We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yelena from Chicago US”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #39 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yelena from Chicago US”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have cancelled the Hotel reservation in the Center of Old City Verona, because we did not like that place. Not knowing anything about Hotel Italia, we have found it in the New City, which is in 10-15 minutes of walk from the Old City. Marina - the young women on the front desk helped us a lot! She gave us a great room, and told us how to move our car to the garage. Taking into attention that it is a big problem almost everywhere in Europe, we were extremely happy! The room was clean and big, in addition, the Hotel had Sauna and Jacuzi! Breakfast was reach and great! The price was more than reasonable! Fabulous place to stay! Highly recommended. It is not far from the Old Center of Verona.

Room Tip: You will not a mistake booking this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    162
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
69
117
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Desk staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was terrific, massive choice and all delicious
and plentiful with lots of fresh fruit. Reception and dining areas pleasant and relaxing, only
complaint there is no free wi-fi. Room a good size and everything we needed, all working.
About a 10 minute walk to Centro Storico, quite a pleasant walk but you wouldn't want to do
it too often. It's on a bus route so probably best to check that out if staying any length of time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank richardcarlpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed in the hotel one night out of desperation because of a failed reservation from Hostels.com, this hotel was advertised as a special value in a pamphlet of TrenItalia and I fell for it, not realizing how far away was from the city center and all forms of transportation that did not include a car or taxi.
There are plenty of other hotels at a better price.
Service was ok but nothing to really impress me.

Room Tip: Dont get the street room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Italia for just one night before flying from the Verona airport. I was looking for something not too expensive since it was an opera night, and we just basically needed a place to sleep. The hotel is about a fifteen minute walk to the main attractions in Verona. This may be inconvenient for some travelers, but Verona is a pretty city, so not really a hardship. In fact, we got lost returning to the hotel in the dark and saw many unanticipated sights. It was nice that you didn't feel unsafe, even lost and in the middle of the night.

The public areas of the hotel look very nice and our room was huge and had been recently redone in what I would call a "shabby chic" kind of look. The bathroom was very modern, however, when you flushed the toilet there was a terrible smell of sewage that permeated the entire room. I could detect this smell outside the hotel as well, so they seemed to have some plumbing issues. Also, the water from the shower sprayed out when you used it, flooding the floor. This seemed to be a problem more to do with the position of the shower head. The A/C had to be turned on by the desk staff and they didn't ask us if we wanted it on, so we spent quite a while trying to turn it on before finally figuring that this must be the case. Wi-Fi is not free, I think it was 4 Euro/day. The mini-fridge in our room did not work.

Also, there was issues with the desk staff taking forever to do whatever they do with your passport in Italy. My husband sat there, waiting, for over half an hour while the desk staff talked to each other and did nothing with the passports. Maybe this is a North American thing, but I do not like having my passport out of my sight. On the other hand, the evening/ early morning desk staff called us a taxi, got us a wake up call and handled the check out in a timely manner.

We left at 5 in the morning, so we did not have the breakfast but the room where it is served looked very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was out 6th one night stop as part of a 2 week European driving holiday. The room was spacious and very clean but had a slight musty smell and was slightly dated especially the bathroom. Parking was underground and secure. Check in staff could have been a bit more pleasant during our stay. Walk to Verona centre along river was enjoyable.

We went to Mameli pizza restaurant near the hotel for dinner and this was excellent. The major flaw of the room is that we had both woken up in the night as the room was unbearably hot (we did not experience this anywhere else during our 2 week stay despite similar temperatures)! The AC did not work so I had to open the blind door which created a lot of road noise and didn’t particularly cool the room down!

There was lots of choice at breakfast but not particularly fresh or inspiring. Overall and average 3* hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_C007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hotel Italia was better than we expected. 15 mins easy walk to the Arena, we used it as a base for our opera visit. The room was basic but clean, bed and pillows very comfortable, very effective blackout blinds and virtually no sound from the road outside, resulting in two nights of very good sleep. The bathroom was clean and only let down by the shower - it is positioned in such a way that you have to soak the floor to get under it properly. Staff were very pleasant and allowed us to check out late, and we liked the choice available at breakfast, I felt quite satisfied as a vegetarian.

A big plus for us was the hotel garage where we left our hire car safely for 12 euros per night. There is a supermarket a few doors down the street, which is ideal for stocking the hotel fridge.

In short, it was functional and value for money for a trip to the opera. I would stay here again for the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieDuncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#27 of 79 in Verona
599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#26 of 79 in Verona
429 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Hotel
#41 of 79 in Verona
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
1.1 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#29 of 79 in Verona
789 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brandoli
Brandoli
#44 of 79 in Verona
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Goffredo Mameli 58/66, 37126, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Italia is a delightful three stars hotel a few minutes walk from the city center in Verona, also very close to the hospital Borgo Trento. In the summer we offer bicycles free of charge. All our rooms are furbished in a modern and comfortable style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing