We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, comfortable & close to the Arena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Armando
Ranked #26 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
301 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great service, comfortable & close to the Arena”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Service is superb at this hotel. I had looked at Bed and Breakfast locations, but chose this hotel for location and price. And surprisingly, got the personal friendly service one expects at a B&B. How the front desk staff always knew and greeted us by name is still surprising to me. And we only stayed 2 nights. The buffet hot breakfast was well presented in a pleasant setting. Located inside the old Roman walled city, we were within a short walk of the Roman Arena built 50 years before the coliseum in Rome. The hotel even loaned us an umbrella one day when it was threatening to rain. If we asked for something like an extra pillow, it was there within one minute. Now, that is good service!

We did a self tour inside the arena which was busy getting ready for the annual summer opera season. Unfortunately we were 2 weeks too early. It was fun to walk around, climb the stone seats up to the top, watch the set up crew and explore the tunnel walkways around and under the Arena. It would be great to go back for a performance to hear the wonderful acoustics in this ancient arena.

If you want a hotel close to the historic action in Verona, Hotel Armando is a great choice. I would go there again for sure. And the price was reasonable. Always a plus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Direttore generale at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Wow! We are impressed! We have read your review with joy and satisfaction. We are excited that we were able to meet your expectations and provided you a perfect service.
We thank you for your preference given and we remain at your disposal ,
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    291
    46
    7
    2
See reviews for
85
311
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hidden towards one side of Verona this hotel is just a few minutes away from the Arena. Staff are very friendly and ready to assist. Rooms are spacious and modernly furnished. Breakfast is just right.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4dgatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for your positive review. Review such as yours is a true reflection of what we strive to achieve every day with every single guest. We remain at your service until your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just back for a three night stay at the Hotel Armando in Verona.

We really couldn't have asked for more.

The location is just about perfect - a quiet back street, but 5 minutes walk from Piazza Bra and the Arena. No noise at all at night (well except from our upstairs neighbour who sounded like they were practicing their dancing around their room - and by the heavy footsteps they needed the practice!).

The room was excellent with an extremely comfortable bed. Tea & coffee provided free on request. Safe in the room. Fridge in the room. Hairdryer in the bathroom. Bathroom was fine.
I think we had the same room as the person who complained about having a shower curtain not glass panels. if they'd have looked closer, they'd have noticed it was because it was the disabled room and needed the better access the curtain afforded. The other side of this is the extra room you get.

Wifi was good throughout our stay.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

And the breakfast.... Wow! Best 'continental' breakfast I've ever had. Worth going there just for that! (Compliments to the staff who looked after the breakfast sitting, as they unobtrusively but efficiently picked their way through the smallish room, which was generally full, and kept everything topped up - first class!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
1000 thanks you for your positive review. We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that the service met your demands. Until the next visit, we remain at your complete service. Faithfully Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Walking distance of the Arena, in a tranquil, quiet street.

If you go there by car, there's free parking spaces right besides the hotel, on the street. LEAVE IT PARKED for your whole stay there, you won't need it. It's better to just walk everywhere.

Whenever you need access to the internet, they print out a little code for you. This was a bit uncomfortable, since each code works for a specific device, so I had to ask for a code for my laptop, my sister asked for another code for her iPod, and so on. However, the connection is really good and fast.

Rooms: clean, spacious enough. Look modern being cozy at the same time.

Superhelpful staff- I daresay some of them are trilingual.

Good breakfast- delicious, as a matter of fact. But the breakfast room was a little too crowded. (I don't know if this usually always happens or if it was only while we were there).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natalia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Sir/Madame,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our quality product and service. Indeed the courtesy, cleaning, location, breakfast and parking are our assets.
The internet procedure requires different passwords only for security reasons.
Due to the location, in the city center, we gave more space to the accommodations that means roomy and comfortable rooms for the guests. But as you said, the good and delicious breakfast compensates.
We thank you for all the positive words and we hope to see you again.
At your complete disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had a AAA rate (214Euros for one night). We think that with this rate, we were granted with the worst standard room. According to the promotional pamphlet, the shower in the bathroom has glass panels. Our shower was an open area with a shower curtain. When sitting on the toilet, you had your 2 feet on the shower floor. Not very convenient to use the toilet after you showered. Also the rate are doubled when it is an opera night in Verona. But this applies to all hôtels in Verona.
On the good side, the location is very central. There is no noise during the night. There are free parking spaces available on the street for the hotel. The room area is modern and size was OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heureuxvoyageurs315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all we thank you for being our guest.
On behalf of your feedback, we are really sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused. Every feedback counts for us and helps us to improve our day by day work.
We thank you again for your preference given and we hope to have you guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had no problems. Staff were professional, our room was quiet and comfortable and had all the amenities we needed, breakfast was fine, and the hotel was well located for us to walk to all the things we wanted to see. Would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: If you stay here make sure you have dinner at the trattoria Al Bersagliore next door - good food, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thanks for advising our hotel, we are pleased you enjoyed our services, our professionalism and courtesy. We hope to be able to have as our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of the Centre and the arena. We travelled with 4 children aged 16-20 and had a great stay. The hotel is clean and the service was very good but what really made it for us was the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianBooth67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alex_bold, Responsabile reception at Best Western Hotel Armando, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to describe our structure and we are happy to have found our services up to his expectations.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel De Capuleti
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.4 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#10 of 79 in Verona
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
2,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mastino
Hotel Mastino
#35 of 79 in Verona
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Armando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Armando

Property: Best Western Hotel Armando
Address: Via Dietro Pallone 1, 37121, Verona, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Armando)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Verona
#10 Business Hotel in Verona
#17 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Armando 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely refurbished, the hotel provides a peaceful environment in which to rest after a busy day, offering its clients a family atmosphere and modern services, including wireless Internet connection throughout the building, Internet point and bar.The hotel also has rooms accessible to disabled guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Armando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armando Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing