We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cosy family-run hotel, rather close to Arena”
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small and cosy family-run hotel, rather close to Arena”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I can certainly recommend Hotel Scalzi where I stayed for one night to go to the Arena for attending an opera performance. Suitably located in an old historical palace at just 10 minutes' walking distance from the Arena and city center, this family-run hotel is really cosy and comfortable - at a very good price in the rather expensive Verona. The owner and his family are all very friendly: they gave us useful tips for restaurants and trips and offered some tasting of local wines in the small but pretty inner garden. If you travel by car: the car parking is at a short distance by foot, but better to stop first at hotel entrance for leaving your luggage and then to go parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FBG_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    230
    56
    13
    5
See reviews for
67
306
55
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naestved, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed two nights at Hotel Scalzi in mid august 2012.

The rooms are a bit small but nice and clean - and the staff is very helpfull and friendly.
The hotel is situated in a safe and quiet - but not especially interesting - part of the city about 1 km from The Arena.
Breakfast was included and the hotel offer parking in a nearby garage (10 euro a day).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Majse74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed for one night in Hotel Scalzi, which is simple but nice. The rooms are on the small side but very clean, and the bathroom is nicely decorated with mosaic tiles and blue lights. It is a 10 minute walk to the Arena through a not very interesting area of town.
Breakfast was included and served in a nice courtyard. There was free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I chose to book this hotel because of all the good reviews it has on tripadvisor. I can say all the good comments are confirmed and I would stay here again for sure. The area is quiet and safe yet close to the Arena. The rooms are nicely furnished, have modern bathroom equipment, opening windows, good air conditioners, and high beamed ceilings. Good coffee at breakfast! Yes you could add another star to their rating. Thank you to the staff for your friendly and helpful service.

Room Tip: Room 6 and Suite 2 were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runderbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We only stayed one night passing through Verona. The hotel was really nice, we stayed in a big room - two adults and two kids age 4 & 7. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and with nice interior. Lots of atmosphere and charm. Breakfast very nice in a small courtyard. Walking distance to City center. I can definitely recommend this hotel, however a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Located at about a 10 min walk from the arena with clean rooms and friendly service. Internet is only in the common area above the lobby, but is free. I stayed in a single room so it was small, but more comfortable than some of the other places I've stayed. I'd go back there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed at hotel Scalzi for one night when visiting the Verona opera festival. The location is about 10 mins walk from the station and 10 mins from the Arena. Looks a bit scruffy from the outside but is quite nice inside. My single room was quite small and nothing spectacular with the decor. Bathroom was recently and nicely done, which is always appreciated as it is the first place where dirt shows if there is dirt. Some of the other rooms I peeked into seemed to be a lot nicer on the bedroom side, so book a double/twin if you can. Service was very friendly and professional. Breakfast was plentiful and very much in line with the four star places I stayed elsewhere. The price for a two star hotel in Verona was a bit on the high side but could be due to the opera season. All the other places where more expensive when I was booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#8 of 79 in Verona
670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Property: Hotel Scalzi
Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Verona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt, the hotel dedicates attention to the businessman as well as to tourists who want to spend their time in a family atmosphere. The hotel is located in the city centre, 650 metres from the Arena and close to the train station. The charming and lovely rooms have independent air conditioning, television, direct line outside and long-distance calls. Buffet breakfast is served in a graceful mezzanine floor. It's also possible to book places in our private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing