We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find another hotel”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #40 of 79 Hotels in Verona
mochalina
1 review
“Find another hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Not as central as they say. Terrible service. Air conditioning is terrible. Room not as displayed in photos - VERY BASIC. We are not picky travellers but the service here was terrible and no smoking room smelled like they had a 1000 smokers in there. There are other hotels right in the heart of the city, close to attractions... stay at one of those.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    151
    78
    23
    9
See reviews for
64
115
29
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Our air conditioner not only had a minimum of 20 celsius, but it was broken. The manager argued with me downstairs before even agreeing to check, and then argued again even though he admitted it was warm. The beds were terrible, everything was old and the top quilt was dirty. The windows were broken off hinges and I got a deep cut from it coming off the hinge. Insects were crwaling all around outside because they never used pest repellant. Everything about this hotel was terrible. DO NOT STAY HERE NO MATTER WHAT.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sotaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

This hotel represents good value for money in an expensive city. It isn't the place you'd want to stay for a romantic break or family holiday but is ideal if you're there for a city break/sightseeing trip.

Located about 8-10 minutes' walk from the historic centre of town , the hotel is in a great location from which to reach all the sights. There are shops and cafes nearby, with a good little supermarket just a few doors up the road.

The public areas of the hotel are pleasant and the staff friendly and English-speaking. My room was small and my bathroom even smaller - both of which I'd expected from reading other reviewers' comments - but comfortable, pleasant and clean. There's no in-room internet, kettle or satelite TV - just the main local channels - and no 24-hour room service, although room service breakfast was available. None of those things were on my list of requirements so I didn't miss them, but I'm mentioning them here because many people would want or expect those things.

The breakfast buffet was great. I don't often enjoy hotel breakfast buffets but this one was well organised, offered a good range of choices and was fresh.

The restaurant opens for dinner in the evenings and has a good menu, including some local specialities. It's reasonable value for money (comparable prices to those in the UK currently) and the food is good and nicely-presented. There is a cheaper daily set menu, which I didn't try but which looked like very good value. The waiting staff were pleasant and attentive.

I was very happy with my choice of hotel. It was good value and suited my needs perfectly. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

After spending 7 days in the most beautiful 1-star hotel imaginable, I was incredibly disappointed to see the room at the Hotel Italia. As is usually the case on arrival the hotel lobby was fairly pleasant and clean. After getting into the tiniest lift to our floor we realised that the hotel was in need of updating.

The decor was shabby in the hallways and the room itself was dreadful. The room, which was supposed to be a double although we had asked for twin mattresses, was tiny, barely big enough to move around. The carpet was stained, the room was warm and as the window led onto ground leve, it was risky to leave it open. The bathroom was not as bad although some of the grouting was black. Luckily we were only there for two nights and out until late both days so did not have to spend too much time in the room itself.

  • Liked — The lady eceptionist was helpful and pleasant.
  • Disliked — The state of the room!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagpuss65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladivostok, Rusland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Just an ordinary 3* hotel. Not close to downtown - half an hour walk. Ordinary amenities, and a very expensive parking.

  • Liked — a good hearty breakfast, really good for 3*
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey_Buzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We booked a 4 person room for 170E. Since most other hotels were sold out, this was a pretty good deal.
The suite had 2 rooms: one with 2 adjacent twins, and one with 2 separate twins.
The hotel is about 10 minutes to the bridge and about 5 minutes more to the center.
The people are very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were clean and very quiet but had a very dated look/feel.
The hallways were crap and smelled like smoke.
Parking was 12E, but they told us we could park on the street out front for free (safe neighborhood, so that's what we did).
The breakfast was very nice: 4 types of meat, rolls, croissants, cheese, cereal, fruit, etc... They even let me raid the kitchen at night since everything else was closed and I was starving.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2004

This hotel is just ok, and definitely not worth the amount we paid to stay there (during Verona's busy Opera season). Though the room was quite large, it resembled a 1970's Howard Johnson. And worse, it reeked of cigarettes, in fact, the entire hotel did, and there were no non-smoking rooms available. The staff was sort of indifferent and reluctantly helpful when we needed any assistance. The location is ok...it's quite a walk to the city center, but we didn't mind the walking. The free internet service was a plus, but I don't know if that would be enough to compel me to stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank KMSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#26 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#36 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#29 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Hotel
#39 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#23 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Property: Hotel Italia
Address: Via Goffredo Mameli 58/66, 37126, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Italia is a delightful three stars hotel a few minutes walk from the city center in Verona, also very close to the hospital Borgo Trento. In the summer we offer bicycles free of charge. All our rooms are furbished in a modern and comfortable style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing