We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Scalzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Scalzi
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

From the street, Hotel Scalzi doesn't look like much. But go thru the big wooden door in the wall, then enter the glass doors to the lobby - and you've found a gem. Each of the reception staff whom we met in our 3 day stay were friendly, helpful and spoke several languages, including English (good for us, since we've not yet learned Italian). The decor of the lobby, halls (lots of nice art on the walls), and rooms was very inviting, as was the mezzanine level sitting area/library with books left by prior guests for current guests to take and read.
We had asked for a room at the back (not on the street) overlooking the courtyard, and that is what we got - nicely decorated, pretty views and quiet too. Breakfast was served in a downstairs dining area, as well as having tables in the courtyard where one could take the food and be served cappuccinos. Bella!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BandKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Scalzi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel was a five minute walk from the centre. It was well appointed and the service was excellent. Our room which was S1 which had a mezzanine bedroom above a spacious living room. It was clean and the hotel and its staff could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayseeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a cute sweet hotel this is. Everything is clean, cosy and the staff incredibly friendly. I was not expecting our experience to be that good. EVERYTIME again.

The windows could have been a bit darker, but this is me being really picky :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Lots of character in this hotel. Staff were all very polite and obliging. Our party of 10 arrived early ( I had advised the owner that we would be arriving between 11:00 and mid-day) and 4 of the five rooms were ready! The 5th, an upgrade was ready in 15 minutes. Can't fault that sort of service. Breakfast was typical continental with what i regarded as the nicest coffee I have tasted. Breakfast could be taken in the courtyard also which would be great in the summer months. Very good location. Close to the train and bus stations and 10 minute walk into the center of Verona.
No complaints from 10 people says it all. I am sure there are bigger more modern brighter hotels in the center but the Scalzi suited our needs perfectly.

Room Tip: As with all city center hotels the quieter rooms are the ones away from the main street.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is located a 10 minutes walk equidistant from the Puerto Nova station and the Piazza Bra, on Via Scalzi which is served by buses, although for most needs this is a city to stroll. Reception staff were cheerful, friendly and efficient, and provided a personal, genial service and conversation. A good-sized, well-furnished room reflected the character of the hotel. Buffet breakfast was plentiful, with a choice of meats, breads, cakes, croissants and the coffee comes recommended.

The hotel matches the city - a touch of class at a decent price. Local restaurants, not aimed at the tourist market, can be found nearby that provide good quality but affordable dishes. For those who dare, stewed horse and donkey are specialities of the region and should not be overlooked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very nice hotel, it looks more like an albergo. We arrived with my husband and were very welcome by a friendly staff all were very kind. Our room was small but comfortable and very clean, had a nice view to the garden, and the bathroom very good. Breakfast was also very good, served downstairs with a garden on the side that make the view very beautiful, you can also have breakfast in the garden. For us the location was good only minutes to The Arena, and few more to city center, and all the beatiful monuments. The streets are so beautiful in Verona that enjoy so much walking, felt so happy!! All is beautiful here, is a lovely city and our stay excellent!!! Will come back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wonderful place to spend your holidays in Verona. Comfortable and nicely designed room, good breakfast and perfect location. I was surprised to find such excellent service in a 2 star hotel! Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#7 of 77 in Verona
693 reviews
0.6 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.7 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scalzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scalzi

Address: Via Carmelitani Scalzi 5, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Verona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Verona
Price Range: £82 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Scalzi 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scalzi is located in the historic Avesani Palace in the center of Verona. The strategic location between Piazza Bra with the Arena, Castelvecchio and the Porta Nuova Railway Station, outside the restricted traffic area makes it a great choice for you stay in the city of love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Scalzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scalzi Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing