We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$592
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$534
View deal
Destinia.com
US$495
View deal
Hotels.comUS$534
eDreams
TravelocityUS$534
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
209
63
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
209
63
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews d oro beautiful parrots superior suite five star hotel marble bathroom breakfast room piazza romeo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Gorgeous hotel in 16 century building just off piazza erbe right in centre of old town. Beautiful room with all mod cons but in an atmosphere of antiquity. There are a series of comfy little lounges, one with friendly parrots in, and an ancient private courtyard. If you order a cocktail they bring you the equivalent of high tea with it. Staff are lovely. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nigelpaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the moment we stepped into the hotel foyer we realised this was going to be an enjoyable stay - the staff were so friendly and helpful and were genuinely pleased to be of service.

There was a slight mix-up with the name on our booking, so it looked at first as though we might not have a reservation (!) but it was all handled with such charm and grace and quickly resolved that we weren't at all stressed out after what had been a pretty arduous journey.

Our room was quirkily decorated, as per the rest of the hotel, and felt like a snug, cosy and fun place to stay. All the usual accoutrements of a five star hotel, like toiletries, robes and slippers etc - generously replaced throughout our stay.

The desk staff could not have been more helpful in providing information on where to eat - their recommendations proved to be spot-on.

Took afternoon tea a couple of times (a good cup of tea can be hard to find out in the Piazza delle Erbe!) and it was accompanied with really delicious little savoury bites and biscuits - all freshly prepared. It was a nice break during sightseeing and I don't recall it costing too much, either. It was all rather civilised :)

Breakfasts were a lovely way to start the day - lots to choose from and there was decent coffee: something that's surprisingly not a given in Italian hotels. The service was never starchy or intrusive, but there was always someone at hand when you needed them - the epitome of professionalism.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Gabbia d'Oro to those looking for a centrally located hotel with great charm and hospitality. We intend to return to Verona some day and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kitmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel has the best possible location. The decor is a bit crazy and over the top, but very charming. It has true character and its nice with a fi e star hotel that is not part of a large hotelgroup. First we were chocked by all decor elements but soon started to appreciate this little fairytale world. We stayed i a very nice suite with 2 little balconies and had a grwat time

Room tip: Get a suite!
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Hard not to rave about this exquisite hotel. Terrific value, right next to the most important square, charming reception staff who recommended a perfect restaurant ( La Taverna di Via Stella), excellent breakfast.

Faults - almost none, perhaps the hotel was over warm but opening bedroom windows resolved the issue.

Worth leaving Venice for and that says everything.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gerryepUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Verona is a quaint town great for shopping and site seeing. Go have a cocktail at the towering restaurant on top of the hill by Torre dei Lamberti. The Duomo and Piazza delle Erbe are must sees on my list when i'm there.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews