We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Armando
Ranked #30 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service, good location”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

For the service on reception I would like to give this five stars, but unfortunately our room had a funny smell and the price was high compared to other hotels in the area with better facilities. Good location for exploring the historical sites of Verona. The Arena is a stones throw away. Lots of great restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Superior over standard gives you a sofa and 3" bigger shower, not worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you on behalf of my colleagues and myself and for the 5 stars awarded to the staff. However, we are disappointed that you have found some problem in your room but still happy to have found our location great.
However we hope to have you back again soon as our guest so that we can ensure a great stay from all points of view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    290
    46
    7
    2
See reviews for
84
309
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel. The service from the moment we arrived with our car and our luggage was impeccable. The man at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Although I had booked a superior double room, I believe that we were put in a junior suite. It was a really lovely, very modern room with all the modern conveniences. Some other reviewer said it is not romantic. Maybe not, but it is very comfortable which is even better. Although we appreciated the extra room of the junior suite, I think a superior double would probably be entirely adequate. The junior suite had a slightly odd shape with the living room being very long and narrow. The website says the junior suite has a queen sized bed but ours was definitely king sized which we appreciated.
It was as hot as blazes in Verona while we were there last week but the room was kept at a very comfortable temperature by the excellent airconditioning system. Our room looked out on the quiet street but it was so hot out there that we kept the shutters closed so as to keep out the sunlight. Some other reviewer commented that there wasn't much view. Our room had a bit of a view - the building across the street - but as I said, it was so hot outside that we never even looked out.
This hotel is not in the center of the tourist district. But the Old City is small and from the hotel you can easily walk anywhere. It is only a 10 minute walk from the Arena which was good after seeing the opera there and walking back in the dead of night.
The breakfast was excellent. It included cold cuts of meat and cheese with a variety of bread, a few types of cold cereal, yogurt, lots of fresh, delicious fruit, pastries, eggs to boil to taste, juice and coffee. I found it more than adequate.
The man at the reception (I didn't get his name) was extremely helpful and recommended restaurants in the area. He was a pleasure to deal with.

Room Tip: We were happy in our junior suite but thought a superior double would probably be more than adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyceKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thanks very much for your excellent and detailed review also on behalf of my staff. We are happy to have spent a pleasant and comfortable stay in our small hotel. The service and courtesy are our priority.
Hoping to have you again as our guest please follow us on our website and facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel is kept clean and is very close to the local attractions and piazza bra/Erb which is what we looked for in a city hotel. The room was fairly quiet and served its purpose despite the shower being dodgy going hot then cold. There was one receptionist Alexander who was very helpful and pleasant and engaged with us offering us help and advice making it an enjoyable stay. We didn't arrive to a great start as we struggled with luggage because we arrived late due to flight times and there was only one night porter sadly unable to assist so having our seven month baby asleep my poor husband had to carry it all. other staff although friendly sadly not up to Alexander's standards and personality yet we did enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Avoid busy breakfast times as fairly small room but good selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GigglingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
I thank you on behalf of my staff for taking the time to review our hotel and expressed positive. We are pleased that our hotel has met your expectations, we are sorry for the inconvenience in respect of baggage on arrival but unfortunately the porter service is up to 22.00 after this time there is only the night porter who can not move from its location. However we hope that this does not prejudice a future visit to our beautiful city and our hotel, in the meantime, follow us on our website and on facebook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The hotel is clean and the staff is helpful. The only problem is it is not anywhere close to the Verona Porta Nuova Station, but it is close to the historic centre (the Arena and the Piazza). Nice hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKSARHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thanks for the positive assessment given to our hotel. We are pleased that our services have made ​​your stay with us enjoyable. We hope to have you back with us in another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

For anyone visiting the major attractions of Verona (and there is plenty to see) Hotel Armando is in the perfect location. It is literally 5 minutes walk from the Arena. Of course you have to pay for that convenience. The hotel is not cheap. However, in addition to the superb location, you will also receive excellent service and a superb breakfast. The hotel has been refurbished in the last couple of years so the rooms are all modern and of reasonable size. There is no restaurant and only a very small bar. Parking can be a problem in Verona but we found a space nearby and the hotel gave a special permit so that we didn't have to pay for parking throughout our stay. In this as in everything else the staff at the Armando were very helpful.

Room Tip: There are only 28 rooms and the hotel is often full. If it is not, you could try asking for an upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you on behalf of myself and my staff for the excellent review. We are very happy that our hotel has met your expectations and that your stay has been pleasant. We hope to have you back with us maybe in another visit in our beautiful city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

The property is in a quiet location within close walking distance to all the visitor attractions. The hotel was clean and simply furnished. The breakfast was very average. The pizzeria next door was delicious, well priced and full of locals rather than tourists. If you are looking for a clean hotel in a convenient location this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
First of all thank you personally for the excellent description of my hotel. Me and my staff we're very happy when our guests have a so pleasant stay and this encourages us to get better and better.
We remain at your disposal and in the meantime follow us on facebook and on our website
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milatos, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

From the minute we arrived at this hotel, the service was outstanding, our bags were taken to our room, and we were given a map of the area and sights all walking distance from the hotel. Our room had a big shower and was well equipped. Hotel itself is a 5 min walk from the Piazza bra and the arena.
Thoroughly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thanks on behalf of my staff for the compliments on our courtesy and efficiency; make our guests' stay memorable is our priority.
Also thank you for recommending our hotel public and we hope to get you back as our guest in the near future, in the meantime, follow us on our internet channels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#27 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novo Hotel Rossi
Novo Hotel Rossi
#14 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Armando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Armando

Property: Best Western Hotel Armando
Address: Via Dietro Pallone 1, 37121, Verona, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Verona
#10 Business Hotel in Verona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Armando 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished, the hotel provides a peaceful environment in which to rest after a busy day, offering its clients a family atmosphere and modern services, including wireless Internet connection throughout the building, Internet point and bar.The hotel also has rooms accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Armando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armando Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing