We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in the Center of Verona”
Review of Hotel Gabbia d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Great location within walking distance of everything in Verona. The hotel is beautiful inside. Our room was spacious and clean and very quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a lot of good hotel breakfasts in Italy, but this was the best. Decandent selection of fruit, custards, pasteries, egg dishes, cheeses and even whole chocolate bars with a variety of nut butters to smear on top. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeniceNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

The Gabbia d'Oro is both tastefully and interestingly decorated with quaint pieces of porcelain or art at every turn. The rooms are comfortable and also tastefully decorated. In addition, it has several lounge rooms where one can relax. The hotel provides a calm and relaxing environment, it has friendly and helpful staff, and a sensational breakfast. A gem of a hotel and very well located in the heart of Verona.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This place is adorable, more tchotchkes per square inch, beauty, service, et al in abundance. But...E285/night for a tiny room with a teeny TV and teensy chairs? We decided to check out and check into Hotel Bologna near the Arena, and could not have been happier. Don't get me wrong: gabbia d'Oro is in a prime location, and the staff is service personified. If you want discretion and lots of pampering, go for it. We had way more fun elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a lovely experience staying at this hotel. It is very well situated in the old city. You can walk to almost everything. Our room was large and comfortable with a sofa and desk and a large comfortable bed. The bathroom had a shower and a large bathtub. Nicest amenities I've seen in a long time.
Personally I loved the nooks and crannies for sitting, reading, having tea or a cocktail. The staff was polite and very helpful. We slept late one of the mornings we were there, and had coffee and croissants at a wonderful small cafe off Piazza Erbe. The breakfast buffet at the hotel was exceptional..I can't think of anything they didn't have for satisfy their guests.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: On weekends and holidays there is a bollard that blocks the entrance to the one-way street where the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel won't be everyone's cup of tea, but personally, I loved it. It was an old monastery so there are lots of nooks and crannies, but is perhaps a little dark as a result. There are 3 or 4 public rooms that are perfect for sitting and reading/chatting/relaxing. My room was OK - very dark. It had a window that actually opened onto a little balcony looking onto a inner courtyard but it was still dark. Perhaps because it rained most of the time I was in Verona. The staff were all lovely and helpful, and the breakfast was probably the most amazing spread I have ever seen. I wouldn't hesitate to go back and stay there. Yes it was expensive, but it felt like being cossetted in a quirky duvet for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayqueen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We come to Verona after having a bad experience with our hotel in Venice, so we are a bit skeptical. This hotel is absolute perfect. The photos available in this site does not do it justice-the hotel is clean, neat, and super comfortable. Our room was a perfect size, and the bathroom and shower quite large. Take a bath and pamper yourself :)
Ah..Romeo and Juliet are so cute, and I loved waking up to their singing every morning.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is exceptional with a large varieties of food: eggs, pastries, juices, even champagne.
There are some staff working the breakfast room-they will take your coffee order and will ask if you want anything else that is not readily available. I found that there was plenty of food, an never order anything else. If you do, be ready to pay :)
I personally prefer to be left alone, so I found the breakfast room to be a bit too formal. But, hey, I would take that anytime over some grumpy staff :)
The location could NOT be better, not that Verona is that big.
I will stay here again when I have a chance to return in the future for the Opera Festival.

Room Tip: Everything is perfect...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jovino r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed a few nights here and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. However the decor was overpowering and reminiscent of a stage set. Everywhere we looked were silver plated trays, china ornaments, plants, at least twenty bowls full of jelly sweets, colourful rugs, mismatched furniture, illustrated books with open pages and the piece de resistance - two parrots, Romeo and Juliet who presumably spend their lives looking out from their cage at the ever changing faces of guests who may pop into the conservatory to see them. Some may call it romantic, I call it kitsch.

The bedroom, however, was excellent - a junior suite with a sitting area, a bedroom with a comfortable large bed and a separate good sized bathroom.

Breakfast was haphazard in presentation and service. There was only one front of house member of staff to attend to the guests and consequently the serving dishes of food were not replenished and the appearance unappealing. One day there was no fresh bread available - the only option was lightly toasted probably pre-frozen sliced white bread. Not what one would expect of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calcalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#4 of 77 in Verona
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#20 of 77 in Verona
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Relais The Gentleman of Verona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Antica Porta Leona & SPA
0.0 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#11 of 77 in Verona
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabbia d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbia d'Oro

Address: Corso Porta Borsari 4A, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#11 Business Hotel in Verona
#13 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range: £173 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Gabbia d'Oro 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gabbia d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gabbia d Oro
Gabbia d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing