We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Castello
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Hodmezovasarhely, Hungary
2 reviews
“Friendly family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Highly recommended, friendly family hotel in the hearth of Verona, five-minute walk from the Arena. Newly renovated, perfectly clean rooms, kind and caring family who also give useful advice for the guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamas381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    20
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
36
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The proximity to the amphitheatre was the attraction as we were there for only one night to attend the opera. Very basic, not so cheap. They supposedly upgraded us to a 'suite' with kitchen, but we certainly didn't need it. I can agree with Corriedog, though we had a quiet room.
Air-conditioning was hopelessly noisy.

Room Tip: Back rooms not on street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEM1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Verona hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Shaghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

A central city location in an authentically historical building in the heart of one of the oldest cities in Europe. This is not Hilton/Holiday Inn/Sheraton/Hyatt country and if that's what you're looking for then go away!
This is genuine family-run (and very well run) high quality simple accomodation with extremely kind, helpful and generous staff. Room and public areas clean throughout. Having been to Verona (for the opera) on 3 previous occasions, will certainly stay here again as long as the current owners remain.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

The railway station in Verona is quite a walk away from the old town, so we broke with tradition and took a taxi into the old town. Our stay was the albergo al Castello, exactly what it says; the old castle (now museum) and the ARCO DEI GAVI Roman gate are less than 100m from the hotel. The hotel fronts on to Corso Cavour, but entry to the hotel is from a side street; Vicolo Brusco.

We were met at the door by a middle aged gentleman who promptly picked up both our travel bags and took them upstairs, all the while apologising (in Italian) for the out of order lift.

We met mama and her daughter who run this little establishment and were shown to our room; what a room! Quality antique furniture, huge bed and a bathroom complete with bidet! WIFI of course and flowers in a widow box outside. Great air conditioning (it was still very warm in September), in a word, WOW!.

We asked for "must do" places to visit and eat and were given more information than we could absorb! Lots of great little restaurants in the area and a short walk to all the old City attractions.

Great security; one cannot get inside unless reception recognises you as a guest and lets you in.

Lovely breakfasts rounded off a terrific few days in Verona.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel, facing Corso Cavour. I would imagine it was one of their bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenknAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This 'hotel' was the worst place I have stayed in years. The patriarch pretended he didn't speak English when it was inconvenient for him, like when I requested two extra pillows, the front room was RIGHT on the cobbled stoned main drag of Verona, where the cars and trucks did not stop al night! I did not sleep at all. The photo on the hotel site of trip advisor indicates a nice hotel. Do not be fooled by this image! We stayed in the right hand window/French door and it was horrible. Tacky room, and very overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CorriedogAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Stayed there for two nights.
The place is nice but set your expectations right - if you expect Holiday Inn kind of thing you will be surely disappointed. It's a family-run hotel, seems like it has under 10 rooms/ It feels more like staying in someone's large apartment rather than in a hotel.
Owners (all the people there are a family) are nice, though patriarch doesn't speak any English at all, anyway wasn't a problem.
Rooms are small and basic but were enough for us.
Location is right next to Arena but a bit far from the Medieval Center.
If you go there make sure you know how to get there - it's a small door in a narrow street and it soen't look like a hotel entrance at all.
I wouldn't like an idea of stayin there for a week but for those two nights it was really good for the price (considering overall high pricing in Verona)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NataliaKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

I could not fault the service in this B&B but I thought it was extremely expensive compared to other 3 & 4 star hotels we stayed in throughout Italy. The location was fantastic for the Arena and the 3 generations of host/hostess couldn't have been more welcoming. However the breakfast was of poor quality (cheap yoghurt, diluted "sunny d" style artificially flavoured juice and cheap breakfast cereals) The reception area is basically the family living area so if you like this aspect of B&B accommodation it's a nice experience. The garage is convenient but there's plenty parking on the street. Amazing restaurant close by - Il Cenacolo on Via Teatro Filarmonico - highly recommend it - really well priced for excellent quality food, amazing service, linen tablecloths, charming cobbled street side dining - wonderful Italian experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjunkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavour
Cavour
#68 of 79 in Verona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torcolo
Hotel Torcolo
#32 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#48 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Castelvecchio  Aparthotel
Castelvecchio Aparthotel
#74 of 79 in Verona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#54 of 79 in Verona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Verona House
Aparthotel Verona House
#51 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Castello

Property: Al Castello
Address: Corso Cavour 32 | Vicolo Brusco, 4, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Al Castello 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Castello Verona
Al Castello Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing