We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,631)
Filter reviews
2,631 results
Traveller rating
1,493
885
161
42
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,493
885
161
42
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar coloured lights piazza bra executive room perfect location roman arena side street restaurants and shops fantastic hotel the main square small room quiet street city break booked this hotel short break double bed breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
1,033 - 1,038 of 2,631 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2010

My partner and I visited Verona on a 4 day break and with the recent recommendation on TA, we decided to give this place a go...

We arrived at the hotel very late (12 midnight) due to travel delays and were both exhausted. The only thing we wanted to do was get our heads down and start enjoying our break. When we got to our room, I was horrified to see the room we had been allocated, simply put, it was horrendous. Out dated, smelt like a wet dog had stayed their before us, fluorescent lighting, peeling wall paper, creaking bed, I could go on... When we called down, we were told that this was the only room available and that they would try to find something more appropriate the following morning. As we were both soo tired by this point, we just got our heads down. The following morning, we raised the issue again and were promptly moved (but could not move in until the room had been cleaned). So on return from our site seeing, we waited to see what we were in for and I must say, my entire opinion of the place changed. The room we were allocated was on the 2nd floor and it had been recently renovated. Although small (but I think that's standard in Italy) the room was amazing, modern, up-to-date and clean. We were happy. Needless to say the rest of our vacation went really well.

Long story short, when booking, make sure you get a room on either the 1st or 2nd floor (renovated ones). The 3rd and 4th floor are yet to be renovated and are bad, really bad.

Amenities: None

The buffet breakfast is excellent and the service by the hotel staff is impeccable.

Great location, right next to the arena and all the major sights, restaurants and shops.

TIP: If you want to see all or a number the sights, then purchase the Verona one day pass (EUR 10), available at the Arena entrance kiosk. Otherwise, you'll pay EUR 6 per sight.

Parking is EUR20 per day and WiFi internet is chargeable. We rented a car for two days (EUR 60 from Europcar) and checked out the outlets and wineries. If you get a chance, I would highly recommend you goto Sirmione, on the lake for the sights and the Valpolicella region for wines... Amazing!!!

In the end 4 days in Verona is too much, 2-3 days max is sufficient. But all said and done, I was glad we had a good room to relax in.

REMEMBER FLOORS 1 and 2 ONLY... :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxOne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel on our way South. The location is ideal for a short stopover since you have all the sights within easy walking distance. We were able to park our car at 20 € per night in the hotel's parking lot (originally we had been told by email it was full, but upon arrival there was luckily a space free). This saved us a lot of hassle. We had problems finding the hotel as Verona is a maze of narrow streets, a lot of them one-way, and there was building activity on the Piazza Bra which confused our navi.
The staff were reserved but efficient. The room was tiny, with just enough room to walk around the bed. It overlooked the parking lot so was a bit noisy as people left early in the morning. The hotel has been completely refurbished and the rooms are very high-tech - in fact so high-techn that we had problems figuring out how to work the lights, TV etc. The TV remote control did not work properly, but that did not really bother us as we spent our short time in Verona sightseeing. The bathroom was also very small and with a lot of gadgets (space-age taps, changing illumination). A large person would have trouble moving around in it. The towels were luxurious. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. We had booked a budget room with a queen-size bed, but were given a king-size at no extra charge. The rooms are badly sound-insulated and there was a lot of noise from other guests in the corridor. The buffet breakfast was huge by Italian standards, including bacon and eggs! The breakfast room was functional and large.
This is a good place to stay for a couple of nights or when just passing through Verona. The price was reasonable in view of the central location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishladyGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Very well appointed, albeit a bit small rooms. The location could not be better in a small quiet alley just off from the main square. The hotel offers private parking. The breakfast selection is rather good, given that breakfast is not really important in Italy. I thought that the hotel offered great value for money. Great and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews on Expedia and Tripadvisor. The only thing I was worried about was ongoing construction for the remodeling that had been mentioned by other travellers. We didn't see any construction ongoing but we were there Easter Sunday and the following day. We had two adjacent rooms on the second floor (family of four) and both rooms were obviously recently remodeled, everything was immaculate and new. This hotel was very comfortable and the location cannot be beat, just steps from the Arena. The breakfast was very good and had good selection, including scrambled eggs and bacon, which I didn't expect. Large flat screen televisions were in each room although I could only find one English speaking station. The staff was helpful and all spoke at least some English,

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iggy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Ignore the older negative reviews, this hotel is under new management and in the middle of excellent renovations (that are currently underway on the second floor).

The room was small but perfect for two people, excellent furnishings, heating, TV, bathroom, shower. Service was great, all the staff were very helpful for two poor buggers who don't speak much Italian past 'ciao'.

The best feature has to be it's location, absolutely the best place to stay in Verona to get easy walking access to all of the old town. You can practically throw a rock at most of the major sites, the same for the best restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blu3mupp3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews