We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay at the Hotel Mastino again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mastino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mastino
Ranked #36 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Sussex, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'd stay at the Hotel Mastino again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

Convenient to reach from the station and for all Verona's historic attractions - especially the Arena. We stayed in the "dependence", an annexe of the main hotel in a side-street about 2 minutes away on foot. This seemed a bit quieter than the hotel proper and was right next to the best Southern Italian retaurant/pizzeria in Verona - Marechiare. Though we were not in the main hotel the staff were very helpful - the broken TV in our room was replaced within a couple of hours of our mentioning it to Reception. The dependence itself seems to have been recently redecorated and our room was quite spacious enough for two - although we could have used a comfortable chair. The bathroom seemed to be pretty new, everything worked and it was cleaned and serviced every day with fresh shampoo etc and towels. The breakfasts were pretty good - lots of the usual bread, cheese, cold meat and croissants but also a wide selection of fresh fruit. The coffee was better than usual as well. For the price this is definitely a hotel to consider if you want the centre of Verona.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris99traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    489
    216
    72
    47
See reviews for
206
494
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

I have stayed at this hotel six times and only because the location is unbeatable and it is very easy to get to and from the railroad station.--about a 12 minute walk or a four minute bus ride. It is clean--the rooms are small although the bathrooms are a decent size and huge in proportion to the room. The staff are not particularly friendly--you come in , you check in and that's it. not at all welcoming .and certainly not helpful. answering a simple question is a big deal for them. It is located right next to a mcdonalds which is very nice w/ kids. I think the price is high for what you get, but again, you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

2nd visit to the Mastino, this time stayed in their apartments; wonderful spot next to the river yet only a 2 minute walk to the Arena.
Friendly staff could not do enough to help us from the moment we arrived until we checked out - we plan to return again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cozanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Hotel Mastino was a very good hotel and a great location. It is a short walk from the Arena and shopping. They had a very good breakfast and the staff was very helpful and spoke English. We purchased the indoor parking for $15 a day. The garage and entrance to the hotel was around the corner from the main building down a small street or alley. The garage was a pain to get in and out but it was right across the street from our hotel entrance. The room and bathroom were both very acceptable and we had many TV stations to catch CNN or the BBC. They were generous with the shampoos and soaps in the bathroom that is not so common in Italy. The bathroom also had a built-in hair dryer. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la rochelle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

quiet rooms in the very neighbourhood of historical aera, very generous breakfast, classical and clean accommodation

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

I had a very pleasant stay dispite the fact that ....... I had lost my passport, travel documents and wallet on a flight to Milan , I was booked on a cruise leaving Venice in 4 days time the Australian Embassy in Milan was closed for Easter . The manager was very understanding and organised for me to extend my stay till the Tuesday when I could take the train back to Milan. Having been forced to travel solo I was very pleased to feel so secure in this little haven I even recived room service of a half bottle of wine (only 4 euros) to clam my gangled nerves.. good location for the sites and cafesof Verona and walkable from the station but bus at door if you have luggage .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneySydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We walked the 10 minute journey from the Train Station and were greeted by friendly staff and a porter who was very helpful. On check-in we were taken across to our room in an annexe just across the road. It was clean and roomy and had all the required facilites including safety deposit box. We had no noise problems at all. The location could not have been better, not even 50 yards to the main piazza where the Arena is located. Very easy for popping back from any point of the city. We caught a train to Lake Garda which was only 20 minutes away (be careful of train times as we caught the 09;30 because the next one wasn't until 12:30) Again an easy walk to the station from the hotel. Breakfast was the usual Continental with bread, cheese and ham and there was plenty to choose from. Staff are a bit slow to clear tables though. We found a FANTASTIC resturant just around the corner. Honestly the best food I've had in my 12 recent visits to Italy. It was called Osteria Casa Vino on Vicolo Morette. Home cooking done to perfection. A wonderful relaxing trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fournilier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#25 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marco Polo
Hotel Marco Polo
#38 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#8 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mastino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mastino

Property: Hotel Mastino
Address: Corso Porta Nuova 16, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mastino 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historical centre of Verona, just few steps far from the Arena, reachable by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mastino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mastino Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing