We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
Ranked #17 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

This hotel is located in the old city. It is just a couple of minutes away from Piazza Erbe. If you are taking a car, just follow the sign to the hotel. Remember to get the local parking folder from the hotel. It enables you to park in any blue parking area in the old city free of charge. There are only 7 blue parking spaces in front of the hotel. It is not difficult to find parkings if you have urban instincts.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very patient with questions and tried to assist if they could.
The breakfast was very nice, to my taste, except the coffee and juices. It had cereals, prosciuttos, breads, fruit, yogurts and cakes. There was no warm food (e.g. egg). The coffee is from the machine. I would skip the drinks and get a real coffee in a cafe.
The hotel bar is very small but there are two pubs nearby.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to be in the center of a city and get around easily.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elDente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    86
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
182
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

Located at the end of the walking street leading to Romeo and Juliet Balcony,a very calm and clean hotel with excelent breakfast but in the website it's said that it is near the main square(the entrance square),but it is not and you should take a bus if you have luggage and the entrance of hotel has 4 stairs,beware if you have heavy luggage.

  • Liked — the location and the building
  • Disliked — the stairs in the entrance
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MandanaCont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

This hotel is in a great location. Right down the street from Juliet's balcony. That is about all I can say good about the hotel. The room was fairly tiny and the bed very uncomfortable. The lighting in the room was terrible and the TV very small. I would not stay at this hotel again. We didn't even bother trying the breakfast and the one computer didn't work. But I am a traveler that likes a little comfort. If you are looking for a hotel purely for location then you might be okay with this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The actual room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anggrad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salerno, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

We have spent there four nights.
The location is excellent, there was no traffic noise, in fact there was no noise at all, despite the fact that our room was on the first floor: I think it is perfect to rest after a tiring day.
Moreover it is near a bus station, which is only a few minutes from the railway station.
It is possible to reach by foot in a minute Piazza delle Erbe, Giuletta's House is closer, and the Arena is only a five minute stroll away.
The room was big, clean and lovely. There were two big independent fans fixed to the ceiling and a colour sat TV fixed to the wall and directed to the bed.
We can't complain at all for the bathroom, there was everything we needed.
The breakfast was excellent, there was a big choice and a good quality.
We will definitely return there if we visit Verona again.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — windows give on another building
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mediterraneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

nice, cosy hotel, close do piazza dell'erbe, away from the main street. very warm ambience, frindly helpful staff, decent breakfast. we'll go back.

  • Liked — cosy atmosphere
  • Disliked — the machine coffee for breakfast - but that's ok - drinkable
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank martah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2006

Centrally located near the main Roman sites, shops and restaurants and less than 10 mins walk from the Arena. Decent sized rooms but slightly faded. Very average breakfast in a window-less basement room - you're better off going to one of the many nearby cafes for an al-fresco espresso.

All in all not a bad hotel but I'd be surprised if there aren't better options for the price.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2005

I have recently returned from Verona, I was there for two nights and stayed at the Antica Porta Leona. This hotel is in a great location, the rooms are clean and a decent size. I wasn't very impressed with the breakfast as it is served in a rather pokey room and the bedroom we were staying in didn't have a mini-bar. But I wouldn't let these things stop you from staying there. On the positive it is in a excellent location and at 140 euros a night for the room the price was fine. There aren't many hotels in the centre of Verona at a decent price and over the opera season I had difficulty trying to book a hotel for only two nights. I would stay at this hotel again if I went back to Verona.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nicoll_lj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#26 of 79 in Verona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA

Property: Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
Address: Corticella Leoni 3, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Verona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Verona
#12 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#16 Business Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antica Porta Leona is situated in the heart of Verona, only a 5-minute walk from Verona Arena and it offers his guest a spa center with swimming pool and gym.All rooms have free spa access, and are equipped with Sky satellite TV, air conditioning, and free Wi-Fi access. A generous breakfast buffet is available each morning.Hotel Antica Porta Leona is set in a historic property that dates back to the 15th-century. It is surrounded by the most interesting cultural attractions of Verona; the famous balcony of Juliet's house is 300 ft down the road.As guest you could ask for private parking with valet service, in the nearby of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Porta Leona Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing