We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for a short break in Verona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Armando
Ranked #27 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a short break in Verona”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel is typical for a Best Western in tems of its facilities. Limited public areas, tiny unused bar and small but perfectly adequate breakfast room with self service no frills breakfast. But this is not the sort of hotel where you lounge about in the foyer anyway! It is perfect to allow you to get up and out and enjoy all that this wonderful city has to offer. It scores very highly though in a number of areas. Firstly it has recently been renovated and decorated so everything is very clean, smart and tidy and works. Secondly it is in very quiet location down a side street in a quiet part of town surroundied by fine old houses. Thirdly it is in a great location for exploring the city by foot. Nobody but a madman drives into Verona anyway! Its is probably less than 10 minutes from the Piazza Bra and the Arena and nowhere seems to be more than a pleasant 15-20 minute stroll away in this compact City. This is good as its so easy to pop back to the hotel to put your feet up for an hour or so before heading out to join the early evening promenade which is a must - everyone, but everyone is out on the streets from 6.30 - 7.30 before the shops shut and its time to head for dinner!

We had a superior double which was like a junior suite with sliding screens to separate the two areas which was good if one partner wanted to sit up on the comfy sofa and read for a while before bed. Very reasonably priced at under 100 euros b and b

Staff pleasant and helpful. Our taxi for the airport arrived in the time it took me to retrieve my bags from the store on our departure day! 25 euros or thereabouts

Minor quibbles - TV on in the breakfast room - I hate that, its so intrusive. Spoils the restful atmosphere. Pillows a bit hard. Would have preferred more English TV channels. But in its class as a lower mid priced hotel this is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Go for superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you on behalf of myself and my staff for taking the time to our hotel and for the positive review.
The customer satisfaction is always important for us and we do all of our best for not disappoint the expectations of our clients.
Hoping to see you again as our customers we thank you again for all and we remain yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    292
    47
    7
    2
See reviews for
86
314
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We spent several nights here in Spring 2011, with several friends. I see comments about small rooms; yes by American standards, but not by European ... and my wife & I were lucky to book a suite (Jr. Suite I think?) which was amazingly roomy for Europe: separate seating/desk area, large bedroom, large bath w/ shower AND tub. I'm surprised at the comments about breakfast selection - we thought it was pretty good! - breads, cheeses, jams, meats, eggs, ... and great Italian coffee. Beats most US hotels! Parking is tight; but it's an old city. Only complaint is the windows didn't quite close tight, it is an old bldg, but nnicely finished insisde. We did have A/C. I wish I had the staffs' names - they were all very pleasant and helpful, including the gentlemen on at night. they made some great dinner recommendations - all walk-able, as well as helping us with sightseeing both in-own & day trips by car (Sermione, Maronello, Brescia...). Excellent location for seeing Verona & visiting nearby cities too.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrteflon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thanks for your comment and for the words in our favor.
We have honored our commitment and professionalism that we try to improve daily. The care of the rooms, cleanliness, breakfast and our professional staff are the starting point for us to ensure that all our clients are excited about the services offered.
We would like to one day find yourself again in the list of our customers to demonstrate our commitment.
Follow our site to learn about events of the city or directly on our facebook link.
Thanks again to all from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stayed in Verona for 4 days 3nites. We had already traveled to Rome mad Florence and stayed in B&Bs so when we got here we were a little taken back as it is a Hotel Room and we were used to something alittle more intimate. With that said this hotel was great, the room a little steril looking but clean and comfortable. When we first got there our air conditions was not working, they tried to fix it but it didn't work so they immediately moved us to another room. The breakfast was awesome. The dining area was clean and there was a lot to eat. The waitress there was very helpful. The hotel was simple, great for the money, centrally located and above all very clean.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLalaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
I say thank you for your excellent comment!
We are pleased that you found everything perfect and clean.
We remember you, and we honor that you had some problems we have with these your good points.
Air conditioning in your room had a rupture of a piece that has been replaced by our assistance as soon as was possible.
We proceeded immediately to your changing room which we feel is the minimum for our customer.
Follow our internet channels to be always informed about events and happenings in the city.
We hope to welcome you as our guests again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Although small, Verona city is a hard to drive city, with a intricate traffic restriction system and scarce places to park the car. As the solution, this hotel promised some kind of special authorization to park in the neighborhood. But be aware you´ll need to find yourself where to leave the car, because there is no valet. After a long, unsuccessful search, the hotel staff told us to stop over a prohibited place at our own risk.
Our room was quite good, our only complaint is the poor acoustic insulation. Good and complete breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorBiktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Direttore generale at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
We feel sorry for the problem for the parking lot but unfortunately it is a problem that we have citizens.
In the center is actually very difficult to find accommodation for the car.
For the rest we have noticed your satisfaction so our service has been appreciated by you.
Thanks for the comment and for your time spent filling out this questionnaire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This hotel is a gem. Hotel Armando is a small, quaint hotel located very close to the Arena and the Piazza Bra. We were pleasantly surprised as we entered a tastefully decorated ,impeccably clean room with a very comfortable bed, fluffy pillows and we even had robes to use!! We were so impressed that we took pictures. The breakfast was very nice and the staff helpful.
They offer Free internet in the room and in the lobby area but you do need to ask for a code per device.
The bathroom was spacious and well equipped but the shower very small.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Thanks for your good points. We would like very much to the satisfaction of our customers and we always try to innovate and differentiate ourselves in our service.
The modern decor chosen with taste, makes the atmosphere very warm and there seems to be in your home!
Only note on the shower was a bit small but unfortunately due to the size of the structures of the centre and this has allowed us to have both spaces are all but normal.
Thanks again from all our staff and we hope to welcome you again we invite you to visit our site always in continuous updating and evolution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Armando is a simple hotel, nothing fancy. However, it is great value for your money. Just blocks away from the arena and the centre of town. The room is a bit smaller than I expected but it met my needs... a king (really queen by American standards), and free breakfast and wi-fi. This is a functional hotel not fancy, elegant hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Ladies and Gentlemen thank you for choosing our hotel and leaving your comment.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the whole structure.
The dimensions are somewhat restricted, but unfortunately this one is for all hotels in the historical buildings being all out of date and therefore quite small.
But we wait again because we want to demostrate our commitment to service because your satisfaction is the only thing that counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The rooms of this hotel are very well appointed; beds, bathroom furniture all modern, following simple functional design. Bathrobes and slippers provided. Good and fast Internet connection. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semperviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you gentlemen for your comment.
We are grateful for what we found and to your complete satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel.
Thank you so much time that you spent to complete this questionnaire.
Follow our website and our facebook page which we update daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#8 of 79 in Verona
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#20 of 79 in Verona
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#21 of 79 in Verona
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#35 of 79 in Verona
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Armando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Armando

Property: Best Western Hotel Armando
Address: Via Dietro Pallone 1, 37121, Verona, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Verona
#10 Business Hotel in Verona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Armando 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished, the hotel provides a peaceful environment in which to rest after a busy day, offering its clients a family atmosphere and modern services, including wireless Internet connection throughout the building, Internet point and bar.The hotel also has rooms accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Armando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armando Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing