We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Verona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in Verona”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just returned from a two night stay at this place. Booked based on all the positive reviews here on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. They made everything about our stay easy and wonderful. Corresponding with Giulia at the front desk was a delight and dealing with her in person was even better. The whole staff was very courteous and welcoming not to mention knowledgeable about all the restaurants, events, shops etc. that Verona has to offer. The location was fantastic---close enough to all the sights but on a very quiet side street so no traffic noise at all. Antica Porta Leona is a small hotel that has recently been renovated so everything works very well---especially the air conditioning---we really appreciated this as it was very hot during out stay. The buffet breakfast was very nice with lots of choices as well as omlettes made to order if you asked. We had the Tosca suite and it was decorated beautifully with a lovely bathroom and nice amentities. In short, this is a great place to stay in Verona---our suite was not cheap but we felt it was worth every penny for such luxury and comfort in the heart of an incredible city in the high season. We cannot wait to return to Verona next year and will most certainly stay again at Antica Porta Leona for a most personal and pleasurable hotel experience. We thank everyone there for a wonderful time and highly recommend this for a great stay in Verona.

Room Tip: If you can, spend the extra $$$ and get one of the opera-themed suites. You won't be disappointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skygoddess46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    88
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
189
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Booked this hotel through Expedia and very pleased with my choice. Everything was prefect-
The hotel looks very impressive from the outside (especially if you arrive at night)
The room was gorgeous and very comfortable- a/c, free Wifi, lovely bathroom etc.
Free use of the spa- the Jacuzzi, sauna, and cold mist shower all amazing as where the treatments- recommend the full body massage!
There was a huge selection of food at breakfast- all very fresh and tasty.
Staff where very friendly and helpful- and they gave us a free upgrade :-)
The location is also great- 5 mins to the Arena and Piazza delle Erbe.
Verona is gorgeous and this is the perfect hotel to explore it from- can't fault it at all.

Room Tip: I requested a room upgrade when I booked on Expedia and we got it- so well worth asking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We loved our stay at Hotel Antica Porta Leona! The service was amazing, and our room was very modern, clean and comfortable. The hotel is a small boutique hotel, that has been recently renovated, and had tons of charm. The hotel is very close to the archeological digs in Verona, and just minutes from our favourite restuarant, Osteria Del Ugo!!! Which worked perfect! Its also only a 10 minute walk from the Arena, and the main square. The service was so helpful, and charming, and the breakfast was really good too! All in all, we had a fabulous trip in verona, due to this hotel and Osteria del Ugo!!! A must stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winecheeseLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is a small, newly renovated hotel with a personal touch. The room we stayed in was quite small but nice, clean and comfortable. We appreciated the well functioning air condition as it was 35 C outside. The hotel is situated in a small square, very close to a lively street full of shops and restaurants yet you did not hear a thing from the street life. Breakfast was perfectly satisfactory with a big plus for the freshly brewed espressos. In the basement there is a small spa with a pool, sauna and gym. Last but not least I want to mention the staff: very friendly, helpful and efficient and good at english. Next time we go to Verona we will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsamarie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Simply... thank you very much for what you have written, it is really important for us!
We hope to see you very soon,
The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Beautiful hotel. Close to the piazza and arena. Great front desk assistance. Room was absolutely beautiful. Clean.....the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCDen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
I quote you: "The best", the best is what you have written about us, thank you a lot!!!
Kind regards, the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very clean and close to everything in the centre not massive rooms but nice and well equipped. Quite expensive but the opera was on at the arena and I think everywhere had put prices up to be fair.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barberoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
As you mentioned Opera is on the Arena and it is our high season but we have Offers all over the year... come back and enjoy our fall, our winter, our spring and again our...Hotel!
Regards, the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Room smallish but very clean and comfortable with exceptional bathroom. Good breakfast. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Strongly recommended.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticaportaleona, Responsabile reception at Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
We are very gratefull for your feedback!
We look forward to meet you soon back here!
Best regards, the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#28 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA

Property: Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
Address: Corticella Leoni 3, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Verona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Verona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#16 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Porta Leona is situated in the heart of Verona, only a 5-minute walk from Verona Arena and it offers his guest a spa center with swimming pool and gym.All rooms have free spa access, and are equipped with Sky satellite TV, air conditioning, and free Wi-Fi access. A generous breakfast buffet is available each morning.Hotel Antica Porta Leona is set in a historic property that dates back to the 15th-century. It is surrounded by the most interesting cultural attractions of Verona; the famous balcony of Juliet's house is 300 ft down the road.As guest you could ask for private parking with valet service, in the nearby of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Porta Leona Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing