel is very near the train station of Verona, which was exactly what my husband and I wanted, since we travelled around Italy by train. From there, it is a 20-minute walk to the historical centre of Verona, but it is a very pleasant walk. The staff is very friendly and breakfast was the best we had in Italy. They sell a travel guide of Verona at the front desk, which cost us only EUR 3.00, and was extremely helpful during our stay. For those who like to go cycling, the hotel also offers bikes for rental, free of charge, but we preferred to visit the city on foot. The room was very clean and neat, although perhaps a little too small. The size of the room was not a problem for us, since we each carried only one medium piece of luggage and spent just one night, but people travelling with more luggage and staying for a longer period might have a harder time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LASA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel has 3 stars however the service is 5 star. The staff are always smiling, professional, helpful and polite. The breakfast is exeptional with real espresso coffee and everything is constantly replenished and the breakfast staff should be commended as well. Housekeeping even turns your your bed at night and leaves a chocolate on your pillow. The rooms are a good size, well thought out, comfortable and very clean. The location although not in the centre is very good as its a 5 minute walk to the bus stop which is next to the train station and a 5-7minute bus ride into Piazza Bra. We also went to lake Garda by train and it only took 15 minutes. Overall we found our stay here very comfortable and would recommend it. We have stayed in 5 star hotels and not had service like these lovely people gave us.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The staff were welcoming and pleasant and offered local information. The hotel is clean and breakfast had a variety of products all fresh and well presented. It was suggested we get the two day Verona pass €15 a must if you intend on visiting a lot of the sites (there is also a 5 day pass €20) We managed to see all the major sites gaining entrance at half the cost if done individually. Verona is a lovely place to visit and I hope to go again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Recently returned from a 3 night stay, as a city break before 8 days at Lake Garda. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the railway station (which is where the airport bus deposits you!). We chose to stay here as we wanted to be close to the station (to make day trips easy) and were looking for value for money (the city centre costs more!) Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and we checked in very quickly, even though we were over an hour before earliest check-in time. The room was very clean and wonderfully cool (40 degrees outside!!) and came complete with nice little extras; slippers, razor, toothbrushes etc and also fresh fruit and tea and coffee. Breakfast was good and was refreshed quickly as necessary. We obtained a WiFi code from reception and this worked instantly and well .. and was free! (unlike a lot of British hotels). The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the city centre, which is normally fine but as it was sooo hot on one occasion we did use the bus from the station (which is adjacent to the railway station), 'Hop on - Hop off tour buses also leave from here. Buses from the bus station go not only into the city centre but also to Lake Garda and beyond, and trains frequently connect to Venice and Vicenza to name but two. We went to Vicenza (as we had visited Venice previously) would really recommend for a day trip, lovely architecture.

Room Tip: We had a double superior room for 3 nights, which was lovely and gave us a 15% discount - great valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiJoRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.5 mi away
Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 78 in Verona
2,406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 78 in Verona
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novo Hotel Rossi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novo Hotel Rossi

Address: Via delle Coste 2, 37138, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £51 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novo Hotel Rossi 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novo Hotel Rossi, with its very convenient location, is the perfect residence for guests arriving in Verona or leaving the town by train (we are located just 200 mt from "Verona Porta Nuova" Railway Station) or by plane (a shuttle bus to the airport is available from the Porta Nuova Station) as well as for guests travelling with their own car (the hotel can be quickly reached either from A4 Motorway Milano-Venezia - 4 km - or A22 Motorway Modena-Brennero - 7 km - and it provides a private closed parking place free of charge).The Novo Hotel Rossi is only 1,5 km far from the city centre (20 minute-walking-distance) and 5 minutes walking from the railway station, where the urban buses are available to easily reach every part of the city. Verona Fiera convention center is a 10-minute drive away.The 38 standard or superior rooms, carpeted with hypoallergenic materials, are provided with TV SAT and SKY channels, minibar, hair dryer and internet connection.The rich buffet-breakfast is served in 2 breakfast-rooms and, during the summer, also in a large verandah.Besides the free closed private parking, a garage is available on request and on payment. By the front-office, where a professional and helpful staff is always at your disposal, you will have the possibility to use a safe deposit service which is free of charge and, during the "Opera Season", a tickets service on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novo Hotel Rossi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novo Hotel Rossi Hotel Verona
Novo Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing