We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accomodation, nice staff and great location”
Review of Hotel Torcolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Torcolo
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adequate accomodation, nice staff and great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed two nights last week as a couple travelling with our adult Daughter. We had a double room on the 2nd floor, our Daughter a single. Our rooms were more to the back of the hotel so we had no street noise at all.

The family owners were lovely, very helpful to us and went above and beyond to accommodate us on our checking out day as in offering us a place for our luggage and the use of their facilities as long as we needed to after check out. Also directing us to nearby reasonably priced parking once we had checked out of their car park which is underground away from the hotel itself.

The location is beautifully central and I suspect this is how they can ask rather more than we would normally pay for basic hotel rooms with no luxuries such as; no hospitality tray, minibar or complimentary bottles of water. The bedroom furniture is old fashioned and the décor rather tired and the bathroom needed modernising as the tiling was old and tired. The bed linen was very clean but one of our sheets had a hole in it.
Breakfast was very basic with only one type of cereal offered, some bread a few cold cuts, orange juice, tea or coffee.

The staff is lovely and friendly, the main attraction for us really is the 2 minute walking distance from the arena. I would probably visit again for this reason. Finding the hotel by car is a challenge due to the one way system and our sat nav. was of no assistance in actually finding the location. Our Daughter had to leave us in the car a couple of streets away and set off on foot to the hotel and get instructions on how to get in by car. This is a point to note.

Not sure about a recommendation, one has to take the positives of this hotel which is really its central location. Any traveller looking for a luxury hotel should look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and we had no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    200
    46
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
243
42
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Quirky rooms but with modern comforts and conveniences including WIFI. Receptionist staff very helpful with directions and sight seeing destinations.
Situated 5 minute walk to main piazza , restaurants , the arena etc and close walk to most tourist destinations in Verona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This family run hotel provides good levels of comfort and very friendly service. It is very close to The Arena and other notable attractions as well as a range if quality restaurants. Locating the hotel by car needs a little preparation as the one way roads provide a high degree of challenge...but the destination is well worth the effort!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in June 2014. A very friendly welcome. Walking down the lane beside the hotel gave us the surreal discovery of so many restaurants with the backdrop of the collosseum.
A perfect location for exploring the centre of Verona. Surrounding streets were noisy at night, but double glazed windows meant we slept soundly.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had 2 nights staying here. The rooms were cool (it was massively hot outside!), quiet, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - not like you get at one of the major chains, but this is a family run establishment and it was more than sufficient.

It was so nice being 2 minutes walk from the Arena and close to all of the bars and restaurants.

This hotel was recommended by very picky friends of mine (!) so I knew it would be good. And it was - excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanW_Ealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here 20 years ago and loved it. We returned this summer based on our happy memories and the good reviews. Unfortunately the owner does not appear to have done any repairs or decorations in the intervening period and the hotel rooms are now drab and shabby. The breakfast is pretty basic too. The location is of course still perfect, and our stay was enjoyable, but for the price, I would expect a great deal more. Hopefully it will one day be restored to the wee gem that it once was.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The ladies who own the hotel are extremely kind, the staff is friendly and courteous, the hotel is very close to the Arena, but that's not enough to turn it into a desirable hotel. Our room on the third floor, despite the double windows, was so noisy that it felt like a having a bed placed in the middle of the street (cheap double windows? who knows!); the air-conditioning was erratic; the cupboard rickety. The bathroom was unsuitable even for a low-income tenement building with two pathetic little body wash to be used in a shower that could not even stand on its rod. Breakfast is made of some yoghurt, a basked of croissant, a few cuts of bad cheese and a few cuts of even worse sausages. If you like a noisy room with two bed tables inherited from your grandmother and two little ceramic holy water stoups on the wall, and pay 180 euro for all that, Torcolo is your hotel. Otherwise you'd better advised to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariomi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#10 of 79 in Verona
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#47 of 79 in Verona
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
2,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#35 of 79 in Verona
1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#7 of 79 in Verona
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torcolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torcolo

Property: Hotel Torcolo
Address: Vicolo Listone 3, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Torcolo 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Torcolo, traditional family hotel, is located in the historic center of Verona, a few steps from the "Arena" the Roman amphitheater, home to summer opera festival and from the balcony of Juliet .The hotel has a lift and 24 hour Front Desk and GarageAll our rooms are: non smoking, with private facilities en suite with shower and hair-dryer; all rooms are with TV with CNN and BBC news, direct telephone, air conditioning /heating, fridge with safe and Wi-fi connection.The owners, Silvia and Diana, and the staff Caterina and Riccardo will be happy to welcome and provide you with all the information you may need to sightsee the town.Feel free to ask them to book restaurant, opera tickets, visit in a museum or provide you information and timetable of trains and buses to reach the neighborhoods.In this gracious Hotel in Verona, you will be greeted by the friendly and professional service to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Torcolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torcolo Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing