We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful hotel, perfectly situated in the important part of Verona”
Review of Hotel Gabbia d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful hotel, perfectly situated in the important part of Verona”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hard not to rave about this exquisite hotel. Terrific value, right next to the most important square, charming reception staff who recommended a perfect restaurant ( La Taverna di Via Stella), excellent breakfast.

Faults - almost none, perhaps the hotel was over warm but opening bedroom windows resolved the issue.

Worth leaving Venice for and that says everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gerryepUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    56
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
141
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Verona is a quaint town great for shopping and site seeing. Go have a cocktail at the towering restaurant on top of the hill by Torre dei Lamberti. The Duomo and Piazza delle Erbe are must sees on my list when i'm there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Spent two nights in September. Every aspect was wonderful, particularly the staff and location. Bit pricy but worth it. Really had fun staying there. Terrific breakfast. Location right in center of the action.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We make a trip to Verona (beautiful city) just to stay in the Hotel Gabbia d'Oro.The service is outstanding, Everyone is so helpful and always has a smile. We have stayed in several different rooms and each one is different but we loved them all. The hotel has a quaint unique quality. Public rooms are also very beautifully decorated and each one is a joy to spend time in.
Breakfast has lots to choose from, some unusual items and delicious cakes. Also, a beautiful area to spend time in. Rooms all had comfortable beds, very quiet and very clean. Location is convenient to all -- opera, restaurants, sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigFanSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I'm being a bit mean giving this three stars, because it aims way higher than that, but there were a few things that put me off this place, and I'll put them first before the rest of the review so you can judge whether I'm being unfair or not...

Yes, it's luxurious and quirkily pretty, but I really hated the two caged birds in one of the reception rooms. Two beautiful red-multicoloured parrot type birds in a cage, I'm sorry, I really hate seeing birds in cages, especially when they seem to be there to enhance the decor alone. The room was empty for the two days we were there, the birds sit in their cage peeping forlornly, it really makes me feel uncomfortable. But that's just me, and you may not be worried by this.

Secondly, no Bombay Gin. Only Gordon's. That's quite unusually limited for this kind of joint that's aiming to be high class. We were disappointed as we'd looked forward to having our aperitif in the pretty garden.

Thirdly, our fireplace in our room. It wasn't even attached to the wall, it was just stood against the wall, which we didn't realise. So we had to move it out when something dropped behind it, and then move it back which was rather annoying.

Fourthly, the breakfast. It's beautifully displayed under sparkling glass domes and on glittering silver trays, but there's no room between dishes so when you want to take something from under a dome, there's nowhere to put the dome or your plate... and the unbelievable profusion of food left me uncomfortable. Does a hotel of 27 or so rooms need to display 5 sweet tarts, a quichey sort of pie in a chafing dish, another chafing dish of hot peppers and boiled potatoes, another chafing dish of tired looking toasts with fried egg and bacon on top, individual banana and also chocolate mousses, large bars of white and milk hazelnut chocolate, innumberable croissants, ham, parma ham, cheese, yoghurts, little glasses of fruit smoothies, bread rolls, and two loaves of bread sliced so early in the morning that they are slightly stale by 9.30? And that's what I can remember off the top of my head, I'm sure there was more. I just sit there thinking of the waste. Why does a hotel have to prove its 5 star status by such a conspicuous display of impossible consumption?

So otherwise... what are the good things? Well, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, happy to book our restaurants, etc. It's extremely pretty, original and unusual, and the location is brilliant. There are a lot of charming little reception rooms - but we never saw anyone sitting in them. And our room was comfortable and charming and although we were on the street, it wasn't a bit noisy. It is expensive, but then you are paying for the locaion.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MIssDillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manhattan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

And exceeded expectations by a mile. The service was wonderful, decor was quirky (but had terrific elements), and the food was great. Just a sample: when we walked into the breakfast room, the bellman came in to ask us at what time we wanted our car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was our third visit to the opera in Verona and we had previously marked out the Gabbia d'Oro as the place for a special return. This year, the 50th anniversary of meeting a valued friend, we opted for our special choice. We were not at all disappointed! From the moment of our arrival when our satnav was unable to negotiate the street restrictions, and the hotel sent out someone to guide us in, the service was impeccable. Location and ambiance great, and the breakfasts probably the best we had experienced in Italy (better than the Cipriani!).
Was there any downside? Well, the room was somewhat cramped and, facing onto the inner courtyard, rather dark. But for continental Europe we expect smaller rooms and at least we were well insulated from the noisy street in front. Also, we found the pillows hard - but that is perhaps unreasonably picky.
All in all, expensive, yes, but well worth it for a special trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carefreevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#18 of 79 in Verona
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#14 of 79 in Verona
203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
1,118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#21 of 79 in Verona
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabbia d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbia d'Oro

Property: Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Address: Corso Porta Borsari 4A, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#12 Business Hotel in Verona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Gabbia d'Oro 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gabbia d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gabbia d Oro
Gabbia d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing