We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Verona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
Ranked #19 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Verona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We loved our stay at Hotel Antica Porta Leona! The service was amazing, and our room was very modern, clean and comfortable. The hotel is a small boutique hotel, that has been recently renovated, and had tons of charm. The hotel is very close to the archeological digs in Verona, and just minutes from our favourite restuarant, Osteria Del Ugo!!! Which worked perfect! Its also only a 10 minute walk from the Arena, and the main square. The service was so helpful, and charming, and the breakfast was really good too! All in all, we had a fabulous trip in verona, due to this hotel and Osteria del Ugo!!! A must stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winecheeseLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    85
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
177
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is a small, newly renovated hotel with a personal touch. The room we stayed in was quite small but nice, clean and comfortable. We appreciated the well functioning air condition as it was 35 C outside. The hotel is situated in a small square, very close to a lively street full of shops and restaurants yet you did not hear a thing from the street life. Breakfast was perfectly satisfactory with a big plus for the freshly brewed espressos. In the basement there is a small spa with a pool, sauna and gym. Last but not least I want to mention the staff: very friendly, helpful and efficient and good at english. Next time we go to Verona we will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsamarie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Simply... thank you very much for what you have written, it is really important for us!
We hope to see you very soon,
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Beautiful hotel. Close to the piazza and arena. Great front desk assistance. Room was absolutely beautiful. Clean.....the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCDen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
I quote you: "The best", the best is what you have written about us, thank you a lot!!!
Kind regards, the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very clean and close to everything in the centre not massive rooms but nice and well equipped. Quite expensive but the opera was on at the arena and I think everywhere had put prices up to be fair.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barberoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
As you mentioned Opera is on the Arena and it is our high season but we have Offers all over the year... come back and enjoy our fall, our winter, our spring and again our...Hotel!
Regards, the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Room smallish but very clean and comfortable with exceptional bathroom. Good breakfast. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Strongly recommended.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
We are very gratefull for your feedback!
We look forward to meet you soon back here!
Best regards, the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Pros. Good service. Warm, welcoming staff. Clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Central. Nice spa. Decent gym for a small hotel.

Cons. Room was very small.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertsquarebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Next time you will come back to Verona and to our Hotel, we ask you to contact us back per email and we will do our best to satisfy you!
Always at your disposal, the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed three nights and paid extra for opera themed room which is much larger and has whirlpool bath rather than shower, which the less expensive rooms have. Well worth it and everything of the best quality.
We were there in peak (opera) season and prices reflect this - but, hey - you only live once and Verona is fabulous.
All the staff were a delight and seemed genuinely pleased to welcome you and they helped make this a super break.
The location is perfect and within easy walking distance of all the main attractions and good restaurants.
Would happily return

Room Tip: Ask politely! Helped get us a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidK134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#9 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Relais The Gentleman of Verona
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#25 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA

Property: Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
Address: Corticella Leoni 3, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Verona
#9 Luxury Hotel in Verona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#16 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Porta Leona is situated in the heart of Verona, only a 5-minute walk from Verona Arena and it offers his guest a spa center with swimming pool and gym.All rooms have free spa access, and are equipped with Sky satellite TV, air conditioning, and free Wi-Fi access. A generous breakfast buffet is available each morning.Hotel Antica Porta Leona is set in a historic property that dates back to the 15th-century. It is surrounded by the most interesting cultural attractions of Verona; the famous balcony of Juliet's house is 300 ft down the road.As guest you could ask for private parking with valet service, in the nearby of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Porta Leona Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing