We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a trip to the opera”
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #12 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My husband, myself and adult daughter stayed for 3 nights as we were visiting Verona to go to the opera. The hotel is very well positioned, being 10 minutes walk from the station (where the airport shuttle stops) and 10 minutes from the Arena in the Piazza Bra. This is a family run hotel in a city and so guests should expect a certain individuality and a different level of facilities from those in a large chain. However, our room - a triple - was large, quiet, with comfy beds and excellent air-conditioning. The staff - mostly family members - were friendly and helpful. The selection at breakfast was somewhat limited but there was certainly sufficient and, a bonus as far as we were concerned, was served outside in a shady courtyard. We had booked through a hotel booking website. The owner told us to contact them direct for a better price if we ever returned.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeBets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Fantastic hotel to explore Verona. About 10 mins walk from the centre, very clean and with comfy beds. The staff are very friendly indeed - they were only too happy to move us to a room at the back of the hotel (it does face onto a relatively busy road). Good breakfast with nice pastries and cakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

There's nothing especially great or unique about this hotel. It is very clean, perfectly comfortable, and certainly our room was of good quality and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The courtyard where you have breakfast could do with a revamp or just a lick of paint. Breakfast was a little disappointing, lacking a varied selection.
The benefit is that it is within walking distance of both the main train station and the arena, so in that sense it is ideal and a good place to stay. It's good just not excellent.
Verona is of course a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vespa150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed for 1 night in May and really enjoyed it. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the station and is 10 minutes to the arena. The outside of the building did not look promising but the inside had been done tastefully and is a family run hotel. The reception was welcoming and very helpful. The age of the building means it has no lift but help was offered. There is a mezzanine floor with seating for reading. Our room number 10 upstairs was modern and clean, but in an old setting with high ceiling and beams. The bathroom was modern. Wifi is free. Breakfast was continental and very adequate.
\we would certainly stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alansue67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife & I chose this hotel for a two-night stay because of the proximity to the station and the city's delights. Being 10 - 15 minutes walk from the Arena means quieter by night. We were given a split-level studio room behind the eating area / courtyard. Consequently, there was no street noise at all. The extra space afforded by the lounge area was most welcome to spread out and the bathroom was larger than average. Breakfast was adequate (we're not big breakfast eaters). The staff were always helpful, with dinner recommendations and such. Two nights was probably enough for Verona, maybe three or four with Opera.

Room Tip: The studio rooms in the rear might be bigger, quieter and no stairs (except to the bedroom) but migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Hotel does breakfast only..... but this is Italy all levels of dining just down the road. Hotel faultless and the main attractions of Verona are merely 10minutes walk down the road. Dont forget to check out the bar on the corner 25metres from the hotel. Good prices, entertaining and Italian hospitality. Sit and people watch! We found good food in particular at Il Calice on the road out of the Arena plaza behind the municipal building (100metres). Mixed fish grill and seafood pasta sensational along with service. Was not impressed with Beluga fish restaurant with quality versus price. Finding your own favourite restaurant/watering hole is part of the fun of it though. Isn't it? Buy a ticket from the machine outside the airport (change given) and take the bus for 6 euros to the station. Walk over road to right through bus station and bear to left and then right over main road. Road splits at a square/fork and take left hand side with hotel being 150metres up road on left. 10 mins dead easy!

Room Tip: Rear room away from traffic noise (which was not excessive anyway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A perfectly competent hotel with a pleasant staff and good rooms that, like the building, have some character. It's walkable from the train station -- maybe 15 minutes -- but get good directions or you'll wander forever. The location, in fact, is kind of a fooler: It's outside the old city walls in a quiet, mixed residential-business area that feels centuries away from the good stuff. But once you get your bearings, you realize it's only a few (safe) blocks from the historic center; that minor distance brings the cost down, saving cash better spent on Verona's interesting restaurants. In all, a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 77 in Verona
701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#12 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range: £80 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scalzi is located in the historic Avesani Palace in the center of Verona. The strategic location between Piazza Bra with the Arena, Castelvecchio and the Porta Nuova Railway Station, outside the restricted traffic area makes it a great choice for you stay in the city of love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing