We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend stay for Opera”
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay for Opera”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in a superior double which had a lounge as well as the double room. Small fridge was good to have but took 5 hours to become cold. The place was very clean and all the staff were friendly with a range of languages spoken. The room opened on to the court room, which was lovely as we could sit out there during the day and evening and catch some sun. Breakfast was also served in the court yard. Location was a comfortable walk from the bus and train station, as well as being close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottieLass88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    225
    56
    12
    5
See reviews for
65
299
53
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We booked in here based on Trip Advisor recommendations and we weren't disappointed, staff where all really nice and friendly. Rooms where great and top notch a little small but for us this didn't subtract from our pleasure.

Situated a few minutes walk from the Arena it was perfect for us as we'd booked a concert.

Very easy to walk almost anywhere in Verona from here and there's an ice cream shop a stones throw away that has astonishingly nice ice cream, gets very busy there in the evening so you will spot it easily.

Breakfast in a little courtyard outside, not a huge selection but what they had was very nice with a gat coffee machine available on request on top of filtered coffee.

Would definitely stay there again.

The arena was shocking however, we bought the most expensive tickets available. Don't bother spending the extra they are cramped and uncomfortable. Everyone was taking pictures and recording on phones throughout the whole show and exuberant individuals where stamping their feet to what they thought was the beat of the music but unfortunately wasn't!! Very disappointing for a very large sum of money.
The restaurant's outside the arena where pretty reasonable price wise though which compared to Venice was very refreshing as where most of the other places to eat and drink.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian-Stowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Nice hotel an easy walk from the station. We stayed for 5 nights and our room on the ground floor on the courtyard was very clean and sizeable. Our bathroom had been updated and the bed and pillows were comfortable. Our room also had a very large lounge room with a sofa which could have accommodated 1-2 extra persons (I think). We also had a small fridge. Patrizia and Marco were very friendly and helpful with information and we enjoyed our daily exchanges with them. The hotel is about 10 minutes easy walk from the Arena and Piazza Erbe and most sights in Verona's centre. There were many cafes/restaurants within proximity to the hotel which were cheaper than those on Piazza Bra. We were happy with our room rate, given that we were staying during opera season. Wi-fi only available in reception or the breakfast room, but it worked. Breakfast was adequate with juice,cereals, fruit, yoghurt, a selection of meats, cheeses, bread, pastries and tea and coffee. My only negative comment would be that the lighting in our room was not adequate and it was a little dim, but hey, we managed. Overall, a lovely relaxing stay in a good location away from the crowds.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is excellently located just 5 mins walk from the Arena and the train station. The building is old and charming, with a nice courtyard to have breakfast in and even a small lounge where a chessboard is set up.

Only drawback is that since the building is pre-plumbing, all batherooms are "inserts" with only a sliding glass door, and as such your, ahem, privacy in the bathroom is non-existing.

Also, I did not see any elevator anywhere, just stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This small but convenient and clean hotel does not come cheap. I booked a room for my mother-in-law (aged 78) and myself. I had made some special requests - that they take account of her age and give us (if possible) a courtyard view.. The rate was 540 euros for the two of us for bed and breakfast. When we got to our room it was a massive disappointment (the bad) - right at the end of a long corridor, a tiny room and an even smaller bedroom. When I complained, they said that all rooms were different and that they thought it would be quiet. I pointed out that it looked nothing like the pictures on the internet and was told 'all hotels did that' (the ugly - not good enough!), that the tree tops constiuted the view of the courtyard and they couldn't move us because some people requested the same room every stay and they were full. And at breakfast the next morning the supplies seemed to run out - no croissants left! However, having said that when I complained again they did move us, to a much better room, more space and a lovely bathroom. And they didn't run out of breakfast things again. And the staff were absolutely lovely! So finally, good! I would stay here again, but would check first that the room was large enough.

Room Tip: A courtyard room if you can get one...but not a tiny room with a tiny-style bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokribite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is located just 10 min walking from the Arena of Verona, and also 10 min walking from train station.
It´s a familiar hotel, with an excelent breakfast, and a helpful staff, most often by the owners.
The room is small and a little bit tighten, but it´s comepnsated by the confort and the modern bathroom with very good shower.
You can reach all sights of Verona with a short walk, and the best of all is the price, really an economic choice.
Bad thing is that there aren't stairs and you shall lift your lugagges up with your arms,

Room Tip: Avoid rooms turned into the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrigoFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
224 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a little jewel! The concierge and management very friendly. Rooms quiet with the most efficient air conditioning I found in whole of Italy! Really! Close to the Historical palazzo and the river. Two things one might not visit if you stayed near Arena! I walked easily from the hotel all along river to the Arens, Juliette's balcony, piazza del Erbe etc. Very good breakfast included. masses of coffee keeps coming! lovely place, lovely people.

Room Tip: Any room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desparatehousewife07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Property: Hotel Scalzi
Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Verona
#14 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entirely rebuilt, the hotel dedicates attention to the businessman as well as to tourists who want to spend their time in a family atmosphere. The hotel is located in the city centre, 650 metres from the Arena and close to the train station. The charming and lovely rooms have independent air conditioning, television, direct line outside and long-distance calls. Buffet breakfast is served in a graceful mezzanine floor. It's also possible to book places in our private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing