We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Overall this hotel was fantastic! Friendly and very helpful staff, gorgeous rooms (especially gorgeous bathrooms). My only gripe was that while the wifi was free, it couldn't reach all the rooms (due to the thick walls in the old building). So some rooms won't have wifi access and you'll have to go down to the common. This is advertised by them though, and isn't a huge deal, the common room is quite comfy.

Room Tip: If you really need wifi, ask before booking. Some rooms seemed to have it, and some didn't.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velouaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Scalzi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

I really liked this hotel. The staff go out of the way to help in any way they can they recommended an excellent restaurant for me to try local cuisine. The rooms are also very comfortable and the breakfast is very good. The hotel is also very easy to get to both the train station and to the arena.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novid_manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

delightful small boutique hotel in renovated ?monestary building. fantastic renovation with peaceful eclectic furnishings. great bathrooms and bath for long soaks after the hard stone of europe. rooms at the back are incredibly quiet and roomy and were originally the old stables i believe. best feature however was the incredibly helpful reception staff who organised what 3 other hotels ha found too difficult annd had my wife's bag which she had left behind in room couriered overnight. next day when BA cancelled our flight, reception was again incredibly helpful and knowledgeable. also a full commercial expresso machine in the breakfast room. none of that automated plastic stuff here. our best find in europe this trip. only improvement i could suggest would be to extend the free wifi beyond the reception/public area to the rooms as well.

Room Tip: the ?"superior rooms" at the back of the courtyard are blissfully quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oztraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Nice hotel in historic building. Not very big. Located in a 10 minutes from the rail station, but in quiet region. Very benevolent and courteous personnel (!!!). Rather big rooms having interesting design. Comfortable beds. Plentiful breakfast.

Room Tip: Several rooms have beds close to entrance doors. Look first, then say OK
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vs-versus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We had a nice suite, location is near the center short walk to rail station as well, very clean and tastefully furnishhed, they serve a very good breakfast, you feel nicefamily atmosphere, we will go back again when we are in Verona.

Room Tip: Courtyard suite
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YUGHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Lovely hotel. The hall way is lined with beautiful artwork.
Nice Staff. Staff spoke good English.
Clean. All areas were clean
Small Rooms. Yes small but cute. With all that you could want (TV, place to hang your coat. small table and chair, bed, bathroom,...)
Nice Bathroom. Really nice and modern and clean.
Breakfast. Good. in a room well decorated that gives you a homey feeling.
Good Value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The attention was excellent, if you want to go to Verona I recommend this hotel, the ubication is perfect, you can walk around the most important places of Verona because is near of those places. They offer for breakfast salty and sweet food, you can choose any thing you can eat. An the most important is the attention, really if for any reazon I need to go to Verona: I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belkis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 77 in Verona
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#12 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range: £82 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scalzi is located in the historic Avesani Palace in the center of Verona. The strategic location between Piazza Bra with the Arena, Castelvecchio and the Porta Nuova Railway Station, outside the restricted traffic area makes it a great choice for you stay in the city of love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing